Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday July 14, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Newbies & FAQs

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-15-2007, 11:35 AM   #1
BlowDro
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 112116
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boca Raton / Jax, Fl
Vehicle:
2006 WRX
Aspen White

Default o man, now what did i do. remote clicker, radio, clock dead

this morning i decided to move my 2 maddad gauges. they were installed properly but the wires fell out of the harness a whle back and i never got around to re-installing them. so this morning, i unplug the harnesses from the back, then go to take out the harnesses, only one wire was still attached so i just pull it off. then i go to leave and lock my car.

the remote clicker wont lock the car. huh, w/e ill just lock it manually, batterys probly dead cuz its been lossig its distance. then just to check that did mess something up bad i get in the car, starts first time like normal, but now the clock and radio r dead.

so i uninstalled unworking gauges, disconect one wire and now my remote clicker, radio and clock are all not working. cant help but laugh at the situation cuz thats kinda funny. im gonna try reinstalling the gauges a little later but anyone got any other ideas about what i did?

never gonna mess with anything on this car again, ever.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.

Last edited by BlowDro; 02-15-2007 at 02:38 PM.
BlowDro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2007, 11:45 AM   #2
jasonallenross
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 125978
Join Date: Sep 2006
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Shrewsbury, MA
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Wagon
Silver

Default

Check the fuse?
jasonallenross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2007, 11:47 AM   #3
UkNuck
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 21808
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: National Capital Region
Vehicle:
02 GroceryGettAr
Nonemore Black

Default

You probably blew a fuse - that's why it's always best to disconnect the battery before messing with electrics
UkNuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2007, 11:50 AM   #4
BlowDro
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 112116
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boca Raton / Jax, Fl
Vehicle:
2006 WRX
Aspen White

Default

which fuse?
BlowDro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2007, 11:54 AM   #5
clemsonteg
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 134610
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cheraw, SC
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
SONIC YELLOW STG 4

Default

most fuse panels have a diagram and there is ususally one labeled "clock/radio" or the other way around, most likely that one has been blown, not a huge deal, just check it out
clemsonteg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2007, 12:05 PM   #6
BlowDro
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 112116
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boca Raton / Jax, Fl
Vehicle:
2006 WRX
Aspen White

Default

what about the remote clicker? coincidence?
BlowDro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2007, 12:09 PM   #7
ProoF
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 140639
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: PA
Vehicle:
2007 WRX Impreza LTD
WRB

Default

On a lot of cars, the radio and clock run on the same circuit so it's possible your grounded out one of the wires while disconnecting them. Probably just a 15-20 amp fuse that has to be replaced.

EDIT: Some remote starters have their own inline fuses under the hood of the car near the battery. Depending on what model you have, it could be under the hood or under the dash, generally around the steering column where the main Ignition wires are located.
ProoF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2007, 01:05 PM   #8
dibblejr
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 94070
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Dirty South
Vehicle:
05 LGT
PSM

Default

^^ As stated fuse. Your speedo ect. probably dont light up either.

Jay-R
dibblejr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2007, 02:31 PM   #9
BlowDro
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 112116
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boca Raton / Jax, Fl
Vehicle:
2006 WRX
Aspen White

Default

well i swaped out the radio fuse on, nothing changed
BlowDro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2007, 02:42 PM   #10
02WHITEDUB
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 96793
Join Date: Sep 2005
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Edmonton
Vehicle:
02 ProTuned TD04
Now with more clunks!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlowDro View Post
well i swaped out the radio fuse on, nothing changed
Was the fuse blown, or did you just swap it?
02WHITEDUB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2007, 02:46 PM   #11
steep
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 90890
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mammoth
Vehicle:
2011 Brocoma
Silverstreak

Default

^^^^^

More importantly you need to cover any bare wires or the fuse will continue to blow. Be careful with electrical doodads.

Car Fires FTL
steep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2007, 02:48 PM   #12
jasonallenross
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 125978
Join Date: Sep 2006
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Shrewsbury, MA
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Wagon
Silver

Default

(If I remember correctly)
There is a "always on" circuit to keep the radio and clock going, and another to provide power/illumination to the actual devices themselves ... make sure you check both.

Also, check under the hood. This problem really sounds like something shorted and blew the fuse.

You know you should always disconnect the battery when doing electrical work, right? This is why --- I'm guessing that the hot lead was still hot, then it touched something metal, completed the circuit, sparky sparky and you are done. If there was no power to the system it would not have happened. I've gotten a few jolts, myself, so I don't try and "cheat" anymore, I always diconnect/turn the breaker off/check it with a meter to make sure it's dead.
jasonallenross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2007, 02:56 PM   #13
steep
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 90890
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mammoth
Vehicle:
2011 Brocoma
Silverstreak

Default

double post oops

Last edited by steep; 02-15-2007 at 02:56 PM. Reason: not thinking
steep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2007, 03:42 PM   #14
BlowDro
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 112116
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boca Raton / Jax, Fl
Vehicle:
2006 WRX
Aspen White

Default

a blow fuse will rattle, the same way a blow lighbulb does, right? also can someone direct me to the fuse under the hood? i will go check the radio and the illu fuse now.

also like jay-r said, my gague cluster will not light up, yet stuff like the cel i have from my exhaust is still working.
BlowDro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2007, 03:48 PM   #15
BlowDro
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 112116
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boca Raton / Jax, Fl
Vehicle:
2006 WRX
Aspen White

Default

check the illu and that one looks broken, not the radio one i checked and switched before, looks like i need to run and get a 10 mini.

i also tried re-installing the gauges to see if that maby helped the problem idk im desperate right now. would the blow illum fuse be reason that the none of the gauges functions worked? like the red blinking light.
BlowDro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2007, 03:57 PM   #16
jasonallenross
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 125978
Join Date: Sep 2006
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Shrewsbury, MA
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Wagon
Silver

Default

Get some extra fuses while you are there, you may possibly blow another testing stuff out, and they are cheap.

The descriptions in the fuse box should give you an idea of what goes where.

And settle down, it's probably just a fuse, the car is still running. If it's not, you can at least drive it to a shop and don't have to pay for a tow
jasonallenross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2007, 04:01 PM   #17
BlowDro
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 112116
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boca Raton / Jax, Fl
Vehicle:
2006 WRX
Aspen White

Default

well i put a new fuse in the illum, still nothing changed

edit
i check the box under the hood, that ones blow too

alteast i feel like im getting closer to solving my problem.

Last edited by BlowDro; 02-15-2007 at 04:06 PM.
BlowDro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2007, 04:31 PM   #18
disque71
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 57330
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Vehicle:
2008 WRX

Default

check both fuse boxes(in the engine bay right side and behind interior dash driver side)
disque71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2007, 05:52 PM   #19
steep
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 90890
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mammoth
Vehicle:
2011 Brocoma
Silverstreak

Default

If you haven't stopped the wires from grounding out the fuses will continue to blow. I didn't see from your original post where you had taped these up. Can you tell us more about what you have done/changed?
steep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2007, 06:03 PM   #20
BlowDro
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 112116
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boca Raton / Jax, Fl
Vehicle:
2006 WRX
Aspen White

Default

fixed, i found 3 blown fuses, 2 in the cabin and 1 under the hood. i give myself 1 banana.
BlowDro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2007, 08:24 AM   #21
BlowDro
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 112116
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boca Raton / Jax, Fl
Vehicle:
2006 WRX
Aspen White

Default

i tried to hook the gauges up and im pretty sure they r wired correctly, is it possible my short out killed them?
BlowDro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2007, 08:39 AM   #22
dibblejr
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 94070
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Dirty South
Vehicle:
05 LGT
PSM

Default

^^ Unlikely that a short killed the gauges. You may have wiring problems thats why you blew the fuses. (Thats what fuses are for to prevent damage to componets connected) Just dont get in a hurry and you will find your problem(s).

Jay-R
dibblejr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2007, 08:42 AM   #23
bhhamblin
n00b Moderator
Moderator
 
Member#: 99397
Join Date: Oct 2005
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Clinton, UT
Vehicle:
13 STI, 83 DR30
93 R32 GTS-T, 93 R32 GTR

Default

im like 99% sure its a 10A fuse, and i bet anything its in one of the fuse boxes.
bhhamblin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2007, 09:00 AM   #24
dibblejr
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 94070
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Dirty South
Vehicle:
05 LGT
PSM

Default

Usually if you tapped where most everyone else taps then your speedo cluster does not illuminate.

Jay-R
dibblejr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2007, 09:57 AM   #25
BlowDro
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 112116
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boca Raton / Jax, Fl
Vehicle:
2006 WRX
Aspen White

Default

i think u guys missread, i fixed the fuse problems, everythings back to normal. i blew the illum and radio fuses in the cabin and a clock one under the hood.

now my problem is the gauges seam to be dead, i think the short out killed them. is it possible to have them repaired? they are maddad v2
BlowDro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
so what did you do in this heatwave today? this is what i did... shukes24 Mid West Subaru Owners Club Forum -- MWSOC 44 07-17-2006 03:39 PM
Okay, so what did brucelee do now? Full_Clip Off-Topic 9 04-02-2005 12:46 AM
UH OH! What did I do now. Hondaslayer Forester Forum 18 08-30-2004 09:46 PM
Wagon: What did I do now?? 4x4GGG Off-Topic 44 02-25-2004 04:33 PM
Ugh! What did I do now? Help needed...stripped threads in caliper Mr.Freeze Mid West Subaru Owners Club Forum -- MWSOC 3 04-12-2003 11:53 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.