Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday December 24, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Commercial ECU Reflashes

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-30-2006, 11:53 PM   #1
Chapel
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3496
Join Date: Jan 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Salem, MA
Vehicle:
1995 Roadmaster
Beige

Default EasyECU vs AP2

I currently have an ECUtek tuned WRX.
Unfortunately, it's a rather aggressive map, and I'd REALLY like to be able to choose between my aggressive map and a more lean burn map for daily commuting.
I'd originally thought about just going to AccessPort 2.0, but was told that ECUtek sells a program called EasyECU that I can load with my current map and create more maps that I could upload as necessary.
I'd like to hear from some EasyECU owners and what you think of the program.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Chapel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 02:05 PM   #2
Zumble
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 34860
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY
Vehicle:
2005 Forester CGM

Default

You cant create maps yourself with easy ecu. You can change the maps with a laptop but you cant create or edit maps yourself.
Zumble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 02:11 PM   #3
Chapel
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3496
Join Date: Jan 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Salem, MA
Vehicle:
1995 Roadmaster
Beige

Default

so, I can only EDIT them?
Chapel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 02:20 PM   #4
Zumble
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 34860
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY
Vehicle:
2005 Forester CGM

Default

You can not edit them either. The map has to originate from a licensed ECUTEK tuner. He/she can send you the map via email and then you can save it to your laptop and flash it to your car via the laptop.

If you want to switch maps easily, the AccessECU (Accessport) system is the way to go. Either that or UTEC. EasyECU only allows you to flash premade maps yourself. You can't edit the maps, you can create your own.

The above are the facts..

Below is opinion:
Currently the ECUTEK offerings suck.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Chapel View Post
so, I can only EDIT them?
Zumble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 02:35 PM   #5
Chapel
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3496
Join Date: Jan 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Salem, MA
Vehicle:
1995 Roadmaster
Beige

Default

So, I'd essentially need to pay $200 per map + $350 for the EasyECU...
Is there sites that offer downloads for maps?
Chapel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 05:00 PM   #6
LateApex31
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 135686
Join Date: Dec 2006
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: six- one-seven
Default

Or you could forget all that ECUTek and Cobb noise and go for Enginuity. Many tuners use OpenSource products now and there is sweat over licensing fees and not being able to edit your own maps. Seems logical enough.
LateApex31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 05:21 PM   #7
Chapel
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3496
Join Date: Jan 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Salem, MA
Vehicle:
1995 Roadmaster
Beige

Default

yeah, that's a possibility now.
I kinda like the Cobb thing.
Chapel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 05:27 PM   #8
Zumble
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 34860
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY
Vehicle:
2005 Forester CGM

Default

Open source stuff won't get you the AP module. You still have to lug the laptop along with you if you want to switch maps. Would be nice if you could run the opens source stuff off a Windows Mobile 5 PDA or something.
Zumble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 05:31 PM   #9
Gruppe-S
Former Vendor
 
Member#: 23216
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Lake Forest, CA | 949-457-1234
Vehicle:
2006 949-457-1234
949-457-1234

Default

The openecu software and hardware will essentially let you do 90% of what Ecutek will let you do (although if you're reflashed with a later Ecutek version you will have to unlock your ECU). We offer the openecu cables which are compatible with diagnostics or reflashing. Downside is you will have to carry a laptop with you to allow map switching (and it takes about 5-10 min to reflash).

The Cobb AP V2 on the other hand is a handheld device and it allows map switching as well as real-time tuning (as well as a myriad of other features). They are a bit pricey, but if you're planning on spending a lot of time developing custom maps the real time stuff alone is definitely worth it IMO.

Cheers,

Gary
Gruppe-S
Gruppe-S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 06:00 PM   #10
Chapel
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3496
Join Date: Jan 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Salem, MA
Vehicle:
1995 Roadmaster
Beige

Default

yeah, don't the OpenECU things use Serial instead of USB?
If someone gets OpenECU to work with a Windows PocketPC, I'll seriously get that.
Chapel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 06:10 PM   #11
LastResort
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 99289
Join Date: Oct 2005
Default

http://forums.openecu.org/viewtopic....r=asc&start=15

Has some discussion on the subject. Really, it doesn't look insurmountable, it's just going to take someone with the skills deciding they want it.
LastResort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 06:14 PM   #12
Chapel
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3496
Join Date: Jan 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Salem, MA
Vehicle:
1995 Roadmaster
Beige

Default

well, we have HP Pocket PCs from Acura here at work that do diagnostics
Chapel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 06:31 PM   #13
LastResort
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 99289
Join Date: Oct 2005
Default

It's opensource, and you may need to port from one library to another, but it's all there.
LastResort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 07:33 PM   #14
LateApex31
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 135686
Join Date: Dec 2006
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: six- one-seven
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chapel View Post
yeah, don't the OpenECU things use Serial instead of USB?
If someone gets OpenECU to work with a Windows PocketPC, I'll seriously get that.
The Tactrix cable is USB.

As far as ECUFlash being 'open source' it isn't. Many of the ROM editors are open source (Enginuity, etc) but Colby never released the source for ECU Flash so porting that to anything will be difficult. If your PocketPC runs windoze, give it a try!

Enginuity has live tuning actively being tested and in the works, so it shouldn't be too long before you can get a free software suite that does everything the big boys to. Well, almost everything
LateApex31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 08:16 PM   #15
LastResort
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 99289
Join Date: Oct 2005
Default

hmmm...that's a bummer about ecu flash.
LastResort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 08:29 PM   #16
97whitesi
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 70925
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Norristown, PA
Vehicle:
2002 S2000
2001 Integra GS-R

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LateApex31 View Post
The Tactrix cable is USB.

As far as ECUFlash being 'open source' it isn't. Many of the ROM editors are open source (Enginuity, etc) but Colby never released the source for ECU Flash so porting that to anything will be difficult. If your PocketPC runs windoze, give it a try!

Enginuity has live tuning actively being tested and in the works, so it shouldn't be too long before you can get a free software suite that does everything the big boys to. Well, almost everything
yes he did, for the 16bit ecus only.
97whitesi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 09:25 PM   #17
LastResort
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 99289
Join Date: Oct 2005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 97whitesi View Post
yes he did, for the 16bit ecus only.
Can you clarify what would be the 16bit ECU's?
LastResort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2007, 11:04 AM   #18
Gethin
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2998
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: BC
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
WRB

Default

non DBW ECU's are 16bit. Problem is that most PDA's dont have a USB host controller.
Gethin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2007, 11:10 AM   #19
LastResort
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 99289
Join Date: Oct 2005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gethin View Post
non DBW ECU's are 16bit. Problem is that most PDA's dont have a USB host controller.
Yes, but it would be possible to just use the UART that is present in most (all?) WinCE devices as long as they support the particular baud rates the ECU requires. Hell, I'd buy an iPaq and a Tactrix cable over an AP, anyday. more flexibility.
LastResort is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS : HRSS/ Cobb AP V2, Bellmouth 3 inch Downpipe lando MAIC Private Classifieds 19 06-13-2010 07:40 AM
Stock STI 6mt Trany mount VS STI Group-n Trany Mount? KiggerSTI Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline 10 06-04-2010 03:06 PM
Ap1 Vs Ap2 protune burken AccessPort 8 05-29-2009 08:31 PM
06 WRX Tr - Stage I - Ap2 base map vs Dyno Flash Pro Tune Dyno Flash Proven Power Bragging 6 08-12-2007 10:18 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.