Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday July 10, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Car Audio, Video & Security

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-06-2001, 01:22 PM   #1
brainofjjj
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 6334
Join Date: May 2001
Location: dallas
Vehicle:
11 M3
Monte Carlo Blue

Default Aux input and Creative Nomad

Guys...
I'm getting a Nomad jukebox soon and was wondering if the stock radio had an Aux in or RCA inputs on the back. I don't want to use the tape input option. Any thoughts? Has anyone purchase one of these yet?

another question...how crappy are these stock speakers? should that be my first replacement for the stereo?

Thanks
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
brainofjjj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2001, 02:24 PM   #2
Tomnel
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12625
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Fernando Valley CA
Vehicle:
MY02 WRX Impreza
Silver

Default

No aux or rca's on back, if you search you'll find a picture.

You'll have to get a new HU for that.

As far as doing the speakers, I'm putting in an amp first, along with a neo car jukebox in the trunk. then later I plan to do the speakers, maybe some boston rally's.
Tomnel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2001, 04:17 PM   #3
mitch808
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 10228
Join Date: Sep 2001
Vehicle:
2002 Subaru WRX

Default

If you can't afford a new head unit... There are always those RF adaptors. They convert a signal to FM and you just turn to that station. Although not the greatest of quality, it willsuffice for the time being. They're like 20 bucks.
mitch808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2001, 10:34 PM   #4
ANZAC_1915
Moderator
 
Member#: 456
Join Date: Oct 1999
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Redmond, WA, USA
Vehicle:
2008 Forester XT
Steel Gray Metallic

Default

Well, the stock head unit does have another set of inputs, but you may have trouble using them.

See:
http://www.i-club.com/forums/showthr...postid=1214493
ANZAC_1915 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2001, 10:42 PM   #5
supersubee
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 351
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: NE
Vehicle:
97 Legacy GT
White

Default

actually Glen, that may not be that hard, the hard part would be finding a molex to fit into the socket, or having to hardwire the stuff in. There has a to be a turn on signal to tell the radio the changer is connected, similar to the T&C wire in the new GM's. Thats the wire that controls onstar through the radio. Hmmm, i should have a guy at work look at that. Anyway i could get a copy of that book from you Glen??? Let me know.

Kevin
www.subee-sound.com
supersubee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2001, 12:19 AM   #6
ANZAC_1915
Moderator
 
Member#: 456
Join Date: Oct 1999
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Redmond, WA, USA
Vehicle:
2008 Forester XT
Steel Gray Metallic

Default

Generally with add-on CD changers the head unit has to communicate over the bus to find out:
a) the changer is there
b) discs in which slots
etc.

So there is no single signal to just switch it on.
At least Pioneer and other units I've used have been that way.

Also, it isn't a Molex, and they don't list the part number of a plug to fit in it. Though if we could find a Panasonic changer, the plug from the harness for it might fit.

However, there is a mute pin. That might help someone out.

Glenn
ANZAC_1915 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2001, 12:18 PM   #7
MountainWRX
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 12826
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: South San Francisco, CA
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Wagon
Silver

Thumbs up Thanks Glenn!

I've been wanting to hook up some type of MP3 player for a while and have been researching the alternatives... and this tread is great!! The pin call outs are definitely a starting point in decipering how to take advantage of it. I think the biggest thing now is to figure out how to "turn on" the changer function so that it will accept an input (bus signal?). I'm not an EE but if I have time, I'll experiment with it... if I find something I'll let you guys know!
MountainWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2001, 03:52 PM   #8
Jakezor
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 9624
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota
Vehicle:
2002 ImprezaWRXsedan
Platinum Silver Metallic

Default

If you want to add amps and such I have an <A HREF="http://www.audiocontrol.com" Target="_new">Audiocontrol</A> HPX that takes either rca in or speaker level in and does front/rear fadable out and sub out, master volume, sub volume, an 1/8" aux in and "expansion circuit" to make up for MP3 compression. I used it with a Dlink mp3 player and then my Nomad Jukebox in my old Regal (pre WRX).

It is for sale along with or seperate to a 10" Kicker Comp VR I have. ~1 cubic ft box, 4 ohm sub.

PM me or email me if interested.

Jakezor
Jakezor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2001, 07:37 PM   #9
ANZAC_1915
Moderator
 
Member#: 456
Join Date: Oct 1999
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Redmond, WA, USA
Vehicle:
2008 Forester XT
Steel Gray Metallic

Default

You'll notice that the display says "CD-IN" to the left of the disc indicators. I believe (if an ext changer is detected), pressing the CD button again will set a "CD-EX" to the right hand side of the disc indicators.

I assume it only does this if it detects a changer. I'm sure someone smart could make a PIC emulate a changer to give you aux input functionality.

Glenn
ANZAC_1915 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2002, 07:58 AM   #10
SPeeDSiN
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 4667
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Asheville, NC
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Black (well kinda)

Default

Just wanted to give this a bump and see if anyone has figured out how to fool the HU into taking those inputs.
I have gathered all the parts for my mp3 power supply and after exams, I'm going to try to put this thing in my car.

Found a working p90 in the trashcan!! which will soon be my mp3 player.

Thanks
Aaron Caudle
SPeeDSiN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2002, 06:09 AM   #11
mattjk
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 16615
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Huntington Beach
Vehicle:
I ♥ my TE51
2009 Nissan 370z

Default

bump
mattjk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2002, 06:06 PM   #12
Blackskull
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 5616
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Burnaby, BC Canada
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
Silver

Default

Perhaps this device will work. It's suppose to emulate a panasonic cd changer for the Vw headunits.

http://www.ajusd.org/~edward/vwcdpic/
Blackskull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2002, 07:38 PM   #13
mattjk
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 16615
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Huntington Beach
Vehicle:
I ♥ my TE51
2009 Nissan 370z

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Blackskull
Perhaps this device will work. It's suppose to emulate a panasonic cd changer for the Vw headunits.

http://www.ajusd.org/~edward/vwcdpic/
Good idea, although my Isuzu engineer friend says the
Suby radios are the same as Isuzu's units... I may pick up
an Isuzu OEM CD Changer interface from Fry's and try it.

Matt
mattjk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2002, 02:21 PM   #14
Blackskull
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 5616
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Burnaby, BC Canada
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
Silver

Default Panasonic changer protocol

Blackskull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2002, 02:36 PM   #15
Blackskull
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 5616
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Burnaby, BC Canada
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
Silver

Default

After looking at the pinouts from Glenn and the protocol info I posted. This probably won't work.

Our radios only have 2 data lines. Whereas the VW radios have 3 datalines or the changer protocol listed is for 3 datalines.


Quote:
Originally posted by Blackskull
Perhaps this device will work. It's suppose to emulate a panasonic cd changer for the Vw headunits.

http://www.ajusd.org/~edward/vwcdpic/
Blackskull is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stock head unit information -- pin-outs, aux inputs, and more SVXdc Car Audio, Video & Security 50 03-12-2014 11:27 AM
Decks with AUX input and XM ready? White01 Car Audio, Video & Security 4 05-31-2003 06:54 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.