Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday July 23, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Electrical & Lighting

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-12-2007, 08:30 AM   #1
greysave
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 62395
Join Date: May 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NJ
Vehicle:
2005 STI
Black

Default Defi illumination problem

I followed D Tech's instructions and I am having a simple problem with the gauges. When I turn the car on the illuminate for the initial sweep then stay dark. When I turn the headlights on they also illuminate. How do I get them to illuminate when the lights are off?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
greysave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2007, 04:53 PM   #2
armyssoldierboy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 109424
Join Date: Mar 2006
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Deridder, LA
Vehicle:
06 AW STI
TS HTA 3076r 436hp/426tq

Default

+1 I have the same problem. I want my defi's to dim with the cluster. Someone once told me to hook up the illumin. wire to the power wire of the hazard switch cuz it dims with the dimmer swith. They told me that basically the reason why the hvac and the hazard switch dim is because the dimmer switch is lowering the ammount of power going to those areas... hence the dimming. Anyone heard of this method?
armyssoldierboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2007, 09:24 PM   #3
olympus
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 74637
Join Date: Nov 2004
Default

Which Defi gauges do you have? I assume the BFs. Check where the gauges are plugged into on the control unit. I believe the BFs should be plugged into output #2.
olympus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2007, 02:55 AM   #4
OKR S06
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 116105
Join Date: May 2006
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Dallas,TX
Vehicle:
2001 Civic/2006 WRX
Blue/Steel Grey Metallic

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by olympus View Post
Which Defi gauges do you have? I assume the BFs. Check where the gauges are plugged into on the control unit. I believe the BFs should be plugged into output #2.


That is correct. If you have it plugged into the wrong output it will not light up. One connection is for the Link series (i.e. WRX green) and the other is for the BF series (i.e. STi)
OKR S06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2007, 03:38 PM   #5
armyssoldierboy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 109424
Join Date: Mar 2006
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Deridder, LA
Vehicle:
06 AW STI
TS HTA 3076r 436hp/426tq

Default

ok, now since thats the case, what if i were to have 3 bf's in the center pod and another 2 to go in the a-pillar. i just ordered another wire to hook those up....wait, i might have just answered my own question due to the daisy chain. but still how would you recommend running the wire from the a-pillar to the center pod?? between the dash and the windshield?
armyssoldierboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2007, 11:02 AM   #6
greysave
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 62395
Join Date: May 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NJ
Vehicle:
2005 STI
Black

Default

Can you daisy chain the gauges together and plug just one into the control unit?
greysave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2007, 11:22 AM   #7
boostdog
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 149752
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Arkansas
Vehicle:
07 wrx tr
rr tuned stg2 12.8@105mph

Default

you can use the dimmer switch on the radio harness..i am not sure off the top of my head which color it is but that would dim with lights like you want.
boostdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2007, 08:27 PM   #8
SimonJ
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 135309
Join Date: Dec 2006
Default

Make sure they're in Output 2.

Daisy chain them all together and have 1 wire to the control unit
SimonJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
06 factory boost gauge illumination problem Psybin Interior & Exterior Modification 2 12-06-2006 08:51 AM
Dash/Climate Control/Radio display illumination problem!! TyR1 Electrical & Lighting 16 07-27-2006 12:32 PM
Defi Illumination Wire Tap (Control Unit) Trunk_Monkey Electrical & Lighting 2 02-21-2006 05:35 PM
Dash illumination problem bbrewer Service & Maintenance 0 01-30-2002 03:46 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.