Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Sunday August 31, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Service & Maintenance

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-20-2001, 10:37 AM   #1
Mas
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 8821
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Denver, CO
Vehicle:
2002 WRXagon
WRC Blue

Default OBD-2 Tool trouble shooting

I just received my OBD-2 tool from the group buy and now I have a question. How do you make this thing work?

I'm thinking I must have some kind of hardware (laptop) problem because no one else seems to have a problem with the tool (at least I could not find any posts on this board).

Here's what I've done:
Unzipped software
Entered ID code
Attached ISO cable to the serial port of my 166 Hewlet Packard laptop
Plugged ISO into the OBD-2 port
Turned on Ignition
Launched OBD-2 program
Hit connect on the program
Program comes up with "System Busy"

I've tried launching the program first, connecting, then turning the ignition. Nothing.
(How do any of you start the program and "get connected"?)

I've tried it in my 2000 Celica. Nothing.

I've checked the baud rate of my port to make sure that it matches the baud rate the software is asking for and they are both set at 38.4. Port is set at 1, interface is single, protocol is default SAE ISO.

Any ideas on where I'm going wrong?

Thanks,
Mason
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.

Last edited by Mas; 12-20-2001 at 05:50 PM.
Mas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2001, 12:06 PM   #2
Lo0mis
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 12469
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Valencia CA
Vehicle:
2000 2.5 RS
BRP

Default

Maybe the change the port type (ECP/SPP/EPP) in you laptops BIOS?
Lo0mis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2001, 04:56 PM   #3
Julian
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1182
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Ventura, CA
Vehicle:
MY00 RS
BRP

Default

What happens if you run the program and try to connect without hooking it up to your car?

I assume this unit is supposed to use the parallel port? Most I've seen (and the one I own) use the serial port.
Julian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2001, 05:53 PM   #4
Mas
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 8821
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Denver, CO
Vehicle:
2002 WRXagon
WRC Blue

Default

Sorry you're right it is the serial port (early morning brain fart).

If anyone with the Alex Peper OBD-2 scan tool can post their "normal" connection procedure I'd be interested.

Thanks again,
Mason
Mas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2001, 08:17 AM   #5
tmat3
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2817
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: NYC and Troy, NY
Vehicle:
2001 Impreza 2.5RS
BRP

Default

1. Turn the computer on
2. connect one end to the OBD-II port in the car, and the other to the serial port #1 (used to be known as com1/com3).
3. Open the application
4. Choose "connect"
5. Let it think
6. It connects.
7. Hit data, and click on Send to get all the data from sensors.

Is your serial port disabled? What OS do you have? The application is designed for Win 3.1, 95, 98 and may work on 2000. No NTs.
tmat3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2001, 10:34 AM   #6
Mas
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 8821
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Denver, CO
Vehicle:
2002 WRXagon
WRC Blue

Default

I'm using a win 95 laptop so the OS should be compatible.

As far as I know the port isn't disabled, although I'm not sure how I could tell. I went into the device manager and there are no conflicts with the port, and the box for "disable device" isn't checked. In the properties for com 1 it lists "Port settings" I set the baud rate for 38.4 (it was defaulted at 9600) but I've left all the other settings at the default, Data Bits = 8, Parity = None, Stop bits = 1, Flow control = None.

At what point in the process do you turn the ignition "on", does it matter when, does the car need to be running?
Mas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2001, 01:15 AM   #7
Mas
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 8821
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Denver, CO
Vehicle:
2002 WRXagon
WRC Blue

Default

I'm now starting to think that maybe he sent me the wrong connector plug. I looked at my OBD II plug in my car and there does not seem to be receptacles in places where the plug has pins.

If you look at the connector it's shaped like a "V" (wide at the top skinny at the bottom" from left to right on the top level I would number them 1-8 and the bottom row would be 9-16.


On my onnector I have pins in 2,4,5 and 9,10


Is this what everyone else received?

Thanks,
Mason

Last edited by Mas; 12-22-2001 at 01:21 AM.
Mas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2001, 06:51 AM   #8
tmat3
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2817
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: NYC and Troy, NY
Vehicle:
2001 Impreza 2.5RS
BRP

Default

You got the right connector.

Is your ignition key at the on position without the engine running? After you connect the wires between the car and the computer, turn the key to the "on" position. Then, click "Connect".
tmat3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2001, 11:12 PM   #9
ylexot
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 6878
Join Date: May 2001
Location: St Inigoes, MD, USA
Vehicle:
2002 MBP 2.5RS
1994 GMC Sonoma

Default

How did you enter the ID code before launching the program?

The first time you try to connect, you terminate connection. Then it pops up a save dialog. Cancel that and it should pop up the window for the User ID #. At least that's how I did it.
ylexot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2001, 08:26 AM   #10
KGreb
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 13463
Join Date: Dec 2001
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Houston, TX
Vehicle:
2012 Chevy Volt
Silver

Default One more thing to try

Make sure you don't have any software open that's accessing the serial port. I had a palm pilot hotsync program running in the background of my laptop that would conflict with the OBD-2 scanner. Shut down the hotsync program and logging worked with no problem.

Good Luck!
KGreb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2001, 06:33 PM   #11
XazerpmiX
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 8605
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Orange County, CA
Vehicle:
2001 2.5 RS Coupe
Silver

Default

I can't get mine to work too

What do I enter as my User ID?
Also the Laptop I'm using has Win2000 on it, is anyone else using win2k with their OBD scanner?

Mike
XazerpmiX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2001, 11:28 PM   #12
BigKuma
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 13060
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Longmont, CO, USA
Vehicle:
2000 Impreza 2.5 RSt
Silver

Arrow Mine works, but ...

The first question I had was "What is my ID? "
Then I found it at the bottom of the e-mail with
subject:
"Notification of Payment Received".
(So you get it when you pay).
Then I had some timeout problems, I got possible solutions from .HLP file and from Alex himself, but I did not try them yet.
I have MY00 2.5RS and Dell Laptop w/ WinXP.
I have a blue router (dual Ford/ISO connector).

BTW: If anyone else is trying to get the software to work with a Mac ( Virtual PC ) let me know. So far I got nothing. Something to do with Pin8 on the DIN8 to DB9 machintosh serial connector adapter I suspect.
BigKuma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2001, 02:20 AM   #13
dwmoss_68
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 6030
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Northeastern PA , USA
Vehicle:
04 Gold FXT
07 WRB FXT Sport

Question silly question

ok... where do i find the connection for the cable for a 02 wrx?
pictures or links to pictures?
dwmoss_68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2001, 08:42 AM   #14
ylexot
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 6878
Join Date: May 2001
Location: St Inigoes, MD, USA
Vehicle:
2002 MBP 2.5RS
1994 GMC Sonoma

Default

It's directly beneath the steering column. Just look around there and you'll find it.
ylexot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2002, 02:12 PM   #15
selector37
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 10370
Join Date: Sep 2001
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: San Francisco
Default

I've actually been trying to build a laptop interface for OBD-II over the last few months, and it has really sucked. I've gotten full communication with my friend's S2000, but my WRX stops talking for no reason, and I've never gotten even the most basic response from any Toyota. My advice would be to try it on a Honda, and if it works there, then you know that your laptop setup is OK.
selector37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2002, 01:09 AM   #16
QA Guy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 6739
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Silver

Default

I got the PWM and ISO combo one from obd-2.com. I haven't tried it on my WRX yet, just on my Mystique. Sometimes it will connect the first time. Other times it takes 5 or 10 tries to detect properly.

You might try getting together with some I-club members from your area to figure it out in person...
QA Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2002, 02:11 AM   #17
BigKuma
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 13060
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Longmont, CO, USA
Vehicle:
2000 Impreza 2.5 RSt
Silver

Default PMW and ISO OBDII

When you get that combo, software defaults to
the Ford settings. So I had the same disconnect problems.
This is what Alex recommended for me:
"
In options gateway protocol increase ISO speed to 125, byte time to 5
and message to 35. Increase timeouts to 2 and check auto-recoonect.
"

Also, similar thing is sugested in the program help file.

Although, I still get disconnects, it is much less frequent now.
BigKuma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2002, 03:07 AM   #18
QA Guy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 6739
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Silver

Default

Thanks!

I've made the changes and will try it out the next time I have a problem (hopefully not soon) or when I feel like seeing what the car is doing in a bit more detail.
QA Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2002, 01:08 AM   #19
stereo_rs
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 9139
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: CA
Question where can I order one?

Hello ~ guys

do you know where can I locate a ODB2 scaner ??

thanks!
stereo_rs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2002, 01:27 AM   #20
QA Guy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 6739
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Silver

Default

The two that get the most mention are the Harrison and Peper ones.

Search for:
"Harrison" and/or
"Alex Peper" (obd-2.com) and/or
"obd2 and scanner"

You will find lots of info.

I have also seen and used the AutoXray, though not on a Subaru. There are many other ones, too.

I got the one that Alex Peper sells on a group buy. I use it with a laptop. It works pretty well, though there is little to nothing specific to Subaru that I know of in it (all generic obd2 info). You can get them in a group buy of 20 people for $73 and up, depending on options. The software is free to download.
QA Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2002, 07:28 PM   #21
Dave_MacKinnon
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 10823
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Burlington, Ontario
Vehicle:
2007 STi
Silver

Default

I got mine to connect to the car tonight, but really didn't get much information from it...

I have had a few CEL's in the past couple weeks, and wanted to know what the codes were, but I couldn't get it to cough them up. If someone can walk me through it, it'd be appreciated..

You can contact me by email at dave@thewrx.com
Dave_MacKinnon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2002, 09:58 PM   #22
Mulder
Trust no one
Moderator
 
Member#: 11170
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
02 WRX
15 WRX/05 GTO

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by QA Guy


have also seen and used the AutoXray, though not on a Subaru. There are many other ones, too.

I have the AutoXray unit and it works very well on the WRX and other OBDII Subarus. Mine was a few years old and the older software did not initially work on my car but I was able to send it back to them for a free upgrade (free except for a nominal shipping fee). A new one purchased now will have the current software and will work fine.
Unlike the PC-interface units the AutoXray is plug-and-play and will read out stored codes with a plain-english description. It will also clear codes and can provide real-time sensor and status readouts.
It's not cheap but definitely worth having if you have any interest in diagnosing your car and avoiding shop visits and an absolute must if you are doing any mods.
Mulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2002, 12:21 AM   #23
BigKuma
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 13060
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Longmont, CO, USA
Vehicle:
2000 Impreza 2.5 RSt
Silver

Arrow Codes

Codes can be viewed on the Codes tab.
Hit "Request" and then "History" button if
you don't see anything. (might need to
do it a couple of times)
I saw two different codes come up so far:
Something about too high Manifold pressure
and something about Catalitic converter
system not working efficiently.

(After market turbo kit).
BigKuma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2002, 10:56 PM   #24
motorob
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 2878
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Nuevo Mexico, usa
Vehicle:
06 Evo IX MR

Default

What KGreb said, that's often the problem.
motorob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2002, 11:03 PM   #25
BigKuma
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 13060
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Longmont, CO, USA
Vehicle:
2000 Impreza 2.5 RSt
Silver

Default O2 sensor reading

Has anyone got anything usefull from the O2 part of the program ?
All I can get is the Bank1 sensor2 voltage, but that's not very interesting, since that is the sensor after the cat.

I wanted to use the O2 reading to tune the RRFPR.
BigKuma is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: OBD-2 scan tool AKSubie Alaskan Impreza Club Forum -- AKIC 11 01-24-2004 08:45 PM
Can you use OBD-2 scan tool to tune S-AFC? 2.5GT Normally Aspirated Powertrain 6 04-03-2002 05:07 PM
Lets Talk OBD-2 Scan Tools!! djerickd Service & Maintenance 8 02-11-2002 10:29 PM
obd-2 scan tool will not connect MTREX Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 3 11-04-2001 12:05 AM
Need help!!! OBD-2 scan tool probs on a 99 tom@kartboy Technical Forum Archive 3 08-27-2000 03:10 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.