Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday July 28, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-28-2007, 07:50 AM   #1
Mk3Design
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 123512
Join Date: Aug 2006
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: AWDForums.com
Default My OBDII scanner doesnt work...

I went and bought a OBDII scanner yesterday because no one rents them out..and the car wont drive to AutoZone..

Anyways It works fine in my wifes car. But when I plug it in it gets a err1 message and thats all the screen shows. I think it means it has a bad connection. If I jiggle it around it pops up for aboue 1/2 a second and thats all...so there is no time to read the codes - let alone go through them all..im sure I have a few.

just wondering if this has happened to anyone else before and how they fixed it, or is my car's connection just jacked up and Im screwed?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Mk3Design is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2007, 01:07 AM   #2
Fred Fredburger
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2539
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Mondovi, WI, USA
Vehicle:
2005 STi WRB/Gold
Now w/Íhlins... Yessss!!!

Default

I don't have any experience with troubleshooting OBDII connection errors, but were there any sort of memorable events leading up to your car not being driveable to Autozone? Water damage? Electrical gremlins? Fuses?
Fred Fredburger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2007, 07:58 AM   #3
Mk3Design
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 123512
Join Date: Aug 2006
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: AWDForums.com
Default

My car just idles very rough for like 10 seconds then it dies. I thought it was my old L motor.. So I dropped in a EJ25 and its the same problem..so I know its somthing w/my old harness/ecu/MAF as those are the only things I re-used..

Should I try to replace some fuses though
Mk3Design is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2007, 12:19 PM   #4
bluescoobywagon
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 14911
Join Date: Feb 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: The land of E85
Vehicle:
Not A Wagon!
2011 WRX - 285s on 18x10s

Default

Is the MAF in backwards?
bluescoobywagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2007, 12:33 PM   #5
Fred Fredburger
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2539
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Mondovi, WI, USA
Vehicle:
2005 STi WRB/Gold
Now w/Íhlins... Yessss!!!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bluescoobywagon View Post
Is the MAF in backwards?
I just cleaned my MAF last week and when I reinstalled was thinking, "I gotta make sure I put it in the right way!"

That'll be pretty dang slick if that's what it is, but I don't think that'd cause an OBDII reader to not work.

Mk3> Does the OBDII act normally when it's plugged in for the ten seconds the car is running?
Fred Fredburger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2007, 02:51 PM   #6
bluescoobywagon
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 14911
Join Date: Feb 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: The land of E85
Vehicle:
Not A Wagon!
2011 WRX - 285s on 18x10s

Default

The MAF shouldn't cause the connect errors. However, it could cause the stalling.
bluescoobywagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2007, 02:54 PM   #7
HndaTch627
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 6551
Join Date: May 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Carol Stream, IL
Vehicle:
'01 GC8 Dinged STM
'09 Concours 14 ABS Black

Default

ECM = Fried
HndaTch627 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2007, 03:34 AM   #8
Spec_C
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 91423
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: HIIC
Location: Big Island of Hawaii
Vehicle:
2004 PSM STi on Meth
Tuned by Chris Black@AMS

Impreza WRX STi

i have a 04 wrx and when i purchased my innovate obd2 scanner it would also put out an err code. come to find out, the software was too old i guess. i called their support line and they had me ship it back and replaced it with one that had the correct software.
Spec_C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2007, 12:01 PM   #9
RP31
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 123574
Join Date: Aug 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Lisle, IL
Vehicle:
2005 2.6L 9:1 425WHP
CGM STi

Default

Who makes this scanner, and what model is it?
RP31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2007, 10:55 PM   #10
bcblues
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 17256
Join Date: Apr 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: America's Outback
Vehicle:
04 STi
Blue w/ custom bug splat

Default

Some scanners (especially the cheap ones) seem to crap out on the Subies. I went to buy one at a shop and I tried it out first - no go (err). So they brought out their high-dollar unit - no prob. Clearly there are times when you "get what you pay for". With OBDII scanners, it seems to be one of those times.

PS: If anybody knows of an inexpensive OBDII scanner that works CONSISTENTLY on subies, please share it with us!
bcblues is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2007, 11:05 PM   #11
Fred Fredburger
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2539
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Mondovi, WI, USA
Vehicle:
2005 STi WRB/Gold
Now w/Íhlins... Yessss!!!

Default

I use a ScanGauge and I love it. I don't know if it's expensive or inexpensive compared to other OBDII scanners, but I am pleased with it. In addition to having no problem reading and clearing my codes (especially that pesky P0420!) it also records your mileage for the current trip/today/yesterday/tank. I also use it as an accurate speedometer (you can enter a ±%). It's also great for showing various readings from your car (water temp, intake air temp, volt, rpm, etc).
Fred Fredburger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2007, 11:07 PM   #12
RP31
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 123574
Join Date: Aug 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Lisle, IL
Vehicle:
2005 2.6L 9:1 425WHP
CGM STi

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bcblues View Post
Some scanners (especially the cheap ones) seem to crap out on the Subies. I went to buy one at a shop and I tried it out first - no go (err). So they brought out their high-dollar unit - no prob. Clearly there are times when you "get what you pay for". With OBDII scanners, it seems to be one of those times.

PS: If anybody knows of an inexpensive OBDII scanner that works CONSISTENTLY on subies, please share it with us!
Define inexpensive... I ended up getting an Actron CP9175 for about $80 from Amazon.com. It's a nice unit. Shows the code and the description on the screen, displays freeze frame data, I/M readiness, is upgradeable, and of course clears codes too. Actron has lower units that will probably perform just as well, but won't have as many features. I really wanted the code descriptions on screen, so I sprung for it. But you can get a lower model for $35-$50 less.
RP31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2007, 11:33 AM   #13
bcblues
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 17256
Join Date: Apr 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: America's Outback
Vehicle:
04 STi
Blue w/ custom bug splat

Default

I can't remember the brand that I was looking at, but it was on sale for $99. The shop's "pro" model (which I expect was over $500) read fine. I have tried the really cheap ones (like $30) and I have not found one that works on my 04 STi. If anybody knows of a REALLY cheap one that actually works (both reads and clears), please share!

For now I am using EcuExplorer, although there may be some issues with it from what I understand. Seems to work fine.
bcblues is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
after my swap... TACOMETER doesnt work azn0boi04 Subaru Conversions 5 09-25-2008 11:19 AM
My F$#%ing Accessport Doesnt WORK! ranger5oh AccessPort 35 10-12-2006 08:11 PM
My Cd Player Doesnt Work jchin829 Car Audio, Video & Security 1 07-28-2006 10:13 PM
So why is it that my obdII scanner cannot connect to my ECU (ecutek reflashed)??? jigga Commercial ECU Reflashes 30 07-14-2006 02:34 PM
my trunk release doesnt work ChungerSuby Interior & Exterior Modification 18 05-18-2005 06:25 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.