Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday September 15, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Commercial ECU Reflashes

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-06-2007, 03:10 PM   #1
ENY169
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 125552
Join Date: Sep 2006
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba CANADA
Vehicle:
05 legacy 2.5i wag

Default don't have a laptop, this good enough ?

i have a chance to pick up an older laptop for $100 locally. here are the specs:

" Compaq Presario model 1650 laptop computer in good shape. PII 266 (I think) with 64 Mb ram, CD, Floppy, modem, PCMCIA slots, 10Gb Hard drive and Win98 SE installed. Comes with Compaq user guide, Win98 Manual and carry case.

I had Slackware linux running on this machine with full KDE support and was surfing the net at a decent pace. This is an older machine and is great for linux and seems to run Win98 fine too "

i currently have the AP ver 1 but i wanna get rid of it. is this enough to log and flash the ECU ? i'll probly upgrade the RAM but what else do i need, if any, for the tactrix cable to work ?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
ENY169 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2007, 04:09 PM   #2
qoncept
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 44762
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Palo, IA
Vehicle:
2013 BRZ
WRB

Default

That's definately pushing it, especially with the ram. I don't know how ECUFlash would run on that computer, but Enginuity may not be usable (hopefully after the next release it would run better, though). I'm on my Celeron 1.3ghz laptop right now with 256mb of RAM, and I think it could probably get by with 128 but that would be a bare minimum. I think you'd be pretty hard pressed to find anything better than that for $100, though.
qoncept is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2007, 04:49 AM   #3
bofh
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 59287
Join Date: Apr 2004
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Houston, Tx
Vehicle:
2007 WRB WRX
2004 WRB WRX (RIP)

Default

Well... Win98 USB support is quite bad. You may have issues flashing. And with that amount of ram, you may not have the room to datalog a lot of data without some skips. You will not be able to run XP. If you can get up the money, you can get 1ghz P3s with 512 meg for $250-300 all day.
bofh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2007, 12:37 PM   #4
qoncept
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 44762
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Palo, IA
Vehicle:
2013 BRZ
WRB

Default

You might be better off running in Linux if you got that laptop.
qoncept is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2007, 05:00 PM   #5
criscross79
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12263
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: San Antonio, Tx
Vehicle:
'02 WRX SRP 4EAT
XPT Stg II

Default

I know that it isn't $100, but this is a pretty good deal ... as far as th one your looking at I wouldn't touch it... $100 is overpriced for something that's 5+ years old

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...524233&CatId=0

you could always check ebay too, there are some good deals on there all the time
criscross79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2007, 05:50 PM   #6
qoncept
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 44762
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Palo, IA
Vehicle:
2013 BRZ
WRB

Default

It's usually hard to find a good deal on computers on ebay. If you're looking for the best deal, it's really hard to beat Dell. But if you're looking for something under $300, there's going to be next to nothing, no matter how old or slow it is.
qoncept is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2007, 08:29 PM   #7
97whitesi
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 70925
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Norristown, PA
Vehicle:
2004 Warbler35 1997
Del Sol Si 1995 Civic sEX

Default

I could score laptops like that nearly every week; a great place to look for old tech like that is college newspapers, kids upgrading their old laptops usually sell them for next to nothing.
97whitesi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 12:55 AM   #8
bofh
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 59287
Join Date: Apr 2004
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Houston, Tx
Vehicle:
2007 WRB WRX
2004 WRB WRX (RIP)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by qoncept View Post
It's usually hard to find a good deal on computers on ebay. If you're looking for the best deal, it's really hard to beat Dell. But if you're looking for something under $300, there's going to be next to nothing, no matter how old or slow it is.
That is a complete crock. I have sourced 3 laptops that I sold for $300 in the last month. (And yes, I made a profit) You just have to look. Search for corporate off lease laptops like the Compaq N600 series. 1ghz P3 and 256-512 meg generally goes for $200-250. You get the idea.
bofh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 02:16 AM   #9
druxboyz
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16827
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Southern California: Orange Co
Vehicle:
2003 WRX(Sold), Z4
Aspen White

Default

i wouldnt buy that if i were you.
druxboyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 02:46 AM   #10
qoncept
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 44762
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Palo, IA
Vehicle:
2013 BRZ
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bofh View Post
That is a complete crock. I have sourced 3 laptops that I sold for $300 in the last month. (And yes, I made a profit) You just have to look. Search for corporate off lease laptops like the Compaq N600 series. 1ghz P3 and 256-512 meg generally goes for $200-250. You get the idea.
Hey know, I wouldn't say a complete crock. :P I'm a cheap bastard and generally pretty good at turning up at least fairly good deals. Then again, for the most part, I only look on the internet, but that includes some places that sell off lease and refurbished stuff. But I never found anything that it made sense to buy over the bottom of the line $400 jobber from Dell.
qoncept is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 02:45 PM   #11
Freon
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 88322
Join Date: Jun 2005
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Vehicle:
2009 BMW 135i

Default

I would at least get Windows 2000.
Freon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 07:23 PM   #12
Tgui
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 44771
Join Date: Oct 2003
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by qoncept View Post
Hey know, I wouldn't say a complete crock. :P I'm a cheap bastard and generally pretty good at turning up at least fairly good deals. Then again, for the most part, I only look on the internet, but that includes some places that sell off lease and refurbished stuff. But I never found anything that it made sense to buy over the bottom of the line $400 jobber from Dell.
esp when you factor in the cost of replacing already old lithium batteries.
Tgui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2007, 12:40 PM   #13
criscross79
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12263
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: San Antonio, Tx
Vehicle:
'02 WRX SRP 4EAT
XPT Stg II

Default

here ya go, just got this in my email. It looks like a decent computer for $399
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...CODE=WEM1278AM
criscross79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2007, 02:43 PM   #14
ENY169
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 125552
Join Date: Sep 2006
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba CANADA
Vehicle:
05 legacy 2.5i wag

Default

i didn't end up buying it as i was afraid of the hassle that i will eventually go thru.

answer me this guys:

with the stage 1 map in osecuroms.org, did anyone see any increase in fuel mileage and performance ?

with the AP, the increase of performance i felt with their stage 1 wasn't worth the fuel mileage i was getting. my last tank only lasted me 207 miles using 94 octane E10 and being easy on the throttle. i sold the AP and now using premium fuel. i'm hoping it was because of the ethanol blend i was using..

i will order the tactrix cable once i receive the money from the AP. i still don't have a laptop but i simply just wanna flash the stage 1 map from osecuroms.org. is ecuflash all i need to do just that ?

i won't be logging or trying to tune on my own until i learn about it and get my own laptop but that won't be for awhile since funds are low for now. i do, however, have a brother that has a laptop that he uses for work and i was thinking i could borrow it just to flash the stage 1 map..
ENY169 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2007, 05:56 PM   #15
disque71
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 57330
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Vehicle:
2008 WRX

Default

you should probably buy a laptop that will at least run windows xp. need at least 10gigs, 500mhz, and 256mb ram.
disque71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2007, 10:43 PM   #16
bofh
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 59287
Join Date: Apr 2004
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Houston, Tx
Vehicle:
2007 WRB WRX
2004 WRB WRX (RIP)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tgui View Post
esp when you factor in the cost of replacing already old lithium batteries.
Amusingly enough, the Compaq N600s I bought have a battery reconditioner in the BIOS. It can bring back a lot of "bad" batteries. But your point is still valid. However, I have always gotten machines with good batteries.
bofh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is this good enough for shipping a trans? darksc00by Off-Topic 23 10-23-2007 03:54 PM
I don't have enough posts to show you guys a good deal, what gives? ralan General Community 1 01-19-2006 05:49 PM
Is this good enough MomoWRX Brakes, Steering & Suspension 11 02-05-2004 03:31 PM
selling car: is this good enough to get notarized? enozto Off-Topic 3 11-25-2003 12:30 PM
Glad we don't have pigs like this where I live.. Hope not WTLW! RK Performance Off-Topic 6 10-26-2003 05:59 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.