Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday December 25, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Newbies & FAQs

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-12-2007, 12:33 PM   #1
ptirmal
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 82243
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Philly
Vehicle:
07' Acura TL-S
11' Ducati Monster 796

Default Splitter with big TMIC

How much harm or rather how inefficient is it to run a tmic with no splitter?

I have a cf hood with no splitter at the moment and I haven't really noticed any difference since going from a factory splitter to none with the stock turbo...

Now I'm moving to a vf34 with a big top mount and I was wondering what I should do... I don't want to change my hood scoop and it seems the STi splitter is also too small for the IC...

Is it something that will greatly effect boost?

Is there any other option to going with a big top mount besides home depot weather strip? I don't want it to look like crap...
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
ptirmal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 12:43 PM   #2
Crawdads
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 30907
Join Date: Dec 2002
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Albuquerque
Vehicle:
SWP GDB-G

Default

An sti splitter with new bellows (rubber skirt) will work with most big TMICs...you also have a bugeye, so there are more splitter options out there for you.

A splitter is a part you want to have, it will help the intercooler come out of heatsoak faster by making all the air flow through it instead of a lot of air going around it.
Crawdads is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 02:34 PM   #3
ptirmal
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 82243
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Philly
Vehicle:
07' Acura TL-S
11' Ducati Monster 796

Default

What splitter options do I have? Judging from website pictures it seems a bigger scoop is needed to fit bigger splitters, is this right? If I do get an STi splitter what kind of bellow do I need?

The top mount is an ssac eBay one...
ptirmal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 07:18 PM   #4
dibblejr
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 94070
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Dirty South
Vehicle:
05 LGT
PSM

Default

Splitters and scoups are all interchangeable in any combination for SAME model years. You can fit a bigger scoop and smaller splitter and you can put a larger splitter with a smaller scoop. (Dont know why anyone would do this though) If you order an STi scoop and have an AM TMIC you will want to spend the extra $ to buy the Sti splitter.
If you order the Sti splitter you should order the Sti splitter seal that is made for it. You can reuse the snaps, but you could also buy new snaps for the seal.
** Note there are two hidden screws when you are trying to remove the scoop and splitter. One on each side hidden underneath the insulation.

Jay-R
Quote:
Originally Posted by ptirmal View Post
What splitter options do I have? Judging from website pictures it seems a bigger scoop is needed to fit bigger splitters, is this right? If I do get an STi splitter what kind of bellow do I need?

The top mount is an ssac eBay one...
dibblejr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 07:21 PM   #5
dibblejr
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 94070
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Dirty South
Vehicle:
05 LGT
PSM

Default

Here's the difference in splitters on the Ebay TMIC. Looking at my pic you can see the OEM Splitter mark *smaller diameter and the Sti Splitter * larger diameter. Even the Sti splitter leaves a little to be desired.

dibblejr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 08:20 PM   #6
CynicX
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 48199
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Maryland
Vehicle:
06 WRX
WRB

Default

^^^

Wow talk about hot spots. Have you done anything in attempts to cover more of the IC? I have a SSAC TMIC looking at me and been debating over what to do as far as the splitter goes...
CynicX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 08:44 PM   #7
dibblejr
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 94070
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Dirty South
Vehicle:
05 LGT
PSM

Default

Na, I am happy with what I am happy with my intake temps, so no need. I suppose I could fabricate something but not at this time.
I wrapped the turbo, I use a heat shield and I have alky/H2o so I am all good.
I always use this picture in threads like this because it clearly shows that the STi splitter is not really that much larger than the Wrx splitter.
I considered a chimney, but changed my mind. The other thing is I do not run a belly pan.
There is one vender here cant remember who right now that sell a larger splitter but at too high of a price IMO.
Use this as a reference and rethink what YOU want to do.

Jay-R
dibblejr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 09:36 PM   #8
CynicX
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 48199
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Maryland
Vehicle:
06 WRX
WRB

Default

meh I'll prob use the STI splitter it seems the coverage is good. I just didnt know if there was another option. I wanted to have all my ducks in a row before I have it protuned then find out I can buy a 20 dollar part that covers the entire TMIC then be paranoid I didnt get the best bang from the protune, you know...
CynicX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 09:36 PM   #9
DigitalPunk
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 124236
Join Date: Aug 2006
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Albuquerque
Vehicle:
2006 WRX Built EJ257
Version 8 Twinscroll

Default

which ebay top mount is that?
DigitalPunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 09:52 PM   #10
dibblejr
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 94070
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Dirty South
Vehicle:
05 LGT
PSM

Default

Autodynasty

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalPunk View Post
which ebay top mount is that?
dibblejr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2007, 10:14 AM   #11
ptirmal
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 82243
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Philly
Vehicle:
07' Acura TL-S
11' Ducati Monster 796

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CynicX View Post
meh I'll prob use the STI splitter it seems the coverage is good. I just didnt know if there was another option. I wanted to have all my ducks in a row before I have it protuned then find out I can buy a 20 dollar part that covers the entire TMIC then be paranoid I didnt get the best bang from the protune, you know...
when they tune it your hood is open so the splitter doesn't really matter at that moment...

The main reason i don't want to buy a new scoop is the only cf sti ones I have seen are pretty expensive...

So I should be able to run a stock scoop with a bigger splitter?
ptirmal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2007, 12:56 PM   #12
dibblejr
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 94070
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Dirty South
Vehicle:
05 LGT
PSM

Default

Only on a DYNO tune, hard to drive +100mph with a hood open. You could run a syock scoop with a larger splitter, however you will not be able to take full advantage of the splitter. Thats why the scoops are larger as well.

Jay-R


Quote:
Originally Posted by ptirmal View Post
when they tune it your hood is open so the splitter doesn't really matter at that moment...

The main reason i don't want to buy a new scoop is the only cf sti ones I have seen are pretty expensive...

So I should be able to run a stock scoop with a bigger splitter?
dibblejr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2007, 02:55 PM   #13
ptirmal
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 82243
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Philly
Vehicle:
07' Acura TL-S
11' Ducati Monster 796

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dibblejr View Post
Only on a DYNO tune, hard to drive +100mph with a hood open. You could run a syock scoop with a larger splitter, however you will not be able to take full advantage of the splitter. Thats why the scoops are larger as well.

Jay-R
brain fart, I wasn't thinking...

I know the reasoning but I didn't think they'd fit... from some pictures it looked as if part of the splitter goes into the scoops contour...

Does it just screw in or what? I don't wanna drill into my cf hood more than necessary
ptirmal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2007, 03:28 PM   #14
jbwrx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 86274
Join Date: May 2005
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Crofton, MD
Vehicle:
. Andrewtech
Gold Club Member

Default

splitters are very important especially if you have a cf hood. i have a cf hood and i kept my splitter off for a few months and the hood moved so much that it began to get crack in the resin around the scoop. i put the splitter in and the movement just about stopped.
jbwrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2007, 05:27 PM   #15
dibblejr
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 94070
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Dirty South
Vehicle:
05 LGT
PSM

Default

Both splitters have the same amount of holes in the exact same place. The difference is in the used portion of the splitter, thats all.

Jay-R

Quote:
Originally Posted by ptirmal View Post
brain fart, I wasn't thinking...

I know the reasoning but I didn't think they'd fit... from some pictures it looked as if part of the splitter goes into the scoops contour...

Does it just screw in or what? I don't wanna drill into my cf hood more than necessary
dibblejr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2007, 04:12 AM   #16
emeessen
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 117741
Join Date: Jun 2006
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Vancouver, Washington
Vehicle:
2012 STI Ltd SWP
2006 Saab 97x Arc

Default

Hey here is all you need to know about the splitter solution. Search.

http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show...1134434&page=2
emeessen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY Hooscoop Splitter for big TMIC paintbing Interior & Exterior Modification 41 09-06-2012 09:21 AM
STi splitter with stock TMIC BlackRex05 Newbies & FAQs 5 12-12-2008 06:27 PM
Process West Splitter with other TMICs? verdee Factory 2.5L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.5L Turbo) 2 03-02-2008 01:36 AM
what splitter for big tmic pux888 Factory 2.5L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.5L Turbo) 8 08-01-2005 12:53 PM
Splitter with MRT TMIC? WRXagon Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 8 12-02-2002 10:17 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.