Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Tuesday June 28, 2016
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Commercial ECU Reflashes

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-29-2007, 01:42 AM   #1
Badmunky
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 143391
Join Date: Mar 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Michigan
Vehicle:
2007 WRX TR
R.I.P Paul! :(

Question OK theoretical tuning question!

Ok so I just ordered the cable needed to tune my 07 WRX.

Now I know I need EcuFlash to pull and replace my Rom and Enginuity to edit that Rom.

Now here is what I was told that is the theoretical part.
Say I buy a Cobb AP V2 with stage 2 flash.
I install it on my car.
Then I copy that Rom with the above program.
I then remove the Cobb flash and unmarry the AP from the car.
Basicaly taking it back to stock.
Then I edit then reinstall that Cobb flash with the above program.


I was told this would work and was just wondering if that is true?

If not no big deal. Was just an idea some one told to me. And I was wondering if any one had done this. Of if it could even be done.
I don't have the cash to by the AP so I cant try it for my self.

Later.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Badmunky is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 07-29-2007, 01:58 AM   #2
Badmunky
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 143391
Join Date: Mar 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Michigan
Vehicle:
2007 WRX TR
R.I.P Paul! :(

Default

Never mind. It cant be done. The AP has something that blocks you from doing this.

later
Badmunky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2007, 02:56 AM   #3
Badmunky
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 143391
Join Date: Mar 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Michigan
Vehicle:
2007 WRX TR
R.I.P Paul! :(

Default

OK I just found info that ses it can be done as Cobb did not lock there map in the ECU.

I'm confused now.

Later.
Badmunky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2007, 07:36 AM   #4
quazimoto
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 70395
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Da-boonies,Va
Default

You could but by doing so it might not allow you to "unmarry" the Accessport.Plus there are Opensource maps out there for use.
quazimoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2007, 08:18 AM   #5
Badmunky
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 143391
Join Date: Mar 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Michigan
Vehicle:
2007 WRX TR
R.I.P Paul! :(

Default

Thanks^ Im new to opensource and am looking for a good starting point for a stage 2 tune.

Looking for a safe tune to start from and most people seam to like the cobb tune.

Later.
Badmunky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2007, 08:53 AM   #6
Tea cups
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103136
Join Date: Dec 2005
Default

If want to go with the Cobb tune, then keep the AP. Don't be a cheap bastard. Plus if Cobb updates their maps, you'll only be able to flash the new update only with an AP (although you can edit an AP map with the OpenEcu tools once it is flashed by the AP).

It is people like you that give open source tuning a bad name by pirating Cobb maps. There are plenty of free staged maps available for the OpenEcu tools that you are not stuck starting with a stock map if you decide to go that route.
Tea cups is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 12:38 AM   #7
REX8
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 24038
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Godspeed Cale...
Default

You can't do it with an AP2....but you can do it with and AP1, accessECU, etc.
REX8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 09:32 AM   #8
Tea cups
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103136
Join Date: Dec 2005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by REX8 View Post
You can't do it with an AP2....but you can do it with and AP1, accessECU, etc.
Actually, Cobb has said they decided to not lock out the ecu with the AP ver 2, although they were talking about allowing the option for the protuner to lock out a custom tune in the future. I know of at least several guys who own an ap2 and tune with Ecuflash/Enginuity.
Tea cups is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 04:48 AM   #9
LilJohn
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 142934
Join Date: Mar 2007
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: OC, California
Vehicle:
2004 STi, Evo Killa
World Rally Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tea cups View Post
Actually, Cobb has said they decided to not lock out the ecu with the AP ver 2, although they were talking about allowing the option for the protuner to lock out a custom tune in the future. I know of at least several guys who own an ap2 and tune with Ecuflash/Enginuity.
well it doesn't always work, on the V2 the changed some of there memory locations, to work with real time tunning. so some things work and some don't. also ecu flash won't be able to read real time maps as those are stored in the ram instead of ROM.
LilJohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 07:56 AM   #10
Badmunky
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 143391
Join Date: Mar 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Michigan
Vehicle:
2007 WRX TR
R.I.P Paul! :(

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tea cups View Post
If want to go with the Cobb tune, then keep the AP. Don't be a cheap bastard. Plus if Cobb updates their maps, you'll only be able to flash the new update only with an AP (although you can edit an AP map with the OpenEcu tools once it is flashed by the AP).

It is people like you that give open source tuning a bad name by pirating Cobb maps. There are plenty of free staged maps available for the OpenEcu tools that you are not stuck starting with a stock map if you decide to go that route.
Im not cheap! I said I dont have the cash for the AP right now.
And I was never acrualy going to do this I was told it can be done and was just wondering if it was true.
On top of that I think im going to go with a VF39 swap so the Cobb maps are not going to do me any good.

I do however refuse to be ripped off! If you have no problem paying 2 times the norm for a tuner then by all means buy it!
Cobb has a good product now if they would just sell it for a decent price more people would buy it.


Later.
Badmunky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 08:45 AM   #11
Tea cups
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103136
Join Date: Dec 2005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LilJohn View Post
well it doesn't always work, on the V2 the changed some of there memory locations, to work with real time tunning. so some things work and some don't. also ecu flash won't be able to read real time maps as those are stored in the ram instead of ROM.
While true that you won't be able to read the real-time map, you will have no problem reading the rom regardless of the code changes necessary for real-time tuning (one has nothing to do with the other). The only thing that could impact Ecuflash is if Cobb decided to modify the protocol involved in reading/flashing (a la Ecutek) to "lock" out the ecu which they have not done as yet as far as I know.

Last edited by Tea cups; 08-01-2007 at 08:54 AM.
Tea cups is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 08:53 AM   #12
Tea cups
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103136
Join Date: Dec 2005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Badmunky View Post
Im not cheap! I said I dont have the cash for the AP right now. And I was never acrualy going to do this I was told it can be done and was just wondering if it was true. On top of that I think im going to go with a VF39 swap so the Cobb maps are not going to do me any good.
If you can't afford $700, I wouldn't be going with a bigger turbo in the first place. Cobb does have an OTS VF39 map for an 06 wrx (not sure about an 07).

Quote:
I do however refuse to be ripped off! If you have no problem paying 2 times the norm for a tuner then by all means buy it! Cobb has a good product now if they would just sell it for a decent price more people would buy it.
What is the norm for tuning Subarus? Cobb isn't any more expensive than anything other commercial option. What you have remember is that the OpenEcu applications like Ecuflash and Enginuity are often built off the backs of people donating their time and experience, for free, for the benefit of the community. And discussing using these tools for pirating maps just give the whole community a bad name.
Tea cups is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 08:55 AM   #13
Zumble
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 34860
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY
Vehicle:
2005 Forester CGM

Default

+1,000

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tea cups View Post
If want to go with the Cobb tune, then keep the AP. Don't be a cheap bastard. Plus if Cobb updates their maps, you'll only be able to flash the new update only with an AP (although you can edit an AP map with the OpenEcu tools once it is flashed by the AP).

It is people like you that give open source tuning a bad name by pirating Cobb maps. There are plenty of free staged maps available for the OpenEcu tools that you are not stuck starting with a stock map if you decide to go that route.
Zumble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 06:29 PM   #14
Badmunky
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 143391
Join Date: Mar 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Michigan
Vehicle:
2007 WRX TR
R.I.P Paul! :(

Default

Well after talking with a few people it looks like I may be going with the AP after all and getting a protune from P&L in chicago.

Not 100% on this yet. I don't have the cash for AP right now because I just dropped all my cash on other mods and I have not sold my subs yet.

But I still have to get other parts to. And I was told this could be done. I just wanted to know if I was getting a line of BS. I was not going to steal cobs map. Just wanted to know it this worked.

Later
Badmunky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2007, 12:27 PM   #15
t4nk
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 129905
Join Date: Oct 2006
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Katy, TX & Anchorage, AK
Vehicle:
2005 WRB WRX
2003 F-350SD, 7.3PSD

Default

Okay maybe you werent gonna try it, but from the text i have in bold and red below, seems like you would have if you had both of them already..

If you want to go opensource, IM me and ill help you get around the opensource forums and find good maps. My stage 2 map that I use makes a HUGE difference vs cobb ots maps..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Badmunky View Post
Ok so I just ordered the cable needed to tune my 07 WRX.

Now I know I need EcuFlash to pull and replace my Rom and Enginuity to edit that Rom.

Now here is what I was told that is the theoretical part.
Say I buy a Cobb AP V2 with stage 2 flash.
I install it on my car.
Then I copy that Rom with the above program.
I then remove the Cobb flash and unmarry the AP from the car.
Basicaly taking it back to stock.
Then I edit then reinstall that Cobb flash with the above program.


I was told this would work and was just wondering if that is true?

If not no big deal. Was just an idea some one told to me. And I was wondering if any one had done this. Of if it could even be done.
I don't have the cash to by the AP so I cant try it for my self.

Later.
t4nk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
theoretical power question!! warsong16 Proven Power Bragging 13 09-04-2009 04:55 PM
Theoretical cooling questions TarmacRally Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 16 08-29-2005 12:01 AM
Theoretical Handling Question TarmacRally Brakes, Steering & Suspension 21 06-02-2005 08:43 PM
OK, heres a question for you all you tuning techo's bugeyes Engine Management & Tuning 8 03-20-2005 10:10 AM
OK, if tuned perfectly, how much power can a Subaru EJ25 reliably make on pump gas? Eric SS Normally Aspirated with bolt-on Forced Induction Powertrain 11 12-19-2002 03:10 AM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2016 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2016, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.