Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday February 10, 2016
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Built Motor Discussion

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-11-2012, 06:01 PM   #76
Homemade WRX
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 33782
Join Date: Mar 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: 3MI Racing LLC
Vehicle:
96 bastard child
search FIRST, then PM!!!

Default

yeah, you got in touch with me...I can't believe I didn't post back on this thread after dimensioning things. Now I need to see where my notes are on it

I vaguely recall the trigger locations being slightly different. I had dropped JDM cams in a USDM head for my comparison.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Homemade WRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 01-12-2012, 02:33 PM   #77
wrx_driver_2002
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 25952
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Under your hood :-)
Vehicle:
1995 Impreza Coupe
w/ "Extras" :-)

Default

I am currently in the process of installing a Version 8 STI engine into a 2004 STI. I knew what I would be faced with from the beginning. What I ended up doing to make everything work was drawing up a couple of bushings, machining them out, turning the JDM cams down and pressing the bushings (With relocated sensor grooves) onto the cams. Pictures will follow in the next few days.
wrx_driver_2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 10:19 PM   #78
ozzy370
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 162469
Join Date: Oct 2007
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Suba Performance, Denver, CO
Vehicle:
2003 WRX wagon
special sauce

Default

Any measurements on the cam sensors?

Looking to run JDM Cams, JDM Sensors in a D25 head with a ViPEC.
ozzy370 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 10:28 PM   #79
B.R.E.D
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 289606
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Atlanta
Vehicle:
06 WRX
white

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ozzy370 View Post
Any measurements on the cam sensors?

Looking to run JDM Cams, JDM Sensors in a D25 head with a ViPEC.
The JDM cam sensor is a slightly larger diameter and will need to be spaced out about 40 thousandths.

That being said you might be able to get the usdm sensor to work with the jdm cam. Its a hall effect sensor you just have to tell it to look for a falling edge instead of a rising edge.

Matt
B.R.E.D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 10:59 PM   #80
ozzy370
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 162469
Join Date: Oct 2007
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Suba Performance, Denver, CO
Vehicle:
2003 WRX wagon
special sauce

Default

Interesting. Unfortunately that would not help me one bit. The problem is that I have a WRX that needs a AVCS harness. IA performance has one.... But it is JDM. IA said they could make one for just the AVCS solenoids but are unable to make one for the rear cam sensors on USDM cars. I may have to start tearing apart some harnesses and see what I can do.
ozzy370 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 11:16 PM   #81
B.R.E.D
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 289606
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Atlanta
Vehicle:
06 WRX
white

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ozzy370 View Post
Interesting. Unfortunately that would not help me one bit. The problem is that I have a WRX that needs a AVCS harness. IA performance has one.... But it is JDM. IA said they could make one for just the AVCS solenoids but are unable to make one for the rear cam sensors on USDM cars. I may have to start tearing apart some harnesses and see what I can do.
Honestly if you are wiring in a vipec it should be very easy, its +5volt input a ground and a ouput.

Any capable shop should be able to do that for you. Installing the JDM cam sensors and cams is way more complicated than wiring in the usdm cam sensors.

Matt
B.R.E.D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 12:34 AM   #82
ozzy370
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 162469
Join Date: Oct 2007
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Suba Performance, Denver, CO
Vehicle:
2003 WRX wagon
special sauce

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by B.R.E.D View Post
Honestly if you are wiring in a vipec it should be very easy, its +5volt input a ground and a ouput.

Any capable shop should be able to do that for you. Installing the JDM cam sensors and cams is way more complicated than wiring in the usdm cam sensors.

Matt
Yeah I figured it wouldnt be to hard. The kicker is getting connectors and I dont know if you need anything else special? IA said something about shielded wiring? If that is a concern?
ozzy370 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 12:47 AM   #83
B.R.E.D
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 289606
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Atlanta
Vehicle:
06 WRX
white

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ozzy370 View Post
Yeah I figured it wouldnt be to hard. The kicker is getting connectors and I dont know if you need anything else special? IA said something about shielded wiring? If that is a concern?
I probably have an extra set of connectors here. Ill check tomorrow.

You will need shielded wire but it isn't hard to find. Any of the companies that sell mil-spec wire will have it. Search for "Tezfel" its the type of wire I use, most aviation supply stores have it.
B.R.E.D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 01:07 AM   #84
ozzy370
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 162469
Join Date: Oct 2007
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Suba Performance, Denver, CO
Vehicle:
2003 WRX wagon
special sauce

Default

All three should be shielded correct? Let me know on the connectors. I appreciate your help.
ozzy370 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 01:44 AM   #85
B.R.E.D
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 289606
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Atlanta
Vehicle:
06 WRX
white

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ozzy370 View Post
All three should be shielded correct? Let me know on the connectors. I appreciate your help.
Ill have to look, I think that only the signal wire has to be shielded.
B.R.E.D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 09:03 AM   #86
subarufan555
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 255117
Join Date: Aug 2010
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Chicago ,Illinois
Vehicle:
2000 RS
RED

Default

I have a USDM 2.5 Long block that is build

Then I have a JDM V8 Long block with engine wiring harness

Then I have a 97 Impreza (race car)with WRX harness and AVCS enabled extra harness ( i was running JDM V8 engine in it till now)

I have Motec Plug and Play ECU for 5 plug WRX /JDM harness. I also have stock JDM V8 ECU.

Im looking to do this....

Take the build 2.5 USDM long block Use JDM V8 Intake with engine wiring harness on it.

Take Driver side intake cam gear from JDM V8 motor put it on USDM 2.5

Take JDM cam gear sensor put it on USDM driver side head

Now to the part im having problems with....

the cams sensors are different JDM and USDM Can I keep USDM cams and sensors and just wire up the USDM cams sensor plugs to JDM wiring on the intake...???

Or there is another way to do THIS WHOLE project?
the whole commotion is due to (im tired of lack of torque on my JDM V8 motor in my race car.So i want to keep my wiring from WRX with AVCS wire patch harness in the car and be able to switch engines as desired.

Thank You
subarufan555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 11:42 AM   #87
kellygnsd
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 32669
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Woodland Hills
Vehicle:
2007 2.34LR, EFR7670
LINK G4 hybrid STi

Default

As soon as you said Motec anything is possible. You may have to do some custom harness splicing but anything is possible. Its up to you and your tuner to figure out how to make it work.
kellygnsd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 10:05 AM   #88
subarufan555
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 255117
Join Date: Aug 2010
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Chicago ,Illinois
Vehicle:
2000 RS
RED

Default

So Give that I will be using Motec board on my WRX harness with AVCS I can use USDM Cams and sensors??? There is a way to change a reading pattern in the ECU???? Since JDM and USDM sensors are different.


Did anybody on here have done anything like this?

Thx


Quote:
Originally Posted by kellygnsd View Post
As soon as you said Motec anything is possible. You may have to do some custom harness splicing but anything is possible. Its up to you and your tuner to figure out how to make it work.
subarufan555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 11:34 PM   #89
subarufan555
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 255117
Join Date: Aug 2010
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Chicago ,Illinois
Vehicle:
2000 RS
RED

Default

TTTP....

Quote:
Originally Posted by subarufan555 View Post
So Give that I will be using Motec board on my WRX harness with AVCS I can use USDM Cams and sensors??? There is a way to change a reading pattern in the ECU???? Since JDM and USDM sensors are different.


Did anybody on here have done anything like this?

Thx
subarufan555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 11:56 PM   #90
CTechLite
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 219649
Join Date: Aug 2009
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Colorado
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Homemade WRX View Post
yeah, you got in touch with me...I can't believe I didn't post back on this thread after dimensioning things. Now I need to see where my notes are on it

I vaguely recall the trigger locations being slightly different. I had dropped JDM cams in a USDM head for my comparison.
Any updates on this?

I'm curious because I am looking to run a V7 ecu in my 02 wrx with 2008 single AVCS wrx cylinder heads. I figured that getting Kelford V2-199-x cams would do the trick but then noticed that I would need to swap sensors. Sensors are available but I do not know if they will line up with the teeth on the camshaft.

Any help would be appreciated Micah.

Thanks in advance.
CTechLite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 12:17 AM   #91
aboothman
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 127745
Join Date: Oct 2006
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: CA
Vehicle:
06 WRX 30r 6 speed
99L EJ255 6 Speed

Default

IF not I know someone on the board who has the opposite issue...EJ207 Kelford cams when they need Ej25x cams

http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show....php?t=2480203
aboothman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 12:43 AM   #92
CTechLite
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 219649
Join Date: Aug 2009
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Colorado
Default

Its the same problem. His ej207 cams have the same sensor triggers as the V2 kelfords. They are made for jdm avcs engines. I am trying to see if the jdm avcs cams in a usdm ej25x cylinder head will work with the jdm magnetic (2 pin) sensors without serious modifications. I have an usdm ej205 cam so I think I will put it in and see where the lobes line up to the sensor hole. I just wont know if the sensor itself will fit.
CTechLite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 12:10 PM   #93
CTechLite
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 219649
Join Date: Aug 2009
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Colorado
Default

Ok, I went out to the work area and dropped a USDM EJ205 cam into a USDM EJ255 single AVCS (intake) head. I used a 2 pin cam/crank sensor from the EJ205 to simulate the JDM sensor. This does not account for the length of the JDM AVCS crank angle sensor but it will serve a purpose. This is also assuming that the blank for the USDM EJ205 camshaft is the same as the JDM AVCS cams. I don't have any to use or I would have. Just keep in mind this assumption.

The center line of the sensor and the center of the 4 teeth on the camshaft are approximately 1/4" apart. The sensor is moved towards the back of the head. This appears to not be ideal, I was hoping they would line up to make it easier to implement a solution to my problem.

Hopefully someone with a JDM camshaft can chime in if the assumption that the camshaft teeth on the JDM camshaft are in the same position as USDM EJ205 camshaft.

I think my next step is to see about locking the AVCS gears to 15 degrees of crank angle advanced from their base position.
CTechLite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 04:15 PM   #94
aboothman
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 127745
Join Date: Oct 2006
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: CA
Vehicle:
06 WRX 30r 6 speed
99L EJ255 6 Speed

Default

Odd dilemma. I am sure you don't want to hear my solution: swap ECUs/sensors Fuji K seems to be very familiar with various heads and cams...I would shoot him a PM.
aboothman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 04:24 PM   #95
CTechLite
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 219649
Join Date: Aug 2009
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Colorado
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aboothman View Post
Odd dilemma. I am sure you don't want to hear my solution: swap ECUs/sensors Fuji K seems to be very familiar with various heads and cams...I would shoot him a PM.

Not really odd. Just an option I wanted to explore. The JDM ecu would be the simplest route, I could go for the 04 STi USDM ecu but that requires more work. I'm just going to lock the AVCS gear so the cam opens the same as an EJ205WRX USDM cam, 10 degrees (of crank angle) BTDC.
CTechLite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 01:54 AM   #96
Maxwell Power
Former Vendor
 
Member#: 190729
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Marysville, WA
Default

Cam gears operate identical.
The cam sensors and triggers are totally different. In short, no you can't just drop them in.
Mike from PIA made a sleeve that you install over the jdm triggers. It takes machining to do it. That is the only way you can put jdm cams in a usdm head and have it work.
Maxwell Power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 07:12 AM   #97
CTechLite
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 219649
Join Date: Aug 2009
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Colorado
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maxwell Power View Post
Cam gears operate identical.
The cam sensors and triggers are totally different. In short, no you can't just drop them in.
Mike from PIA made a sleeve that you install over the jdm triggers. It takes machining to do it. That is the only way you can put jdm cams in a usdm head and have it work.

Yes, I realize the sensors are different types. What I was basically asking was if the JDM AVCS cam position sensor triggers (located on the cam, OEM or aftermarket) would line up with the JDM AVCS cam position sensor when both are mounted in a USDM cylinder head.

I don't agree that the sleeve is the only route. It would be possible to re-drill the sensor hole in the head. Insert an interference fit plug into the old hole (or weld it up), drill a new one, insert JDM AVCS cam position sensor, transfer punch the hole for mounting, and drill and tap that.
CTechLite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 01:27 PM   #98
Maxwell Power
Former Vendor
 
Member#: 190729
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Marysville, WA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CTechLite View Post
Yes, I realize the sensors are different types. What I was basically asking was if the JDM AVCS cam position sensor triggers (located on the cam, OEM or aftermarket) would line up with the JDM AVCS cam position sensor when both are mounted in a USDM cylinder head.

I don't agree that the sleeve is the only route. It would be possible to re-drill the sensor hole in the head. Insert an interference fit plug into the old hole (or weld it up), drill a new one, insert JDM AVCS cam position sensor, transfer punch the hole for mounting, and drill and tap that.

no. that's doesn't work.

The sensor supplies a totally different waveform to the ecu. Disagree all you want, you're wrong.

Also, the jdm sensor is mag reluctor and the usdm is hall effect.
Maxwell Power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 02:24 PM   #99
CTechLite
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 219649
Join Date: Aug 2009
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Colorado
Default

It does if you use a jdm ecu
CTechLite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 02:44 PM   #100
Maxwell Power
Former Vendor
 
Member#: 190729
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Marysville, WA
Default

No it doesn't.

The JDM ecu uses a cam sensor on the back of the cam gear for engine position. Then it uses the rear cam position sensors for the AVCS.



edit: I thought you had an STi so it wouldn't work with the DBW. But I see you have a WRX. So the cam sensor is already there.

But you said that you didn't want to use a JDM ecu, so that was misleading.
Maxwell Power is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
JDM avcs cams vs. USDM avcs cams are they interchangable? cubuff Built Motor Discussion 13 12-17-2008 12:41 PM
Analysis of Cosworth AVCS cams vs USDM STI cams bboy Built Motor Discussion 89 06-18-2008 04:48 PM
Non-AVCS Cams in STI Heads SloRice Built Motor Discussion 3 10-07-2006 04:18 PM
STI v5-6 cams in USDM ej20t markk26 Subaru Conversions 3 10-14-2004 10:07 PM
Trade JDM Spec C cams for USDM Sti Cams Julio Private 'For Sale' Classifieds 0 11-16-2003 10:09 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2016 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2016, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.