Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday July 10, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
Alaskan Impreza Club
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Chapters > Alaskan Impreza Club Forum -- AKIC

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-13-2007, 07:06 AM   #1
Jaylyons1
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 113884
Join Date: May 2006
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Baltimore, MD
Vehicle:
2013 BRZ
Black

Default Code Reader?

Does anyone know of somewhere we can pull CEL's and not get raped on price? Or better yet, does anyone have a code reader? The newer ones that are for sale do not work on the subaru's so i cant just buy one.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Jaylyons1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2007, 08:12 AM   #2
MikeyMike
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 112401
Join Date: Apr 2006
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Avon Lake, OH
Vehicle:
2012 Chevy
Cruze Eco Turbo

Default

doesn't your accessport pull codes???

I have a code reader, but like you said, it doesnt work for subarus. its for american cars.
MikeyMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2007, 09:56 AM   #3
ridestreet84
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 132030
Join Date: Nov 2006
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: elmendorf afb ak
Vehicle:
2007 obp STI
95 impreza (rally beater)

Default

schucks might have one that works and they do it for free
ridestreet84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2007, 12:40 PM   #4
Alaskan_awd
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 117002
Join Date: Jun 2006
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Palmer, AK
Vehicle:
2010 >40psi, oh yes!
POWERSTROKE

Default

The access port will do it and it doesnt have to be married to the car to pull codes.
Alaskan_awd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2007, 12:51 PM   #5
t4nk
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 129905
Join Date: Oct 2006
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Katy, TX & Anchorage, AK
Vehicle:
2005 WRB WRX
2003 F-350SD, 7.3PSD

Default

The access port does not read every cel. It only reads cel's that are known to be tripped due to mods.

go to Napa & Shucks. one of the 2 will have what u need.
t4nk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2007, 01:31 PM   #6
The Iglooman
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 111015
Join Date: Mar 2006
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Vehicle:
2009 Audi A5
Deep Sea Blue

Default

I have been to Midas where they didn't charge me to pull some codes. But that was in Indiana and they didn't have any work to do.
The Iglooman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2007, 06:57 PM   #7
ponamy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 115511
Join Date: May 2006
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
Vehicle:
2005 wrx /w babyseat
2011 Forester 2.5x

Default

my ap v2 is a code reader and i might also be able to reset yur ecu with it. call me, ill be at the bbq saturday and camping through sunday. after that im driving back to fbx

978-9789

jason

if not go to schucks, if they have a code reader you can use it free
ponamy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2007, 07:18 PM   #8
t4nk
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 129905
Join Date: Oct 2006
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Katy, TX & Anchorage, AK
Vehicle:
2005 WRB WRX
2003 F-350SD, 7.3PSD

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ponamy View Post
my ap v2 is a code reader and i might also be able to reset yur ecu with it. call me, ill be at the bbq saturday and camping through sunday. after that im driving back to fbx

978-9789

jason

if not go to schucks, if they have a code reader you can use it free
once again.. the apv2 does not read all codes.. if a apv1 wont read it, the apv2 wont either. they have the same variables..
t4nk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2007, 07:32 PM   #9
t4nk
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 129905
Join Date: Oct 2006
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Katy, TX & Anchorage, AK
Vehicle:
2005 WRB WRX
2003 F-350SD, 7.3PSD

Default

If need be i could try to pull it w/ my laptop and tactrix..
t4nk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2007, 09:47 PM   #10
edo2000
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 68709
Join Date: Aug 2004
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Kenai Peninsula, AK
Vehicle:
2012 WRX
red

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by t4nk View Post
The access port does not read every cel. It only reads cel's that are known to be tripped due to mods...
This is probably true, but the AP is still the first thing to use if you have one handy. Between my car and 3 friends with wrx's, we have yet to fire a CEL that the AP didn't identify.
edo2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2007, 09:50 PM   #11
t4nk
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 129905
Join Date: Oct 2006
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Katy, TX & Anchorage, AK
Vehicle:
2005 WRB WRX
2003 F-350SD, 7.3PSD

Default

true. ive had a few the ap didn't identify..

oh yeah and to the OP and Ponamy.. Resetting the ECU before you get the code is the last thing you want to do.. its on for a reason.. just thought id throw that out there..
t4nk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2007, 12:23 AM   #12
psylas
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 19109
Join Date: May 2002
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Anchorage AK
Vehicle:
2010 Toyota Tundra
Silver

Default

Go to shucks man, they'll pull the code for free
psylas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2007, 03:08 AM   #13
RugerP345
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 141233
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Anchorage, AK
Vehicle:
2004 WRX For Sale
91 Suburban

Default

With my AP 2.0 its has been able to PULL every code, but it can't IDENITFY all the codes, but it will give you the code number and you can look on line to see what it is.

However the AP 2.0 can't CLEAR any codes.
RugerP345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2007, 03:23 AM   #14
t4nk
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 129905
Join Date: Oct 2006
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Katy, TX & Anchorage, AK
Vehicle:
2005 WRB WRX
2003 F-350SD, 7.3PSD

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RugerP345 View Post
With my AP 2.0 its has been able to PULL every code, but it can't IDENITFY all the codes, but it will give you the code number and you can look on line to see what it is.

However the AP 2.0 can't CLEAR any codes.
there are codes that cannot even be pulled.

and yes you can clear them by selecting "reset ecu"
t4nk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2007, 01:52 PM   #15
00Maddog
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 62410
Join Date: May 2004
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: land of awd
Vehicle:
2004 ra'd redrex in
8k w/ STI kit :) DASH

Default

you could always pull them with the cluster...you guys wouldn't believe what the STi cluster can do...
00Maddog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2007, 02:20 PM   #16
ponamy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 115511
Join Date: May 2006
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
Vehicle:
2005 wrx /w babyseat
2011 Forester 2.5x

Default

i know its not a smart thing to do, i was just throwing it out there. if you know what the code is for it can reset, thats all im saying.good luck finding a code reader.
ponamy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2007, 03:08 PM   #17
00Maddog
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 62410
Join Date: May 2004
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: land of awd
Vehicle:
2004 ra'd redrex in
8k w/ STI kit :) DASH

Default

jay wanna meet up at conti?
00Maddog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2007, 09:14 PM   #18
Jaylyons1
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 113884
Join Date: May 2006
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Baltimore, MD
Vehicle:
2013 BRZ
Black

Default

Sorry for the late response. No AP, the black STi has absolutely no mods. I have the UTEC in the blue one.


Quote:
Originally Posted by t4nk View Post
there are codes that cannot even be pulled.

and yes you can clear them by selecting "reset ecu"
Ive tried resetting it, comes right back.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 00Maddog View Post
jay wanna meet up at conti?
Sure, but I work today and not sure if you work tomorrow. Might have to meet up early next week.
Jaylyons1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 11:43 AM   #19
t4nk
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 129905
Join Date: Oct 2006
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Katy, TX & Anchorage, AK
Vehicle:
2005 WRB WRX
2003 F-350SD, 7.3PSD

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaylyons1 View Post
Sorry for the late response. No AP, the black STi has absolutely no mods. I have the UTEC in the blue one.




Ive tried resetting it, comes right back.



Sure, but I work today and not sure if you work tomorrow. Might have to meet up early next week.
and it comes back because there is a problem. as it would do with an apv1, the light would come back. Resetting is the same function as clearing the codes on a APv1, except it actually resets your ECU as well, reverts back to stock settings.
t4nk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 12:52 PM   #20
Firestrike
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 135785
Join Date: Dec 2006
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Anchorage, AK
Vehicle:
2006 Impreza WRX LTD
Cloaking Device Gray

Default

delete.
Firestrike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 12:58 PM   #21
t4nk
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 129905
Join Date: Oct 2006
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Katy, TX & Anchorage, AK
Vehicle:
2005 WRB WRX
2003 F-350SD, 7.3PSD

Default

yeah thats not what i was implying. i meant it goes back to the defaults of the current map, sorry i should have worded that different lol
t4nk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 11:21 PM   #22
Jaylyons1
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 113884
Join Date: May 2006
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Baltimore, MD
Vehicle:
2013 BRZ
Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by t4nk View Post
and it comes back because there is a problem.
obviously... which is why I want to get it checked out.
Jaylyons1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 11:40 PM   #23
ponamy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 115511
Join Date: May 2006
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
Vehicle:
2005 wrx /w babyseat
2011 Forester 2.5x

Default

were you able to pulle the code yet?
ponamy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 11:53 PM   #24
mvm42699
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 52428
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: 99519,96814,98310,07306,10461
Vehicle:
06 EvoIX.Evo8Sold!
黒,검정

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by t4nk View Post
If need be i could try to pull it w/ my laptop and tactrix..
Is that the same Tactrix used on Evos? Or Subaru specific?
mvm42699 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2007, 12:16 AM   #25
ridestreet84
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 132030
Join Date: Nov 2006
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: elmendorf afb ak
Vehicle:
2007 obp STI
95 impreza (rally beater)

Default

t4nk cable works on both evos and subarus
ridestreet84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MAC code reader wont read my code? subiboi624 Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 4 07-24-2009 07:17 PM
carchip datalogging/code reader/code clearer newbiescooby2.5rs Newbies & FAQs 2 04-17-2006 01:00 AM
HELP: where can I borrow a CEL code reader or get the code pulled for free? anonymous_wolf Vancouver Impreza Club Forum -- VIC 5 08-11-2005 01:40 AM
Equus OBD II Code Reader ???? andygold Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 11 02-17-2002 11:16 AM
('93-'01) OBD-II or a simply code reader? Deznuts05 Impreza Forum 12 10-30-2001 09:26 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.