Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday May 4, 2015
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Commercial ECU Reflashes

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-05-2007, 06:57 PM   #1
benw
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103320
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Oklahoma City
Vehicle:
2005 wingless
aspen white

Default Can a Subaru dealer tell if an ECU has been EcuTek flashed?

Searched and had little luck. When a dealer uses their subaru select scan tool, does it do a checksum on the particular ECU map for a given car? This is regarding EcuTek flashed ECUs failing warranty work. I would think since the base tables are modded, the dealer tool would not be the wiser, since it's basically a glorified code puller and reflasher for specific systems (airbag, immobilizer, et al.)

Experience in this matter would be helpful!

Thanks,
Ben
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
benw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2007, 12:54 PM   #2
LateApex31
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 135686
Join Date: Dec 2006
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: six-zero-three
Default

Well since the dealership no longer has the ability to reflash the ECU, then yeah it might be a problem. If it is an older ECUTek flash then it might be OK. Most likely, the first thing the dealership does when a car comes in for service is to flash the latest calibration to the ECU. If they can't they know that you/someone has tampered with the ECU. Not sure if the SSM tool does a checksum on the cal file, maybe someone else has some knowledge of this?
LateApex31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2007, 04:11 PM   #3
benw
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103320
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Oklahoma City
Vehicle:
2005 wingless
aspen white

Default

bump for more information. My tuner was fairly sure that the dealer would not know anything about the flashed ECU. But I'd like some clarification.
benw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2007, 04:27 PM   #4
Tea cups
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103136
Join Date: Dec 2005
Default

Not sure what capability the dealer has as it relates to a checksum, but I've never heard of anyone's warranty work being denied to a modified ecu. This argument is only relevant if we are talking about a stage 1 car with no other mods other than a flash. With any other mod, the dealer will most likely use it as an excuse rather than bothering with the ecu (example downpipe, intake, etc.). Also, with Ecutek's EasyECU you should be able to flash a stock map on your car before going into the dealer and then flashing back to your custom tune afterwards. Older Ecutek tunes and AP 1.0 users can back up their rom with the openecu tools and flash to stock before going in as well. And I'm guessing you can do the same with AP 2.0 by unmarrying (also possible with 1.0).
Tea cups is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2007, 10:38 PM   #5
benw
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103320
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Oklahoma City
Vehicle:
2005 wingless
aspen white

Default

How does one know if I have an older EcuTek that can be backed up with the openecu tools?
benw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 10:17 AM   #6
Tea cups
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103136
Join Date: Dec 2005
Default

You don't know until you try it. If it is less than a year old, then most likely it is has the lock. I guess you could take it to your Ecutek dealer and see if they could tell you.
Tea cups is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 04:16 PM   #7
benw
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103320
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Oklahoma City
Vehicle:
2005 wingless
aspen white

Default

bump for more insights
benw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyway to tell if my car has been tuned? SpeedWRX06 Newbies & FAQs 18 03-24-2010 01:19 PM
can you tell if an ecu has been flashed? mrwilliwizard Newbies & FAQs 13 11-11-2009 12:42 PM
How do I know if my ECU has been re-flashed? jet8300 Engine Management & Tuning 2 08-17-2006 09:28 AM
Can you tell if a car has been fixed? jonney_boy General Community 13 02-16-2006 03:48 PM
how do i know if an ecu has been ecuteck Blackpantherwrx Engine Management & Tuning 24 11-28-2005 04:25 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2015 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.