Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday October 24, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Newbies & FAQs

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-10-2007, 12:25 PM   #1
RexisMe
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 96821
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Indiana
Default protuner/streettuner....

Is there a difference between the two? i've looked all over cobbs website looking to purchase a "pro tune" kit to have my car tuned but i can't find one, all i find is street tuner,then i've looked at several vendor sites and can't find the protuner on their site either. Then when you go to the community there is a option to click protuner but it sends you to street tuner stuff.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
RexisMe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2007, 12:27 PM   #2
SQ3.0dotJP
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 136330
Join Date: Jan 2007
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Nippon, Yeay
Vehicle:
# OCCUPY

Default

enginuity!
SQ3.0dotJP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2007, 12:55 PM   #3
Mayor McCheese
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 117018
Join Date: Jun 2006
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle Lake****ty
Vehicle:
79 Rexor on Dubs
Paws McGillicutty

Default

You are looking to have your car "pro tuned" correct? You need to contact a "Tuner" and have that done. Streettuner is what you are looking for to do it yourself. Protuner is a program "tuners" use to program other cars as in a shop tuner. There is openecu.org where you can get open source programs to do it yourself for free as the post above so clearly stated for you.

Last edited by Mayor McCheese; 01-10-2007 at 01:03 PM.
Mayor McCheese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2007, 01:08 PM   #4
RexisMe
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 96821
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Indiana
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rexor View Post
You are looking to have your car "pro tuned" correct? You need to contact a "Tuner" and have that done. Streettuner is what you are looking for to do it yourself. Protuner is a program "tuners" use to program other cars as in a shop tuner. There is openecu.org where you can get open source programs to do it yourself for free as the post above so clearly stated for you.
So what you are saying is for me to take my accessport with me to the shop and tell them i want a pro tune and then they will make it happen?
RexisMe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2007, 01:10 PM   #5
bluestonepath
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 123641
Join Date: Aug 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Vehicle:
'04 WRX Wagon
Platinum Dirty Metallic

Default

as rexor mentioned, protuner is what professionals use to flash/tune you're car through your AP. Street Tuner lets you do it yourself. IIRC it isn't really a "protune" unless 1. you have an AP, and 2. the person who "protunes" it has been certified by Cobb.
bluestonepath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2007, 01:16 PM   #6
Mayor McCheese
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 117018
Join Date: Jun 2006
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle Lake****ty
Vehicle:
79 Rexor on Dubs
Paws McGillicutty

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RexisMe View Post
So what you are saying is for me to take my accessport with me to the shop and tell them i want a pro tune and then they will make it happen?
Right
Thats how you get yourself a "protune"
Best money ever spent, now just make sure you find the best tuner around your area. You are at least stage 2 right? IMO it would be a waste to do it with out being at stage 2 at least. Maybe fill out your profile
Mayor McCheese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2007, 02:42 PM   #7
RexisMe
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 96821
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Indiana
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rexor View Post
Right
Thats how you get yourself a "protune"
Best money ever spent, now just make sure you find the best tuner around your area. You are at least stage 2 right? IMO it would be a waste to do it with out being at stage 2 at least. Maybe fill out your profile
No, i am not stage 2. But, i do have an accessport and the parts to go stage 2, i was going to have my uppipe installed along w/ the stealthback going to my prodrive axleback, prodrive intercooler pipe, and perrin lightweight pulley. The place has a certified tuner that uses cobb only(i think he's certified, i know they deal w/ cobb only tho), so i figured i might as well just get it pro tuned to get the most for my money while i am there.
RexisMe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2007, 04:25 PM   #8
Mayor McCheese
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 117018
Join Date: Jun 2006
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle Lake****ty
Vehicle:
79 Rexor on Dubs
Paws McGillicutty

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RexisMe View Post
No, i am not stage 2. But, i do have an accessport and the parts to go stage 2, i was going to have my uppipe installed along w/ the stealthback going to my prodrive axleback, prodrive intercooler pipe, and perrin lightweight pulley. The place has a certified tuner that uses cobb only(i think he's certified, i know they deal w/ cobb only tho), so i figured i might as well just get it pro tuned to get the most for my money while i am there.
Sounds like a plan
Mayor McCheese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2007, 05:58 PM   #9
CynicX
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 48199
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Maryland
Vehicle:
06 WRX
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RexisMe View Post
No, i am not stage 2. But, i do have an accessport and the parts to go stage 2, i was going to have my uppipe installed along w/ the stealthback going to my prodrive axleback, prodrive intercooler pipe, and perrin lightweight pulley. The place has a certified tuner that uses cobb only(i think he's certified, i know they deal w/ cobb only tho), so i figured i might as well just get it pro tuned to get the most for my money while i am there.
The protuning software is just what the Tuner person has gotten from Cobb to tune your vehicle via AP in their shop. Street Tuner software is something you can use to tune the car yourself. Just want to clarify those things.

Now you already have a generic stg 2 map on your AP that you are going to flash the car with once you put on all your exhaust parts. In my opinion you may want to hold off on the Protune unless you think you are going to stop modding for a while. Prices of a protune vary from shop to shop but dont be surprised if they hit you with 500+ bucks depending on how long they take on it.

You might want to think about some little mods that might benefit from a protune. Such as a larger TMIC, colder plugs, GM BS, intake (be wary and talk to your tuner before messing with the intake) or the variety of small things that can be done and will only see gains with a tune.

Just something to think about.
CynicX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2007, 06:01 PM   #10
RexisMe
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 96821
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Indiana
Default

So, it would be more beneficial for me to just put the stuff i have on now and flash to a base stage 2 map thats on my accessport. Because i do plan on getting a diff. turbo, larger top mount, injectors, fuel pump, etc. within the next year or two.
RexisMe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2007, 09:00 PM   #11
Mayor McCheese
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 117018
Join Date: Jun 2006
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle Lake****ty
Vehicle:
79 Rexor on Dubs
Paws McGillicutty

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RexisMe View Post
So, it would be more beneficial for me to just put the stuff i have on now and flash to a base stage 2 map thats on my accessport. Because i do plan on getting a diff. turbo, larger top mount, injectors, fuel pump, etc. within the next year or two.
Get the protune after going stage 2. There is so much to be gained beyond the conservative OTS map of Cobbs. Not to mention how much smoother the power is with a protune, no stumbles. Like I said before money well spent.
Mayor McCheese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2007, 09:20 PM   #12
robbieshonda
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 122306
Join Date: Aug 2006
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: On the Dyno NC
Vehicle:
2002 Sti PTE 6262
Interlagos Blue 551/441

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RexisMe View Post
So, it would be more beneficial for me to just put the stuff i have on now and flash to a base stage 2 map thats on my accessport. Because i do plan on getting a diff. turbo, larger top mount, injectors, fuel pump, etc. within the next year or two.

Different cars react differently to the stage 2 map. 1 car may run hardcore from just the stage 2 wiht minimal mods. 1 may run really rough have boost spikes and not drive very well because of the mods you use with stage 2. A protune is the way to go.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Rexor View Post
Get the protune after going stage 2. There is so much to be gained beyond the conservative OTS map of Cobbs. Not to mention how much smoother the power is with a protune, no stumbles. Like I said before money well spent.
You took the words from my mouth haha.

What i noticed in the past few eeks actually doing protunes. is that the stage 2 isnt actually to whimpy as you would say. but you get the car on the dyno with the mods you havethe stage 2 is a basemap and still needs to be tuned to your individual car. You can adjust to make power come on smooth and the tq will hold out forever haha
robbieshonda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2007, 09:21 PM   #13
WRX Shenanigans
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 101378
Join Date: Nov 2005
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: VA
Vehicle:
2011 Sonata
Harbor Gray Metallic

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RexisMe View Post
So, it would be more beneficial for me to just put the stuff i have on now and flash to a base stage 2 map thats on my accessport. Because i do plan on getting a diff. turbo, larger top mount, injectors, fuel pump, etc. within the next year or two.
Rexor is correct in the fact that a protune does wonders for your car, but IMO I would just use the base stg 2 Cobb map until your ready to do the turbo, injectors, etc... I was perfectly happy with the stg2 cobb map for a while. I know I didn't want to spend the extra tune money twice so I just waited until I had everything. Obviously its a personal choice, but I would at least put the stg2 parts on your car and flash the cobb map, drive it for a while and if your truly not satisfied, then you can get a protune (but remember, you'll need another tune once you put your turbo on). Hope this helps ya, gl.
WRX Shenanigans is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.