Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday August 30, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Electrical & Lighting

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-29-2007, 03:25 PM   #1
turbo_h4
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 112433
Join Date: Apr 2006
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: Toronto
Vehicle:
06 WRX.stage2
OBP

Default Wiring through firewall

What is the ideal place to run wires through the firewall o 06 imprezas? If possible, i don't want to make any new holes. I want to run 2x 12AWG wires through it.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
turbo_h4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2007, 05:50 PM   #2
02redwagone
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 87067
Join Date: May 2005
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Oregon Coast/AK
Vehicle:
02 Old but tasty
SRP

Default

Look for the rubber gromets. They pop out fairly easily and there is one that isnt even used behind the intercooler. (above the gas pedal) Pop it out, fold it over, use a sharp knife or skissors to cut an X in the center and then slip it over the wires or loom you want to send through. Then simply pop it back into the bulkhead.
02redwagone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2007, 08:20 PM   #3
sxotty
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 95600
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pittsburgh
Vehicle:
2003 WRX wagon
Silver

Default

I disagree strongly with the above suggestion.

There are many different spots, but along the cable for the hood is my favorite b/c it will keep a seal and keep the engine noise out of the interior.

Here look at these.
There is a spot under the clutch and two on the far left of the drivers foot well.
Clutch

Lower left
I decided to use the ones on the far left b/c I didn't want to try and seal that gaping hole or cut a hole in the seal as I thought it might pop out.


I ran 10guage wire for a carputer thru it. Just look here if you want more pictures of how you get the wiring there. I don't want to copy and paste it all.
sxotty is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2007, 05:38 PM   #4
jblaze5579
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 83473
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: MIDLAND, TX
Vehicle:
91 05 Z4, 08 Vegas
04 R1150RT

Default

#3, I think you and #2 are talking about the same thing
jblaze5579 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2007, 06:16 PM   #5
02redwagone
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 87067
Join Date: May 2005
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Oregon Coast/AK
Vehicle:
02 Old but tasty
SRP

Default

Engine noise in the cabin indeed. WOW
02redwagone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2007, 07:40 PM   #6
turbo_h4
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 112433
Join Date: Apr 2006
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: Toronto
Vehicle:
06 WRX.stage2
OBP

Default

One more thing, how to run a wire to the trunk through the inside of the car?
turbo_h4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2007, 07:46 PM   #7
geoffj
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 9
Join Date: Jun 1999
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Portland, OR
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by turbo_h4 View Post
One more thing, how to run a wire to the trunk through the inside of the car?
Under the carpet and under the rear seat.
geoffj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2007, 10:56 PM   #8
Meat Supply
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 137902
Join Date: Jan 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: traverse city, Mi skeletor
Vehicle:
---- like a wolf in
cheap clothing....

Default

either under the carpet or string it along under your door sill pieces. a little easier than lifting up carpet and stuff
Meat Supply is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2007, 12:02 PM   #9
sxotty
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 95600
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pittsburgh
Vehicle:
2003 WRX wagon
Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jblaze5579 View Post
#3, I think you and #2 are talking about the same thing
Yes I showed a picture of where I would not run it and where I would

Quote:
Originally Posted by 02redwagone View Post
Engine noise in the cabin indeed. WOW

Not everyone likes to make their car incredibly loud.
sxotty is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to get wire through firewall ? Jonnathan Electrical & Lighting 2 05-04-2003 08:18 PM
Running wire through firewall Dakken Car Audio, Video & Security 7 12-04-2002 07:22 AM
wiring through firewall? notarex Interior & Exterior Modification 3 09-04-2002 12:41 PM
where do i route wires through firewall? WRxednEffect Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 15 01-11-2002 12:03 AM
Running power wire through firewall Snowphun Car Audio, Video & Security 4 07-06-2000 10:31 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.