Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday December 29, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Electrical & Lighting

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-09-2007, 11:41 PM   #1
krambte79
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 97452
Join Date: Oct 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Broussard, LA
Vehicle:
05 STi, 02 STi
& 09Ltd Tribeca

Default hella supertones install question

when installing the new hella horns can i just hook up to the wire from the old horns and also wire in a ground for each horn...... or is there something more to this? thanks i am not an electrical genius. the horns came w/ a relay and schematics but i know the car (o5 sti) already has a relay.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
krambte79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2007, 12:07 AM   #2
Bayley
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 49763
Join Date: Dec 2003
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Die Auto Stadt
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
Jetzt mit 25% mehr Motor!

Default

You will be fine with the stock wiring. I've run my supertones for two years now and have never had any problems... and I use them A LOT!
Bayley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2007, 12:49 AM   #3
krambte79
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 97452
Join Date: Oct 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Broussard, LA
Vehicle:
05 STi, 02 STi
& 09Ltd Tribeca

Default

thanks
krambte79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2007, 02:20 AM   #4
pinkrobe
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 55447
Join Date: Feb 2004
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Cowtown, AB
Vehicle:
2002 WRX wagon
WRB/dirt

Default

There's a full install guide floating around here somewhere. I will say that although the horns work fine with the stock wiring, running a relay produces significantly more volume.
pinkrobe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2007, 02:21 AM   #5
02wrbrex
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103061
Join Date: Dec 2005
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle
Vehicle:
98 Impreza EJ207
350 Zed

Default

Use the relay's provided its really not that hard to install just look up the install guides on here and you will get it. If you do not used the provided relay's then there was no point in buying them.
02wrbrex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2007, 02:56 AM   #6
thrlskr
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 81826
Join Date: Feb 2005
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego, CA
Vehicle:
2005 WRX STi WRB

Default

I hooked them up to the stock wiring and ran the ground to the mounting bolt. Don't worry they're plenty loud!
thrlskr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2007, 10:31 PM   #7
krambte79
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 97452
Join Date: Oct 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Broussard, LA
Vehicle:
05 STi, 02 STi
& 09Ltd Tribeca

Default

i just used the stock wiring and grounded them, they are loud thanks for the info
guys


------------------------------close thread----------------------------------
krambte79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2007, 11:33 AM   #8
absoluturq
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 146421
Join Date: Apr 2007
Default

hey, i have another question about this....
im not a subaru owner, i drive a VW, but way more subarus have supertones, so i cant really ask this to my VW forum....
my question is, yesterday i tried hooking the horns up, and i messed up....smoke came out of my power thingy on the relay...
i dont know why it happened....but it happened....
now i think my relay is done? what can i do? i need the car back to normal by sunday
absoluturq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2007, 12:30 PM   #9
Siper2
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 1134
Join Date: Mar 2000
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Dillsburg, PA
Vehicle:
2007 BMW 328xi wagon
Silver

Default

Psst! http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show....php?t=1133994



absoluturq,
You already posted in that thread, man!


General install instructions: http://www.griotsgarage.com/pdfs/77573.pdf
Siper2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
09 wrx hella supertones install question punjabi408 Newbies & FAQs 21 08-23-2010 02:28 PM
Hella Supertones install question thunder_lizard_1976 Electrical & Lighting 5 03-28-2008 12:52 AM
HELP....another hella supertone install question wrxsown Electrical & Lighting 6 07-25-2006 02:44 AM
Hella Supertone Install Question USF97J4x4 Interior & Exterior Modification 9 12-31-2005 11:17 AM
Got question about Hella Supertone installation in a GC8 edkwon Mid West Subaru Owners Club Forum -- MWSOC 17 09-10-2002 02:11 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.