Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday April 16, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
Mid Atlantic Impreza Club
Mid Atlantic Impreza Club Forum sponsored by Annapolis Subaru
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Chapters > Mid Atlantic Impreza Club -- MAIC

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-29-2007, 04:27 PM   #1
AcquaCow
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 36838
Join Date: May 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Reston VA
Vehicle:
2000 RS, 2001 RSTi,
and a 2011 WRX hatch...

Default This storm just took out my cable modem. Anyone have one I can borrow?

I'm moving in 2-3 weeks to a place that already has a cable modem, so I really don't want to buy one...

Mine is definitely toast. It's on an UPS with a surge strip hanging off of it, so the surge must have come in via the cable line.

The strike was so close that I actually heard 3 pops come out of one of my stereo systems about 1/2 second before I heard the thunder.


Crazy stuff.

Can anyone help me out?

Thanks,

-- Dave
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
AcquaCow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2007, 04:33 PM   #2
blubaru703
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 71380
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: International
Default

Sucks.
blubaru703 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2007, 04:58 PM   #3
Gmd
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 93238
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: NOVA: BALLSton
Vehicle:
2009 Corvette C6
White

Default

I might actually have a belkin one laying around at my old place I will have to check with my old roommates.
Gmd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2007, 07:34 PM   #4
Jard
In the silly seat
Moderator
 
Member#: 34935
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Vehicle:
SPB- 2013 Smugmobile
and DADCORE

Default

I think the magic white smoke finally came out of my computer speakers I've had since 1998.
Jard is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2007, 09:12 PM   #5
AcquaCow
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 36838
Join Date: May 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Reston VA
Vehicle:
2000 RS, 2001 RSTi,
and a 2011 WRX hatch...

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gmd View Post
I might actually have a belkin one laying around at my old place I will have to check with my old roommates.
pweeeeeeeseeeeee?!

Thanks!

-- Dave
AcquaCow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2007, 09:14 PM   #6
nhat
#Belieber
Moderator
 
Member#: 140163
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: 3MI Racing
Vehicle:
03 STi
hellaflunctional

Default

you can try out this motorola sb5120 i got laying around...swapped it out since the cable went out and it never picked up the signal again for some reason.
nhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 01:26 AM   #7
rogue
Hail Hydra
Super Moderator
 
Member#: 7977
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Sterling, VA
Vehicle:
100% Abuse

Default

I wondered why half my electronics were blinking.
rogue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 09:36 AM   #8
AcquaCow
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 36838
Join Date: May 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Reston VA
Vehicle:
2000 RS, 2001 RSTi,
and a 2011 WRX hatch...

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rogue View Post
I wondered why half my electronics were blinking.
Oh, that had nothing to do with the storm. I had unplugged everything in your house in an attempt to get folks on craigslist to pick it up, but the storm scared them all away.

I had to put everything back

-- Dave
AcquaCow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 11:44 AM   #9
Turbo NV
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12382
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Oakton, VA
Vehicle:
2013 Impreza WRX 5D
SWP

Default

I have one if you still need it Dave...let me know

Beau
Turbo NV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 12:56 PM   #10
AcquaCow
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 36838
Join Date: May 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Reston VA
Vehicle:
2000 RS, 2001 RSTi,
and a 2011 WRX hatch...

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Turbo NV View Post
I have one if you still need it Dave...let me know

Beau
Gmd's checking on one for me, if he can't find it, I'll let you know.

Thanks!

-- Dave
AcquaCow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 02:25 PM   #11
Turbo NV
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12382
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Oakton, VA
Vehicle:
2013 Impreza WRX 5D
SWP

Default

Well I am looking right at mine...so let me know
Turbo NV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 02:30 PM   #12
SirWilliam
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 64805
Join Date: Jun 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: The Wild Serengeti Suburbs
Vehicle:
2008 SG6 Model D
BlueRallyWorld

Default

Dave, I think I might have a linksys cable modem at home. Went to Verizon FIOS so I don't need it anymore. Yours for the taking.
SirWilliam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 02:34 PM   #13
Turbo NV
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12382
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Oakton, VA
Vehicle:
2013 Impreza WRX 5D
SWP

Default

Yeah i went to FIOS as well...sooooo much faster
Turbo NV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 03:16 PM   #14
AcquaCow
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 36838
Join Date: May 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Reston VA
Vehicle:
2000 RS, 2001 RSTi,
and a 2011 WRX hatch...

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirWilliam View Post
Dave, I think I might have a linksys cable modem at home. Went to Verizon FIOS so I don't need it anymore. Yours for the taking.
I am interested in your product and would like to subscribe to your newsletter!

-- Dave
AcquaCow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 03:35 PM   #15
nhat
#Belieber
Moderator
 
Member#: 140163
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: 3MI Racing
Vehicle:
03 STi
hellaflunctional

Default

YO! i offered my modem before they did! my modem not good enough for you??? ~
nhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 03:56 PM   #16
AcquaCow
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 36838
Join Date: May 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Reston VA
Vehicle:
2000 RS, 2001 RSTi,
and a 2011 WRX hatch...

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nhat View Post
YO! i offered my modem before they did! my modem not good enough for you??? ~
Whomever can get me back on the intarwebs fastest gets free beer.

-- Dave
AcquaCow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 04:47 PM   #17
Turbo NV
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12382
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Oakton, VA
Vehicle:
2013 Impreza WRX 5D
SWP

Default

I am in no rush to give it to you...if you need it, I have it but you would come and get it...otherwise it will sit in the drawer where its been for 6 months. If someone wants to deliver it to you for free beer, more power to them...not sure why you have everone fighting over helping you out and giving you something
Turbo NV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 05:08 PM   #18
AcquaCow
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 36838
Join Date: May 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Reston VA
Vehicle:
2000 RS, 2001 RSTi,
and a 2011 WRX hatch...

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Turbo NV View Post
...not sure why you have everone fighting over helping you out and giving you something
It's my manly charm.
AcquaCow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 05:11 PM   #19
SirWilliam
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 64805
Join Date: Jun 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: The Wild Serengeti Suburbs
Vehicle:
2008 SG6 Model D
BlueRallyWorld

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AcquaCow View Post
I am interested in your product and would like to subscribe to your newsletter!

-- Dave
Dave,

I will bring it with me tomorrow morning to work. We are still on to meet up to check out the ECU? PM me your cell #

-Will
SirWilliam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2007, 06:36 PM   #20
AcquaCow
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 36838
Join Date: May 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Reston VA
Vehicle:
2000 RS, 2001 RSTi,
and a 2011 WRX hatch...

Default

So at this point...I've had 5 separate calls into 1-800-COMCAST to get Gmd's cable modem activated...

Each time they ask for name/address/phone...make/model/mac/serial of cable modem, then tell me that they have an error in their system and they need to escalate and put in a ticket with their tier II folks...

They tell me that I'll be good to go within 12-24 hours. So I wait 12-24 and no dice, each time.

Yesterday I went ape on the poor canadian guy who answered. Got a ticket put in for "Manual provisioning" whatever the 'f that means.

I finally got the modem light to go solid today (after 24 hours). I updated my IP info, went to hit the net and was greeted with a lovely "Welcome to Comcast" internet page. This is the page where they have you download software to setup your computer.

The software is pretty clever, it even asked if this was a new modem on the account, so I said "yes" thinking all my troubles were over. Upon clicking "yes" it told me that I again, needed to call 1-800-COMCAST to have them add this cable modem to my account

So feeling hopeful since the modem finally stopped blinking and returned me some data, I called again, waited on hold, name/address/ssn...make/model/serial/mac, ERROR!!! have to put in a ticket to have tier II look at it again

God damnit. I'm never going to see internet at home again before I move

-- Dave
AcquaCow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2007, 08:38 PM   #21
metros
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 111343
Join Date: Mar 2006
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: NoVA
Default

I would call the local comcast office. That way you know you'll at least be talking to an actual human being that may be able to help you and not some computer/overseas person that could care less whether or not you have internet.

I just signed up with comcast and called the local number (someone I know gave me a specific name to ask for) and it was much easier to get everything set up. Plus I could haggle with the guy and get better deals.
metros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2007, 09:16 PM   #22
X-Factor
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 101720
Join Date: Nov 2005
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: OT Bitches!
Vehicle:
'10 Evo X SE #297
Octane Blue Pearl

Default



lol....
X-Factor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2007, 09:29 PM   #23
Paintballguy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 77810
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pasadena, MD
Vehicle:
2006 Evo IX SE
Tarmac Black

Default

I have a motorolla you can have... I'm not sure if it works though, I think its dead.
Paintballguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2007, 10:51 PM   #24
sproing76
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 149025
Join Date: May 2007
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: SF Bay Area
Vehicle:
2005 Corolla XRS

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AcquaCow View Post
The software is pretty clever, it even asked if this was a new modem on the account, so I said "yes" thinking all my troubles were over. Upon clicking "yes" it told me that I again, needed to call 1-800-COMCAST to have them add this cable modem to my account

-- Dave
Next time it asks that, hit NO. I assume it was going to try to add your new MAC in and since you hit "yes", it decided to "turn off" the current one and tell you to call in with a new one.

Stupid stupid STUPID system, if you ask me. If they're going to ask something like that, they need to be able to add the new MAC on the website/software.
sproing76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2007, 06:10 AM   #25
SirWilliam
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 64805
Join Date: Jun 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: The Wild Serengeti Suburbs
Vehicle:
2008 SG6 Model D
BlueRallyWorld

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AcquaCow View Post
So at this point...I've had 5 separate calls into 1-800-COMCAST to get Gmd's cable modem activated...

Each time they ask for name/address/phone...make/model/mac/serial of cable modem, then tell me that they have an error in their system and they need to escalate and put in a ticket with their tier II folks...

They tell me that I'll be good to go within 12-24 hours. So I wait 12-24 and no dice, each time.

Yesterday I went ape on the poor canadian guy who answered. Got a ticket put in for "Manual provisioning" whatever the 'f that means.

I finally got the modem light to go solid today (after 24 hours). I updated my IP info, went to hit the net and was greeted with a lovely "Welcome to Comcast" internet page. This is the page where they have you download software to setup your computer.

The software is pretty clever, it even asked if this was a new modem on the account, so I said "yes" thinking all my troubles were over. Upon clicking "yes" it told me that I again, needed to call 1-800-COMCAST to have them add this cable modem to my account

So feeling hopeful since the modem finally stopped blinking and returned me some data, I called again, waited on hold, name/address/ssn...make/model/serial/mac, ERROR!!! have to put in a ticket to have tier II look at it again

God damnit. I'm never going to see internet at home again before I move

-- Dave
Dave, I am sorry, man. I got completely distracted. I am bringing the following cable modem and McGuard locking lugs w/ me to work today if you still want them:

SirWilliam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
'04+ rear top hat - anyone have one I can borrow? mykrrrr Mid West Subaru Owners Club Forum -- MWSOC 9 02-19-2009 07:19 PM
I just took out my snorkel and silencer... tcr04 General Community 25 12-24-2005 10:21 AM
Anyone have guns i can borrow? chri3 Off-Topic 22 10-27-2004 10:14 PM
Anyone have wheels I can borrow/buy? stirex Mid West Subaru Owners Club Forum -- MWSOC 2 07-16-2004 12:36 PM
OT How can I serve off my cable modem? Fusion General Forum Archive 10 08-06-2000 05:56 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.