Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday August 30, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > AccessPort

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-21-2007, 11:21 PM   #1
MarkRx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 42242
Join Date: Aug 2003
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: ATX
Vehicle:
2006 STI
White

Default Car won't stay running with Anti-theft B map

Like it says... as you all know the v1 and v2 accessports have the anti-theft A and B maps... one will kill all injectors and it will not start period, the other will let it idle (if warm) per cobb but once reved over 1500rpms it will kill it. WELL with that said cobb's maps are screwed up, because even when the car is warm like cobb says when you turn the key the rpm's jump up to 1500-1700 upon startup and then it kills the injectors so it just dies again. What good is this cobb and why didn't you correct it on the V2 ?? Anyone have a solution to this? Searched cobbforums.com for a fix and nada.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
MarkRx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2007, 11:40 PM   #2
anthonyrb98
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 48307
Join Date: Nov 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: san diego
Vehicle:
02 bugeye
hbspeed tuned 18g sleeper

Default

who cares? you didn't buy the accessport for it's antitheft features did you?
anthonyrb98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2007, 11:53 PM   #3
hondaeater69
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 60324
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: a pillow.
Default

just use the one that kills the injectors completely...i dont understand the point of having an antitheft map that allows someone to start the car at all. if you're really concerned and want to use that map, CALL THEM.
hondaeater69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2007, 03:07 AM   #4
MarkRx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 42242
Join Date: Aug 2003
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: ATX
Vehicle:
2006 STI
White

Default

Who cares? I do... in cold weather when it's warm enough to idle around 800rpm's i'd like to enable that anti-theft B map and run inside the office to pack my things while letting the car heat up the inside. It was 29 degrees the other night. I can't lock the doors while the key is inthe ignition, the factoy keyless entry is disabled when the car is running so i figured i'd let it idle to keep the car warm and if someone hopped in it and tried to take off it would die... and hopefully they would be gone by time i got outside or they would be matching my cars status.
MarkRx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2007, 06:24 PM   #5
hondaeater69
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 60324
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: a pillow.
Default

that's an interesting way to use it.. never thought of that! i would call cobb, there may be a glitch in the map.

EDIT: according to your post, it will kill the engine if it sees RPM's over 1500, well you can idle higher than if it's cold enough outside... perhaps your idle hit 1500 or greater and that's why it shut it down?
hondaeater69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2007, 07:03 PM   #6
v8eaterWRX
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 108547
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: boondock camping
Vehicle:
2013 RAM 2500 4x4
6.7l Cummins

Default

you cannot start the car on either of the anti-theft maps. put on your reg basemap, start the car, let it idle until it drops the 1500rpm range, then change to the anti-theft. when you intitially start your car your rpms go to around 2000, so common sense says that if the rev can only hit 1500 before the injectors are killed, you cannot start your car with that map loaded. there is no problem with the map, so there is nothing to correct.
v8eaterWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2007, 08:24 PM   #7
dyrmz134
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 127336
Join Date: Sep 2006
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: NC
Vehicle:
1995 s14.5
mostly red

Default

^^^^^

Couldnt have said it better.
dyrmz134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2007, 09:12 PM   #8
MarkRx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 42242
Join Date: Aug 2003
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: ATX
Vehicle:
2006 STI
White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by v8eaterWRX View Post
you cannot start the car on either of the anti-theft maps. put on your reg basemap, start the car, let it idle until it drops the 1500rpm range, then change to the anti-theft. when you intitially start your car your rpms go to around 2000, so common sense says that if the rev can only hit 1500 before the injectors are killed, you cannot start your car with that map loaded. there is no problem with the map, so there is nothing to correct.
I had no idea you could change maps "on the fly" with the engine running. Is that in an old V1 AP manual cause it surely isn't in the V2 one! With that said, if i'm driving down the road i 4th gear with my cruise on, can i change from stage-1 to stock mode on the fly w/o harming anything? i don' tknow if i'm brave enough to try this honestly. COBB YOU READING THIS? lol...
MarkRx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2007, 09:17 PM   #9
hondaeater69
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 60324
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: a pillow.
Default

you CAN change maps with the engine running, only real time maps though. one of features of Cobb's EMS is what's called real time tuning, which means you can change parameters (like AFR's boost targets etc) while the car is running/on the dyno. i'm assuming all the features that affect the antitheft B map are real time changes, otherwise this won't work. unless you like to start your car in test mode which is not recommended.

Cobb does not recommend changing maps while driving however, due to unforseeable chances (bork your ECU and lose control of car and DIAF etc).

but while it's idling i don't see the problem. you will need a RT version of the antitheft map... then after you get into your car, flash the RT map back, or do a reset via AP, turn car off then back on.
hondaeater69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2007, 09:29 PM   #10
MarkRx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 42242
Join Date: Aug 2003
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: ATX
Vehicle:
2006 STI
White

Default

well a reset will wipe your learned tables and everything will default back to the basemap.... does this occur when you go from stage-1 realtime to stock and back to stage-1 also? the v2 accessport is smaller than a pack of smokes and uses a usb plug... i figure load the anti theft B map, let it idle... unplug accessport... go back inside for 10 mins... go back to car, plug AP in, load stage-1 realtime... drive away.
MarkRx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2007, 09:33 PM   #11
hondaeater69
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 60324
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: a pillow.
Default

IIRC it clears some tables/learning, but not all (like a hard reset). keep in mind when you flash a RT map, all the RT tables are populated with those flashed values, so it has the same effect as the reset, probably just a little faster.
hondaeater69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2007, 11:27 PM   #12
MarkRx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 42242
Join Date: Aug 2003
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: ATX
Vehicle:
2006 STI
White

Default

iirc? sorry, don't know all the lingo. cobb told me when you switch between realtime maps, it wipes most of the learned values, but doesn't wipe it clean like a fresh basemap install. It's like pulling teeth trying to get straight info from cobb.
MarkRx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2007, 11:40 PM   #13
hondaeater69
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 60324
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: a pillow.
Default

if i recall correctly. the RT switch and the reset via AP shouldn't have much of a differnce on the learned values in the map.
hondaeater69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2007, 04:31 PM   #14
parker/slc/gc8fan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 46241
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Tinsel Towers. Apt. 29
Vehicle:
- RIP
SDF-1

Default

Using the realitme functions does not affect learned values one bit. The only exception to that is when you load different maps, the car will learn for the new realtime map while it iis on the ECU.

So, IIRC: This means that if you run stage one for a while, and load stage two as realtime only, all of your learned values for stage one will still be used by the ECU. (One reason thats bad juju)

Using the reset ECU functions (In an AP) does clear all of the learning.

Also, realtime maps dont flash the ECU (thats how they can be loaded with the car running), technically they just load onto the ECU.
parker/slc/gc8fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2007, 12:39 AM   #15
MarkRx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 42242
Join Date: Aug 2003
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: ATX
Vehicle:
2006 STI
White

Default

I run stage-1 ... when i load the anti theft map and go back to stage-1 it seems it takes a few mins to learn again. seems boost takes a few to reach peak again.
MarkRx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2007, 08:30 AM   #16
jason6787
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 125757
Join Date: Sep 2006
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Roanoke Rapids, NC
Vehicle:
Had a WRX now want
Another one!

Default

I know people dont like to use turbo timers on subie's But i have one that works just fine. No problems at all. just get a used TT (i got mine for $20) and set it for 10 min. go inside and leave the car to warm up. after 10 min it will cut off. If your back before then just hit power off on the TT and use your key to cut it back on. after 10 min it's usually about warm enough. You can use your factory "DOOR LOOKS" from the inside the car with the car still running. the only thing is that your alarm will not be set. You can actually wire it up so that you can use your keyless entry system if you want to run 2 more wires so that your alarm will set off.

maybe this will work so that you can leave your STAGED MAP on the car it doesn't have to relearn anything.
jason6787 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2007, 01:59 PM   #17
MarkRx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 42242
Join Date: Aug 2003
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: ATX
Vehicle:
2006 STI
White

Default

yeah thought about that too.... i said well why buy a remote start if i can use my accessport to soem extent? If i could just leave the car running and detach the factory alarm fob from the keychain and lock the doors and walk away that would work too, this doesnt work, if you lock our doors and try to unlock them from the remote with the key in the ignition you are screwed. doors won't open and you are locked out. no this didnt happen to me, but i did test it on my 04 and i'm glad.
MarkRx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2007, 02:19 PM   #18
jason6787
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 125757
Join Date: Sep 2006
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Roanoke Rapids, NC
Vehicle:
Had a WRX now want
Another one!

Default

but with the Turbo Timer you get ot take ALL your keys out. you can unlock it with the key if the car's still runing. if that car has cut itself off then you can use the remote. If you run the other 2 wires you can use your remote all the time. this way you dont have to detach anything. i know i would had that everytime it's cold outside to sit there and detach this. My way i'm in the car for about 10 sec.(changing to 10 min) then get out and hit the lock button on the drivers door.


Just make sure you have your key's when you get out.LOL Did that one time. ran and cut off then called Locksmith.
jason6787 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MY97 Impreza 2.2L -- Cleaned MAF, now car won't stay running Nihilator Normally Aspirated Powertrain 27 01-16-2007 06:14 AM
Car won't stay running TylerC21 Service & Maintenance 5 08-21-2006 08:42 PM
Hydra: Car won't stay running after install 03scubaru Other Engine Management 11 07-24-2006 04:38 PM
My car won't stay running.....Utec Pacobeagle Engine Management & Tuning 5 09-18-2005 07:33 AM
HELP.. car won't stay running WRXonmind Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 3 04-12-2004 05:40 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.