Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday July 12, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > AccessPort

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-18-2008, 12:12 AM   #51
vtec4life
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 174344
Join Date: Mar 2008
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by subz View Post
v1 all the way ... save 300 $ and that can be used for a pro tune .. much better than any accessport tune .. and BTW those live data stats on the accessport are terribly unaccurate .. my friend with a stock 04 wrx got 13.6 on 1/4 mile ... ha

I totally agree with you, why shell out $300-$350+ when you can buy a v1 for cheap then spend the rest torwards other goodies or a protune, most people just flash a stg II map on their cars and unplug it and leave it at home cause maybe then don't want it hanging in their car possibly thef? But just save the extra money you would of spent on the v2 and use it for a protune.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
vtec4life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2008, 05:19 PM   #52
AllAWD
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 17079
Join Date: Apr 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Alexandria, VA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vtec4life View Post
I totally agree with you, why shell out $300-$350+ when you can buy a v1 for cheap then spend the rest torwards other goodies or a protune, most people just flash a stg II map on their cars and unplug it and leave it at home cause maybe then don't want it hanging in their car possibly thef? But just save the extra money you would of spent on the v2 and use it for a protune.
I find it hard enough to read the live boost on the v1 while driving. Having all those other readings are next to worthless and will cause you to crash. Get a serial to USB convertor, use the Cobb connector and you can datalog on a laptop with opensource(free) software.

V2 would take up less space in my closet...that's about it.
AllAWD is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2008, 05:34 PM   #53
efaroh
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 166947
Join Date: Dec 2007
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: OC
Vehicle:
2006 WRX Sedan
Crystal Gray Metallic

Default

apv2 --- $695
apv1 --- $250 used
save --- $445

as a daily driver, i never launch my car or race on the streetz. all i need the ap was for switching maps for a turbo back exhaust. Flashed once to stage 1 before dp. Flashed second time after dp. never took it out of box again. So i really couldnt justify spending soo much money nor could i afford it. Plus, what would you do with $445 hmm?
efaroh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2008, 11:56 PM   #54
vtec4life
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 174344
Join Date: Mar 2008
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AllAWD View Post
I find it hard enough to read the live boost on the v1 while driving. Having all those other readings are next to worthless and will cause you to crash. Get a serial to USB convertor, use the Cobb connector and you can datalog on a laptop with opensource(free) software.

V2 would take up less space in my closet...that's about it.

Agreed. and to the guy after that post, don't spend the money if you can find it cheaper, most just flash the stg II map and leave it under their beds like me lol
vtec4life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2008, 10:16 PM   #55
Imprezha
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 6818
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Fort Myers
Vehicle:
2004 STI WRB
2010 Gen Coupe, 2002 NSX

Default

This debate seems to be pretty much over with the release of the free Access Tuner Race. Also, the V2's digital display is easy to read with the recent firmware update.

Great Job Cobb!
Imprezha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 03:39 PM   #56
STi_Scott
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 191941
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Minnesota
Vehicle:
2007 STI
SWP

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by parker/slc/gc8fan View Post
Those definetly arent the only diffirences.

The AP 1.0 can hold 6 re-flash maps, and ten realtime maps, the 2.0, twenty total (no need for RT designation)

The 1.0 can read only boost, the 2.0 can read boost, IAT, A/F, Timing, Dynamic advance, injector pulse width, MAF grams of air per second, voltage, speed, RPM, and the list will grow. ( may have forgotten others too)

The AccessPORT 1.0 will read cel codes only (somtimes), where as the 2.0 will now tell you what the code means.

The AccessPORT 2.0 has a 0-60 and Qmile time estimator, the 1.0 can't handle that kind of code.

The AccessPORT 1.0 has a map size limitation, only so much info can be placed in a flash without maxxing out the memory size, then a secondary Realtime map has to be used, or else. This limitation does not exist on the 2.0.

The AccessPORT 2.0 is updateable in the field, the AP 1.0 would have to be sent in if you need one(shipping isn't free).

Launch control and full throttle shifting is available on all the 2.5 liter drive by wire cars (taking half a second off of Q mile times in reported cases), unfortunately the 06 LGT is off of that list due to the lack of a test vehicle. The 2.0 liter cars will also get launch control. Watch out trani's

The AccessPORT 2.0 is not vulnerable to being overpowered and burnt out by the incorrect power adapter because of USB capabilities. ( hope the guy you buy it from sends the right one)

The AccessPORT 2.0 is the subject of current and future development. The Accessport 1.0 is discontinued.

The AccessPORT 2.0 downloads the actual stock map/data from the ECU for replacement if you un-install. The 1.0 has a generic (old if not on current firmware) stock map that is loaded when un-installed.

The AccessPORT 2.0's Have a much larger compatability window. Currently you can buy the same AccessPORT 2.0 for a 2.0 liter WRX. You also have the same part number for the 04-07 STI , 05-06 LGT/OBXT, 04-06 FXT, and the 06-07 WRX's. There is also currently one part number for all the New "CANBUS" ECU's. This covers the 07_08 LGT/OBXT, The 07/08 FXT, And the 08 WRX/WRX STi. This last part number was added because a hardware change requires a seperate Accessport (and part number). I imagine the AP-SUB-003 will be able to support many cars to come.

The Accessport 1.0's work with only one style of ECU programming (and car) and would be harder to re-sell properly. I hear alot of people that are selling 1.0's that work with the 02-05 WRX, thats not the case, would you like to be the victim of someone selling the incorrect AP? Hoping it's realy un-installed after you pay? Is the price savings worth the trouble if the seller dissapears after selling you one that is installed, incompatable or stolen?

The hardware diffirences alone make the 2.0 a much more effective and easy to use product. The software capabilities put it over the top for me. That and the future developments that are being made make the AP a much more capable tuning tool, Realtime gas milage readouts, and Anti-lag show the commitment and possabilities the new hardware creates, and the Remote updating makes this easily possible.

If you've used both it's an easy answer. To repeat, Launch control isn't the only diffirence. Sorry for the long post, I just get aggitated when people post in-complete info, with improper context. Then I have to try and clear it up, usually.

I do miss-step myself so it's no big deal, but It would be a shame to go on without sharing the what I know.

EDIT, I forgot a couple, maybe I'll add more as I remember. It wouldn't be a second gen part if it werent alot better.

P.S. Someone tell the next twenty threads to search for this one please...
Great info, and much appreciated! I would say Cobb owes you for this cuz I think you've convinced a lot of people to buy a V2 lol
STi_Scott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 07:52 PM   #57
20SilverSti05
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 188916
Join Date: Sep 2008
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Medford NY
Vehicle:
2005 WRX STI
Silver

Default

All i was planning to do to my STI was installing a catless downpipe...which i hear is a stage 2 map....now the Horsepower/Torque readings from v1 and v2 are identical and i do not plan on changing turbos or anything crazy...so i think v1 sounds like a deal. for ppl looking to really upgrade there cars..meaning new turbo engine internals....then i guess v2 is better but for my purposes i think this is all i need.

anything i am missing?
20SilverSti05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 08:26 PM   #58
kjef
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 159732
Join Date: Sep 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Ri
Vehicle:
2006 Sti
Sgm

Default

I can't wait till I order or buy a V2 off of a member.
kjef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 12:20 PM   #59
dmitriygolos
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 191111
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: vancouver
Vehicle:
2005 evo VIII
Silverrrr

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by efaroh View Post
apv2 --- $695
apv1 --- $250 used
save --- $445

as a daily driver, i never launch my car or race on the streetz. all i need the ap was for switching maps for a turbo back exhaust. Flashed once to stage 1 before dp. Flashed second time after dp. never took it out of box again. So i really couldnt justify spending soo much money nor could i afford it. Plus, what would you do with $445 hmm?
i'm sure you launch it at least a little or step on it everyonce in a while. after all, why would you buy a turbo car and put an aftermarket part on it
and why do you compare the prive of the new v2 to a used v1? i got a v2 used for 460
so used v2 is 460
used v1 is 250
save 210
but if you ever need to buy boost gauges or want launch control or flat foot, its going to cost alot more
dmitriygolos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 10:59 AM   #60
andrew3776
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 172133
Join Date: Feb 2008
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Holyoke Mass
Vehicle:
2003 vfdirty wrx
rotten banana

Default

I took the advice here and got a v1 this time around. With my last subie I flashed the things 2x and kept it in the box. 700$ paper weight if you ask me. Nice debate guys.
andrew3776 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 01:51 PM   #61
seekndestroy19
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 209358
Join Date: Apr 2009
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: CNJ
Vehicle:
06 Sti
WRB

Default

+3 on the sticky. I already purchased my APV2 off a member here but his description of the differences made me happy i got the v2.
seekndestroy19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 09:50 PM   #62
scarter05
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 242244
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: stafford Connecticut
Vehicle:
05 WRX
White

Default

I got a 05 wrx and has full turbo back exhaust, intake, front mount all piping wat one would be better v1 or v2
scarter05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 09:56 PM   #63
katsimbris
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 132952
Join Date: Nov 2006
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Delaware
Vehicle:
2005 Impreza WRX STi
Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scarter05 View Post
I got a 05 wrx and has full turbo back exhaust, intake, front mount all piping wat one would be better v1 or v2
At this point, Cobb has stopped its support of version 1 Accessports. I really think version 2 is the way to go. If you have any problems with version 2, at least cobb would still help you customer support wise.

-Mike K.
katsimbris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 12:35 PM   #64
maxpower_454
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 88963
Join Date: Jun 2005
Vehicle:
2005 WRX
OBP

Default

Why not just buy a v1 for $250 or less and then trade it in to cobb if you really think you need a v2? I used my v1 twice. Stage 1 and stage 2. Hasn't moved from my closet since. more bells and whistles on the v2 but not work the extra coin IMO.
maxpower_454 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 08:14 PM   #65
Screwbal
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 196946
Join Date: Dec 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Kent, WA
Vehicle:
2007 Wrx limited WRB
07 FXT WRB,'14 limitedBRZ

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maxpower_454 View Post
Why not just buy a v1 for $250 or less and then trade it in to cobb if you really think you need a v2? I used my v1 twice. Stage 1 and stage 2. Hasn't moved from my closet since. more bells and whistles on the v2 but not work the extra coin IMO.
I thought they quit that offering a few months ago
Screwbal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2010, 02:36 AM   #66
DWUsSubaru
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 220644
Join Date: Aug 2009
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Bellevue, WA
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Wagon
WRB

Default

if they didnt quit that offer.. i want in!! do you know how much they charge ontop of the trade it??
DWUsSubaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2010, 04:48 AM   #67
tedward88
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 235474
Join Date: Jan 2010
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Bay Area, CA
Vehicle:
2008 Legacy GT
DGM

Default

so according to the previous posts, if im planning to just sit at stage2 and never upgrade my turbo or anything to upper stages, it would be smarter to just buy a used v1 since its like half the price of v2?
tedward88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2010, 07:41 AM   #68
katsimbris
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 132952
Join Date: Nov 2006
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Delaware
Vehicle:
2005 Impreza WRX STi
Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tedward88 View Post
so according to the previous posts, if im planning to just sit at stage2 and never upgrade my turbo or anything to upper stages, it would be smarter to just buy a used v1 since its like half the price of v2?
Even version 1 would still be fine with modifications down the road. The real issue is that if anything were to happen to your version 1 Accessport, Cobb would not cover it at all, or attempt to fix it. They would only tell you to get a version 2.

That said, maybe I haven't been around long enough, but I haven't heard many version 1 Accessport horror stories.

-Mike K.
katsimbris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 12:19 AM   #69
alexinvancouver
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 251482
Join Date: Jul 2010
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Surrey, BC
Vehicle:
2000 2.5RS silver
2011 Lexus, 1990 all-trac

Default

newbie question -
as i understand after the battery disconnected ECU is reset
and will revert back to the base map?
so u got to re flash it again?
alexinvancouver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 07:25 AM   #70
katsimbris
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 132952
Join Date: Nov 2006
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Delaware
Vehicle:
2005 Impreza WRX STi
Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexinvancouver View Post
newbie question -
as i understand after the battery disconnected ECU is reset
and will revert back to the base map?
so u got to re flash it again?
Yeah, I think you got it. Just so you're sure we're on the same page, that base map is usually whatever map you flashed when you first installed the Accessport, or rather, the map that you flash when the green test connectors are together, and that takes a few minutes.

-Mike K.
katsimbris is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cobb V1 vs. V2...Can V1 Read Error Codes? Pikey AccessPort 2 02-25-2010 11:48 AM
Cobb Accessport V1 vs V2... solidace46 AccessPort 6 08-07-2009 04:21 AM
Accessport v1 vs v2 wrx822 AccessPort 5 06-25-2008 04:11 PM
02-05 WRX AP Click Here for the 2002-05 WRX AccessPORT User Guide!? V1 VS V2 tgrasshopper AccessPort 2 02-01-2008 01:50 PM
Accessport V1 vs. V2 C J AccessPort 3 03-03-2007 04:22 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.