Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday May 27, 2015
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Miscellaneous > Off-Topic

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-28-2007, 11:42 AM   #1
gongzero
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 25040
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: Montreal, Canuckistan
Vehicle:
Up with skirts,
down with pants!

OMGHi2U A check-my-PC-build thread, with extra cookies.

Hi all.

I'm looking to build a PC for someone.

Requirements are:
  1. AutoCAD compatible
  2. Stability
  3. WiFi that'll play nice with a WRT54G
  4. Futureproof (i.e., upgrading processor / RAM should be sufficient for the next 5-6 years)

I've put together something that fits their budget (~$1250 shipped) using components that I think should be fairly well future-proof and stable and I'd like your opinions on the selection.

Please note that if you suggest anything more expensive than my current selection, it will require taking another component down in price.

  • ASUS P5N-E SLI Nforce 650I SLI LGA775 Conroe ATX 2PCI-E16 1PCI-E1 2PCI SATA2 Sound GBLAN Motherboard
  • Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 Dual Core Processor LGA775 Conroe 2.13GHZ 1066FSB 2MB Retail
  • Two Mushkin SP PC2-5300 1GB for 2x1GB DDR2-667 CL5-5-5-12 240PIN DIMM Memory
  • EVGA E-GEFORCE 7600 GT PCI-E 256MB VGA DVI-I HDTV Out Video Card
  • Linksys WMP54G Wireless PCI Adapter 54MBPS 802.11G
  • Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 250GB SATA 3GB/S 7200RPM 16MB Cache Hard Drive 5YR MFR Warranty
  • Pioneer DVR-111D Black DVD-RW 16x6x16 DVD+RW 16x8x16 DL 8X IDE OEM DVD Burner
  • Antec Sonata II Black ATX 16IN Mid Tower Quiet Case 3X5.25 2X3.5 4X3.5IN 450W Air Duct 120MM Fan
  • Microsoft Windows XP Professional OEM

Thanks for looking. Here are your cookies!




-A
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
gongzero is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 01-28-2007, 11:45 AM   #2
emorphien
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 83039
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Rochester, NY
Vehicle:
2005 LegacyGT Ltd 5m
ಠ_ಠ

Default

this cookies are poorly made, bad chocolate chip distribution

and I'd personally go or the E6600 for twice the cache. Last I checked overclocking doesn't get you more cache.
emorphien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2007, 11:47 AM   #3
gongzero
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 25040
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: Montreal, Canuckistan
Vehicle:
Up with skirts,
down with pants!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by emorphien View Post
this cookies are poorly made, bad chocolate chip distribution
They depict the transit of Venus, as anyone can plainly see.

The E6600 represents a jump in price of ~$100. What would you downgrade to compensate?


-A
gongzero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2007, 11:51 AM   #4
emorphien
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 83039
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Rochester, NY
Vehicle:
2005 LegacyGT Ltd 5m
ಠ_ಠ

Default

Dunno, you didn't post prices on anything. Maybe you can find cheaper ram (that crap is expensive these days)

I'm just giving you my opinion on how I'd put the system together. It doesn't look to be a bad system though, but I know I'd go with the 6600.
emorphien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2007, 11:53 AM   #5
gongzero
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 25040
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: Montreal, Canuckistan
Vehicle:
Up with skirts,
down with pants!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by emorphien View Post
Dunno, you didn't post prices on anything. Maybe you can find cheaper ram (that crap is expensive these days)

I'm just giving you my opinion on how I'd put the system together. It doesn't look to be a bad system though, but I know I'd go with the 6600.
All prices are in Canadian dollars so I dunno that it would help much. I've converted the totals mentioned to US dollars.

The RAM goes for about $100 per GB stick.


-A
gongzero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2007, 11:55 AM   #6
emorphien
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 83039
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Rochester, NY
Vehicle:
2005 LegacyGT Ltd 5m
ಠ_ಠ

Default

ah, $100/gb isn't that bad these days
emorphien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2007, 12:17 PM   #7
cdclark
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 8095
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: e pluribus unamusem
Vehicle:
2010 OB: Subie #3
2010 Golf TDI 6sp Manual

Default

Despite the hype, AutoCAD isn't always the resource beast its made out to be. It would helpful to know they type/complexity of drawings they'll be working on.

Having said that, future versions of AutoCAD could change the requirements.
cdclark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2007, 12:40 PM   #8
gongzero
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 25040
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: Montreal, Canuckistan
Vehicle:
Up with skirts,
down with pants!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdclark View Post
Despite the hype, AutoCAD isn't always the resource beast its made out to be. It would helpful to know they type/complexity of drawings they'll be working on.

Having said that, future versions of AutoCAD could change the requirements.
Fair enough. It's for interior design work, where AutoCAD is the de facto standard, I'm told.

I believe the user will be installing AutoCAD 2004.


-A
gongzero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2007, 02:56 PM   #9
cdclark
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 8095
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: e pluribus unamusem
Vehicle:
2010 OB: Subie #3
2010 Golf TDI 6sp Manual

Default

If its strictly 2D work and for small projects (I'm talking homes, small commercial buildings, small retail shops, etc) then any modern PC will be sufficient. Now if we're talking government buildings, corporate campuses, large retail stores etc., then by all means pack in as much power and expandibility as possible.

My company does architectural and merchandising plans for small to huge retail spaces. Think Hot Topic & Bath and Body Works to Home Depot and Macy's. We use AutoCAD 2004, 2006 and 2007 as well as Architectural Desktop and Revit. The 2-d drawings have hundreds or thousands of objects displayed at any given time and a P4 3.0Ghz with nvidia Quadro FX500 (base-model GL non-gaming card) works just fine. The only noticeable delays are in opening or saving drawings.

For that reason, I'd say your biggest problem will be relying on the wifi connection. You may see a performance hit in that regard.
cdclark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2007, 03:16 PM   #10
gongzero
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 25040
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: Montreal, Canuckistan
Vehicle:
Up with skirts,
down with pants!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdclark View Post
If its strictly 2D work and for small projects (I'm talking homes, small commercial buildings, small retail shops, etc) then any modern PC will be sufficient. Now if we're talking government buildings, corporate campuses, large retail stores etc., then by all means pack in as much power and expandibility as possible.

My company does architectural and merchandising plans for small to huge retail spaces. Think Hot Topic & Bath and Body Works to Home Depot and Macy's. We use AutoCAD 2004, 2006 and 2007 as well as Architectural Desktop and Revit. The 2-d drawings have hundreds or thousands of objects displayed at any given time and a P4 3.0Ghz with nvidia Quadro FX500 (base-model GL non-gaming card) works just fine. The only noticeable delays are in opening or saving drawings.

For that reason, I'd say your biggest problem will be relying on the wifi connection. You may see a performance hit in that regard.
Thanks for that info.

The files will be saved locally as this will be a home-office PC so the WiFi connection will really only be used to connect to the Internet.


-A
gongzero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2007, 03:19 PM   #11
platinum05
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 104904
Join Date: Jan 2006
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Reno
Vehicle:
05 Evo Mr
Shart Fast

Default

that kid who placed four chocoloate chips in a row exactly the same on every cookie has ocd...
platinum05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2007, 12:10 PM   #12
gongzero
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 25040
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: Montreal, Canuckistan
Vehicle:
Up with skirts,
down with pants!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by platinum05 View Post
that kid who placed four chocoloate chips in a row exactly the same on every cookie has ocd...
He's got a great future in Morse code?

I got nothing


-A
gongzero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2007, 12:13 PM   #13
PhatheadWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16899
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: I keep getting older and
Vehicle:
they stay the same
age

Default

gongzero I'm in the exact same boat as you: http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show....php?t=1190055

Looking at the E6400, P5N-E SLI, and 7600 256MB. We're just looking at different RAM. I'm also interested in OC abilities
PhatheadWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2007, 12:23 PM   #14
gongzero
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 25040
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: Montreal, Canuckistan
Vehicle:
Up with skirts,
down with pants!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhatheadWRX View Post
gongzero I'm in the exact same boat as you: http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show....php?t=1190055

Looking at the E6400, P5N-E SLI, and 7600 256MB. We're just looking at different RAM. I'm also interested in OC abilities
Thanks for the link... searching on the three-letter model names and such is just too much of a PITA.


-A
gongzero is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My build thread with pics! wtfh4xx Member's Car Gallery 60 02-27-2010 08:40 PM
Revise my PC build rstalbot Off-Topic 17 09-08-2008 02:26 PM
Another critique my PC build thread. sick boy Off-Topic 19 06-17-2008 04:57 PM
OT - critique my PC build Hyper Off-Topic 15 01-30-2008 04:39 PM
OT rate my pc build wrxtuner02 Off-Topic 83 07-27-2007 11:31 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2015 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2015, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.