Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday July 31, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Electrical & Lighting

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-26-2007, 06:43 AM   #1
wgas
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 141760
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: colorado
Vehicle:
07 wrx sedan
obp

Default 12v wires in dash area to hook up fire radio

i'm with a fire dept & am installing a vhf radio in my 07 wrx sedan in addition to some lights. i wired the lights up through the cigarette lighter wires, as they're on a 20amp fuse & the lights are led's that use significantly less than that.

on my old car, i just installed a solenoid for the radio, but would like to use some power source already in the cabin if possible. the thing is the radio draws about 20 amps, so i was wondering what 12v wires are floating around in the front of the cabin that either have a 20+amp fuse, or no fuse, that i can put an inline on. i could just go digging around, but was wondering first if anybody had any suggestions.
thanks.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
wgas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2007, 06:57 AM   #2
chrisarella
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 35584
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: www.chrisarella.com
Vehicle:
1965 FFR Roadster
Coyote + TR-6060

Default

I believe to can splice into the factory radio harness behind your stereo. You can check scooby mods for the exact wires you want. They may be different than my 03.
chrisarella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2007, 07:05 AM   #3
wgas
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 141760
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: colorado
Vehicle:
07 wrx sedan
obp

Default

alright, i'll check that out.
thx
wgas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2007, 11:45 AM   #4
wgas
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 141760
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: colorado
Vehicle:
07 wrx sedan
obp

Default

answering my own question in case someone else wonders..
there's an empty power by the fuse box inside that is switched w/ the ignition.

http://www.scoobymods.com/forums/showthread.php?t=4698
wgas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2007, 07:18 AM   #5
Mulder
Trust no one
Moderator
 
Member#: 11170
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
02 WRX
15 WRX/05 GTO

Default

That may work but the best way to proceed with a high-power transceiver is to wire it directly to the battery. This is both to accomodate the high current draw and to reduce electrical interference to and from the transceiver. Both my vehicles have 50-watt VHF/UHF amateur transceivers installed and they are wired straight to the battery.
Mulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 07:36 PM   #6
Alan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3601
Join Date: Jan 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Tigard, Oregon
Vehicle:
2006 WRX Wagon
BRIGHT BLUE!

Default

You've got switched power for the seat heaters and rear view mirror heaters available if you don't have that option on your car. You need to add a relay and tap into the power wire and you're all set with a 20 amp rated power source.
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2007, 07:19 AM   #7
wgas
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 141760
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: colorado
Vehicle:
07 wrx sedan
obp

Default

update:

the link above isn't in the '07, & ended up that i couldn't find any other ones with a big enough gauge to be drawing ~20amps (8-10gauge). so i decided to just hook up the solenoid that i had in my old car that was sitting around. so i've got it mounted under the hood & the 3rd post hooked up to some fuse that is switched w/ ignition (i forget which one) & then ran the wires back through a grommet above the passenger's feet.
wgas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
where is there a 12v switched to hook up to 666stars Water/Methanol Injection, Nitrous & Intercooler Cooling 4 12-02-2009 07:11 PM
how to hook up a 12V source to LED strip light? starcraft227 Electrical & Lighting 2 05-31-2009 12:14 AM
What gauge wire do I need to hook up a gauge? boosted06 Electrical & Lighting 1 10-06-2007 06:50 PM
Need help with Alpine CDA-9835 to hook up XM Radio fukamoto Car Audio, Video & Security 3 02-14-2007 02:10 PM
What Color Wires To hook up Car setup installed in room SubaTubaru Car Audio, Video & Security 12 01-13-2002 06:51 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.