Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday September 20, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Commercial ECU Reflashes

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-08-2007, 03:13 AM   #1
arco
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 57156
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: socal
Vehicle:
2007 V.8 207 STi
Mercedes Polar White

Default wideband help

i was wondering what is needed to have a wideband set up tuned with opensource. is the controller and gauge necessary? i don't understand exactly the whole wideband set up but the tuning is much more exact than compared to the stock 02 where it will set my car up in the neighbohood or its full potential. i think i fouled out my 02 sensor as well which is another reason why i ask this.
thanks
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
arco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2007, 12:03 AM   #2
arco
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 57156
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: socal
Vehicle:
2007 V.8 207 STi
Mercedes Polar White

Default

bump for answers
arco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 06:13 PM   #3
mogrl840
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 85298
Join Date: Apr 2005
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Earth
Vehicle:
Keep talkin **** you
are makin me famous

Default

you can read the wide band on the laptop. You should always use a wideband o2 when tuning.
mogrl840 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 07:34 PM   #4
arco
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 57156
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: socal
Vehicle:
2007 V.8 207 STi
Mercedes Polar White

Default

i understand that but i was wondering if a controller was needed or what not.
arco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2007, 04:26 AM   #5
Spec C Wannabe
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 69170
Join Date: Aug 2004
Default

wideband controller is needed when you want to convert signals from wideband to something readable in the laptop or other tuning program. Basically most of the wideband O2 set that are currently available in the market have WB controller included in the package.

What you really need is the datalogging program that can "integrate" WB reading into the logged data. Doing so help tuning fuel precisely down to Load/RPM point you want to address.

If you dont have the integration, you have to self-match WB reading with Load and RPM at any instance during log. This is not easy as these parameter change quickly when you do the full throttle logging.

Below is a list of paring between Dataloging/Tuning program and WB brand
EcuEdit can be integrated with Innovate LC-1, LM1, TechEdge and PLX Devices
Enginuity with LC-1
Cobb Tuning with LC-1 and LM-1 and may be some other brands
Ecutek with LC-1 and LM-1
Spec C Wannabe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2007, 08:32 AM   #6
blkscooby
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 44422
Join Date: Sep 2003
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Vehicle:
2009 G8 GT
Cammed, sprayed, stalled

Default

I use the LC-1 and Enginuity to tune customers cars. I made the LC-1 portable. You can also add a simple display instead of the more expensive gauges if you also want a quick visual display on the dash of the AFR.
blkscooby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2007, 03:07 PM   #7
rpbaetens
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 157763
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Clinton Twp, MI
Vehicle:
2005 STi
Silver

Default

I have the LC-1 and Enginuity beta setup on my laptop. Works great. I even used one of the two programmable outputs on the LC-1 to drive a Autometer narrowband gauge just for my monitoring purposes. Saved a little money that route.

LC-1 $200
Autometer AFT $50
---
$250 total vs getting the Autometer wideband for $350 with no logging.
rpbaetens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2007, 04:47 PM   #8
WReXd
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 114101
Join Date: May 2006
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Buena Park, CA
Vehicle:
93 Impreza L Swap

Default

i have heard many good things about the LC-1. thanks for the input. how is the Autometer AF gauge with the wideband? does it work well because i have one lying around somewhere. i know it won't be accurate for tuning's sake but to view for monitory purposes as you mentioned. It is the autometer phantom gauge btw. i heard it was crap though.
WReXd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2007, 11:16 PM   #9
Master2192
RIP 10/12/83 to 02/10/08
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 83254
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Roy, Washington
Vehicle:
98 2.5 RS
04 WRX

Default

^^^You'd have to program one of the outputs to narrow band for the Autometer AF to work anywhere close to accurate.
Master2192 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2007, 02:21 AM   #10
arco
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 57156
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: socal
Vehicle:
2007 V.8 207 STi
Mercedes Polar White

Default

^^^really? why is that so? i don't understand why that would be more accurate?
arco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2007, 11:21 AM   #11
Not-EWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 158043
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: SLC
Vehicle:
2013 Wrx Hatch
SWP

Default

I'm working on my Wideband set up right know. I a'm quite fimilar with enginuity for data loging but how do you log the wideband at the same time as the enginity log.
Not-EWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2007, 02:41 PM   #12
Master2192
RIP 10/12/83 to 02/10/08
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 83254
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Roy, Washington
Vehicle:
98 2.5 RS
04 WRX

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by arco
^^^really? why is that so? i don't understand why that would be more accurate?
Which gauge is it? The regular AF gauge with nothing but the LEDs swinging back and forth? Or is it the Wideband version? From your mention of being "not usable for tuning" I'd guess it is the narrowband version, if you use the LC-1 you'll need to setup one of the outputs for narrowband. Wideband reads from 0-5v while narrowband is only 0-1v, so on default settings it'll just be pegged lean unless you program it.
Master2192 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2007, 12:41 PM   #13
Robertob
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 147254
Join Date: Apr 2007
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Los Angeles - Atwater Village
Vehicle:
2005 9-2x
Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Not-EWRX View Post
I'm working on my Wideband set up right know. I a'm quite fimilar with enginuity for data loging but how do you log the wideband at the same time as the enginity log.

If you have an Innovate wideband, there is an enginuity test release that allows you to log the wb at the same time as the rest of the data. The Innovate software also works with the Tactrix cable for DL stuff.
Robertob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2007, 01:45 PM   #14
Not-EWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 158043
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: SLC
Vehicle:
2013 Wrx Hatch
SWP

Default

Were do you get the test release do you just download the lattest revision?
Not-EWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2007, 01:53 PM   #15
Freon
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 88322
Join Date: Jun 2005
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Vehicle:
2009 BMW 135i

Default

There is a thread with "LC-1" in the title on Enguinity forums. I think in the Development forum.
Freon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2007, 05:59 PM   #16
Casey
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 82371
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Princeton, MA
Vehicle:
2002 IMPREZA
22 psi @ 2600rpm

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blkscooby View Post
I use the LC-1 and Enginuity to tune customers cars. I made the LC-1 portable.
Did you buy the tailpipe clamp that innovate sells or make your own. I've been thinking about putting one together versus spending $75 bucks on one.
Casey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2007, 07:11 PM   #17
Master2192
RIP 10/12/83 to 02/10/08
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 83254
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Roy, Washington
Vehicle:
98 2.5 RS
04 WRX

Default

You should install the wideband in the downpipe when tuning as the resolution will be better and reaction much faster. On all my customer cars I'll remove and zip tie the rear O2 sensor out of the way and install my wideband in there (only works if the car is CATLESS). If they have a catalytic converter they need to have a bung installed before the cat after the turbo.
Master2192 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2007, 08:16 PM   #18
Freon
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 88322
Join Date: Jun 2005
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Vehicle:
2009 BMW 135i

Default

You can't just leave the rear O2 ziptied out on a 2.5L turbo car...
Freon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2007, 11:27 AM   #19
arco
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 57156
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: socal
Vehicle:
2007 V.8 207 STi
Mercedes Polar White

Default

what do you think about these two gauges? if these don't seem adequate, what is?

http://www.dynotunenitrous.com/store...?idproduct=171

http://www.moates.net/product_info.p...roducts_id=134
arco is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wideband. Help!!!!! breezeby Open Source Reflashes 21 01-07-2013 09:33 AM
Anyone need help with an install? RubbleDTD Mid Atlantic Impreza Club -- MAIC 0 06-03-2010 05:23 AM
Roaring noise? previous crash damage, need help gotboost954 Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline 7 12-24-2009 11:33 PM
wideband help mysticowboy Other Engine Management 1 07-22-2006 03:29 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.