Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday October 23, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Interior & Exterior Modification

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-14-2001, 02:02 PM   #1
sherifx
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 10780
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: RIP #92
Vehicle:
---- BRZ
Galaxy Blue Silica

Default STi Guages... Do they work when you swap?

Me n' FreeBMW were discussing this last night,...

I've heard about people switching their guages to the STi cluster,... do they work well? What about the speedo difference (kmph vs. mph)? Does the shift light work?

Can't think of any more questions right now, but I will post if I think of any. Thanks

sherif
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
sherifx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2001, 02:32 PM   #2
wrx182
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 9531
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: USA
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Sport Wagon
Aspen White

Default

hey man...i know there was some guy here that had wired up sti gauges on his rs so that they would work...

you should order the sti cluster from the european version - it's in mph...but, the redline is at 8k instead of our 7k...that should work though, just plug and play.
wrx182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2001, 02:53 PM   #3
slowme
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12235
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Buffalo
Vehicle:
2006 WRX Limited
Red

Talking

Oh Yeah Baby.....How much and what site??

slowme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2001, 03:23 PM   #4
wrx182
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 9531
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: USA
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Sport Wagon
Aspen White

Default

i know of a ton of places that carry the japanese one that's in kilometers...

i know i've seen the european one somewhere, but now i can't seem to find it again...

run a search on it...i know i've seen someone selling them on here before...

prolly around $500-$600
wrx182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2001, 03:46 PM   #5
trboCIVIC&WRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 6426
Join Date: May 2001
Location: the "looks like a mitten" state
Default

Wow.. this is like a mini michigan meet in here...

anyway,

yeah, I know that I saw somebody do it too. I wish I could remember who tho. Too many dead brain cells I guess.

I cant imagine having to explain to the cop...

"well officer, you see, my speedo is in Kph, so I have to do the conversion on the fly, and I guess that I forgot to 'carry the 4'. So that is why I was speeding"



why not just install a shift lite? Besides, no matter where the little red line starts, our rev limiter will stay the same....

yk
trboCIVIC&WRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2001, 03:51 PM   #6
wrx182
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 9531
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: USA
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Sport Wagon
Aspen White

Default quote-o-rama

Quote:
Originally posted by trboCIVIC&WRX
Wow.. this is like a mini michigan meet in here...
i was thinking the same thing

Quote:
Originally posted by trboCIVIC&WRX
yeah, I know that I saw somebody do it too. I wish I could remember who tho. Too many dead brain cells I guess.
too many dead brain cells from doing what? huh? smoking the grass again?

Quote:
Originally posted by trboCIVIC&WRX
"well officer, you see, my speedo is in Kph, so I have to do the conversion on the fly, and I guess that I forgot to 'carry the 4'. So that is why I was speeding"
wrx182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2001, 03:57 PM   #7
gary501
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 8559
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Pasadena, CA
Vehicle:
2002 Subaru
Wrx

Default

You can purchase them from www.japanparts.com
gary501 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2001, 04:19 PM   #8
sherifx
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 10780
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: RIP #92
Vehicle:
---- BRZ
Galaxy Blue Silica

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by trboCIVIC&WRX
why not just install a shift lite?
I got no prob putting one it, but I'm just considering, if I'm going to pay the 5-600$ fer the unit, I wouldn't mind the shift light working...


oh and btw, I saw that japan parts site before, nice, but still the issue of the kph vs mph...

wrx182, pls find that website w/ the euro guage set if yah could... I was just trying to think of an incentive to offer if yah found it, but everything either sounded childish or like I was a pimp... and I'm none of the above... except mayb childish... thnx

sherif
sherifx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2001, 04:23 PM   #9
jeffg
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 2958
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Vehicle:
2001 WRX (GC8)

Default

Just so you know. When you get the STI cluster, the tach is in the center and the speedo is on the left. I assume this is why you want it. The problem is the harness for the JDM cluster is the same as the USDM one, kind of. The signals for the cluster work of an analog wave. You will need to send your STI cluster to Cobb to get it modded to work with out harness. They will do it for about $100.

I dont know about the shift lite, but be prepared for the intercooler spray light to stay on.

Jeff
jeffg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2001, 05:36 PM   #10
sherifx
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 10780
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: RIP #92
Vehicle:
---- BRZ
Galaxy Blue Silica

Default

jeffg, thanks for the info... intercooler spray light... hm... any known ways to resolve this aside from killing the bulb?

sherif
sherifx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2001, 06:22 PM   #11
ATX25RS
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 4597
Join Date: Mar 2001
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Laredo, Texas
Vehicle:
2011 Mitsu Outlander
Sport (Ex-Suby owner X3)

Default

Its weird North Ursalia hasn't chimed in he installed the STi cluster in his RS....check his site www.northursalia.com

Andres
ATX25RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2001, 11:30 PM   #12
sherifx
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 10780
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: RIP #92
Vehicle:
---- BRZ
Galaxy Blue Silica

Default

Andres, maybe you should give him a little nudge nudge for me... *yawn* I hope this works out... now, which european countries use MPH to guage their speed instead of kph?! that's the question of the evening/night

sherif
sherifx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2001, 11:37 PM   #13
Bobora
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 8845
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Silver

Default

I have this guage cluster. Everything is plug and play. Speedo is km\h and reads it as is. Shift light works and it also beeps if you want it to. Now looking to hook up a ambient sensor for the out temp. to work. Cool looking cluster. Even the STI lights up. Got it brand new from ebay.
Bobora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2001, 01:52 AM   #14
jesse370
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12147
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: collingswood nj
Vehicle:
2005 g-35
ivory pearl

Default

this may be a stupid question but does the lcd just display milage or store it also?
jesse370 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2001, 05:30 AM   #15
ImprezedRS
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2771
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Vehicle:
2003 BMW Z4
Blue

Default

The milege is stored into the gauge cluster not the ecu.
ImprezedRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2001, 01:26 PM   #16
jesse370
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12147
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: collingswood nj
Vehicle:
2005 g-35
ivory pearl

Default

So if you swap the cluster you looes your milage? Bet that could void your warranty.
jesse370 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2001, 06:38 PM   #17
slowme
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12235
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Buffalo
Vehicle:
2006 WRX Limited
Red

Default

I found a site out there where there was very detailed instructions (pics too!!!) on how to change your gauges. He had said that they worked. I just can't find the site now...it was site where he rated mod's with quarts of oil, if that helps anyone who knows of what I am talking about. All I know is that he did it on his MY00 and it worked just fine. The only draw back was being able to convert kph to mph and the redline on the tach was higher than what a the RS is.

Bill
slowme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2001, 06:44 PM   #18
slowme
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12235
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Buffalo
Vehicle:
2006 WRX Limited
Red

Lightbulb

Found it, finallly!!! Here is the site and another that has a whole ton of links also. Don't know if it has every link out there but what is there has helped me alot.

STI Gauge Change:
http://www.northursalia.com/m.../interior.html

Links Page:
http://home.earthlink.net/~gndiamant/subaru.htm

Hope this helps...

Bill
slowme is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TD05 18G 7cm2 turbo: who has one and how do they work out for you? GDAryder Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 29 09-22-2008 12:20 PM
When filling out your taxes, why do they ask if you have... Hazdaz Off-Topic 13 04-14-2008 12:40 AM
do I need to do anything special when I swap seats or will the side airbags deploy? Big_Hitter Texas Impreza Club Forum -- TXIC 9 03-04-2008 07:16 PM
Adjustable sway bars - how do they work? tomrichardson Brakes, Steering & Suspension 5 05-03-2001 12:56 AM
4 Pot brakes and 17" TE-37's...do they work together? GDA Brakes, Steering & Suspension 4 03-20-2001 01:42 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.