Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday April 24, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Miscellaneous > Off-Topic

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-14-2007, 06:39 PM   #1
rice h8r
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 94524
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Eternity.
Question Where to get decent 478 socket Motherboard?

I looked on newegg and they only have nine crappy ones...
I checked ebay and it looks fishy.

So does anyone know where I can get a new decent one?
Also, which one should I get, any recommendations?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
rice h8r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2007, 06:41 PM   #2
StuBeck
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 19546
Join Date: Jun 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Rochester, NY
Vehicle:
2009 Honda Fit

Default

You can't get a new decent one.
StuBeck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2007, 06:49 PM   #3
rice h8r
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 94524
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Eternity.
Default

damn!

any recommendations? Guess I'll have to look on ebay.
rice h8r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2007, 06:58 PM   #4
StuBeck
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 19546
Join Date: Jun 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Rochester, NY
Vehicle:
2009 Honda Fit

Default

I really can't remember, its been so long. I always liked Asus.
StuBeck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2007, 07:01 PM   #5
i_c_the_light
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 88618
Join Date: Jun 2005
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: New Zealand
Vehicle:
1994 Legacy
"The Silver Slug"

Default

478?

Wtthreeyearsagoatleast.
i_c_the_light is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2007, 07:45 PM   #6
Reciprocity
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1165
Join Date: Mar 2000
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Alameda, CA
Vehicle:
2012 dcrawford died
for your sins

Default

I picked one up from a place in the Bay Area...I had two "good" 478 chips (2.8 and 3.0) and wanted to use one in my HTPC.

I found a pretty good one for around $80...but I had to drive out to the boondocks to get it.

A friend of mine got one from Tigerdirect.com (I think that is the website). It was DOA, but it cost him practically nothing.

I think I've maxxed out my 478 old skool setup... 2 gigs of PC3200 RAM, 3.0E P4 478 socket and BFG 7800GS OC video card (AGP of course). Welcome to 5 years ago!
Reciprocity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2007, 07:51 PM   #7
Radiohead71
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 91952
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Lakeland, FL
Vehicle:
2014 Toyota 4Runner
Blue

Default

I'm still rockin a 3.4C in a 478 mobo. It's fine for now.
Radiohead71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2007, 08:17 PM   #8
ab0z
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 126473
Join Date: Sep 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Grand Rapids, Michigan
Vehicle:
1978 Datsun 280z

Default

I would check out some old OCP or Maximum PC reviews on that gen of hardware, and then search for their recommendations on ebay, etc. Sometimes the little sites still have the older hardware so use google and pricewatch too.
ab0z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2007, 08:27 PM   #9
StuBeck
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 19546
Join Date: Jun 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Rochester, NY
Vehicle:
2009 Honda Fit

Default

Its funny how long that stuff has kept its value. I sold a 478 motherboard last year, which I had for about 2 years, for 15 bucks less than I paid for it.
StuBeck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2007, 08:33 PM   #10
rice h8r
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 94524
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Eternity.
Default

^ yea I know!!

I got a P4 2.66ghz CPU and don't want it to go to waste...
rice h8r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2007, 10:55 PM   #11
Kraziken
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 38629
Join Date: Jun 2003
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Northwest
Vehicle:
1999 Legacy GT (STI)
White

Default

What do you mean by fishy? I sourced a 478 mb from ebay awhile back. It's running in my second MCE machine.

I'm using this exact board in my current Media center.

ebay link
Kraziken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2007, 11:44 PM   #12
gongzero
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 25040
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: Montreal, Canuckistan
Vehicle:
Up with skirts,
down with pants!

Default

I have an Intel D875PBZ. That bitch is ROCKSOLIDOMGWTFBBQHULLBREACH

No good for overclocking, though.


-A
gongzero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2007, 11:52 PM   #13
rice h8r
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 94524
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Eternity.
Default

thanks...

btw is there any other compatiblitlity issues between CPU and Motherboard besides socket 478?

<- comp n00b.
rice h8r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2007, 12:21 AM   #14
timmah
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 54203
Join Date: Feb 2004
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Albany, NY
Vehicle:
2011 WRX

Default

doh. just missed it. just sold my asus p4p800 deluxe 478 mobo. funny....i paid 119 for it back in 04, and got 140 for it on ebay this past week !
timmah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2007, 12:24 AM   #15
02redwagone
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 87067
Join Date: May 2005
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Oregon Coast/AK
Vehicle:
02 Old but tasty
SRP

Default

02redwagone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2007, 12:30 AM   #16
mexicanpizza
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16779
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Oceanside, CA
Vehicle:
2008 God's Gift to
Turbo Wagons (MS3)

Default

ABit IC7 or IS7 are both great.
mexicanpizza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2007, 12:38 AM   #17
rice h8r
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 94524
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Eternity.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rice h8r View Post
thanks...

btw is there any other compatiblitlity issues between CPU and Motherboard besides socket 478?

<- comp n00b.
can anyone answer that?
Also wth is Prescott?

thanks for the info guys!
rice h8r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2007, 12:34 PM   #18
ab0z
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 126473
Join Date: Sep 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Grand Rapids, Michigan
Vehicle:
1978 Datsun 280z

Default

The socket type obviously must be correct, but occasionally you will run into strange compatibility issues.
If you know what model CPU you have, look for motherboards that have the features you are looking for, and when you find one just check the documentation on that board to make sure it supports your CPU.
Additionally many motherboards have updated firmware available from the manufacturer to add functionality and compatibility.
ab0z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2007, 12:36 PM   #19
97whitesi
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 70925
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Norristown, PA
Vehicle:
2004 Warbler35 1997
Del Sol Si 1995 Civic sEX

Default

where?

about 3 years ago.
97whitesi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2007, 12:41 PM   #20
Hypernoodle
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12391
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: YER.MOMS.A.HAIKU.AND.HERES.WHY
Vehicle:
I did her 5 times
then 7 times, then 5 more

Default

Hypernoodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2007, 12:42 PM   #21
emorphien
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 83039
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Rochester, NY
Vehicle:
2005 LegacyGT Ltd 5m
ಠ_ಠ

Default

Abits were good, I had an IC7-G (actually I still have it, sitting useless, in my old case )

What processor do you have, it's kinda important to make sure your processor works on the board. Usually there aren't any problems but some of the last 478 chips might or might not work on earlier boards, not sure.
emorphien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2007, 12:45 PM   #22
rice h8r
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 94524
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Eternity.
Default

I think this is the one I have...
http://cgi.ebay.com/INTEL-PENTIUM-4-...QQcmdZViewItem

wth is a IC7-G? Abits model?
rice h8r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2007, 12:49 PM   #23
emorphien
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 83039
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Rochester, NY
Vehicle:
2005 LegacyGT Ltd 5m
ಠ_ಠ

Default

Yes. Google it, you should find it. It's a fairly full featured mobo, nothing extravagant. The G stands for the built in gigabit ethernet. My original board worked fine (including Gig-E) until it got fried in a freak static electricity accident (while installed and running, in the closed and grounded case) and the RMA replacement had a bad/busted gigabit ethernet controller. I just put a cheap ethernet card in the PCI slot and decided that was good enough.
emorphien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2007, 12:56 PM   #24
rice h8r
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 94524
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Eternity.
Default

wanna sell me yours for cheap?
rice h8r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2007, 01:02 PM   #25
emorphien
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 83039
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Rochester, NY
Vehicle:
2005 LegacyGT Ltd 5m
ಠ_ಠ

Default

works for me
emorphien is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SA - Where to get decent car cover?? Rally Punx Texas Impreza Club Forum -- TXIC 2 06-21-2007 10:24 AM
Where to get decent folding tow hook? ewright Motorsports 4 05-06-2006 09:35 PM
Where to get decent lug nuts on the cape?! badgerwrx New England Impreza Club Forum -- NESIC 13 06-10-2005 08:16 PM
where to get decent but cheap vacuum? lionken07 Interior & Exterior Modification 5 07-05-2004 12:14 AM
Where to get decent 8mm plug wires..... Rubasu Normally Aspirated Powertrain 4 08-15-2001 12:38 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.