Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Tuesday September 1, 2015
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Newbies & FAQs

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-26-2007, 10:34 PM   #1
WRXislander
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 50064
Join Date: Dec 2003
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Colorado @ 7000'+
Vehicle:
'02 WRX
MBP

OMGHi2U Do I really need an O2 socket for my uppipe?

When I installed my DP I borrowed a friend's socket. Tomorrow I plan to install my uppipe. My question is, can I just snip the wires on the sensor and remove the uppipe? Do I really need this sensor? On my new one do I just plug the hole with something (like the old sensor) and when the CEL comes on just delete it using my AP?

I was thinking that once I snipped the wires I could just put some channel locks on the sensor and just twist it off. Sure it will wreck the sensor but it can still function as a plug right?

Tell me if I'm way off base with this. I'm preparing for this install to potentially take all day so I'm planning on getting up early and driving the rex up on the ramps. I don't want to take an hour off to go and borrow that socket again if I don't need it.

What do you think?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
WRXislander is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 09-26-2007, 10:38 PM   #2
sharkmonkey
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 118566
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Seattle
Vehicle:
2005 WRX
OBP

Default

You don't want to just twist off the sensor if you're planning on using/selling the UP. The probe could fall out and get eaten by the turbo if you do. You should be able to get a bung plug from an exhaust shop or auto parts store.

You can get the sensor out while the UP is in the car with a box end wrench (22mm?), I did it that way with mine. It just takes a little time since you can't turn it very far.
sharkmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2007, 10:39 PM   #3
LUKEWMC
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 119872
Join Date: Jul 2006
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: North Jersey
Vehicle:
2004 STi
Silver

Default

Had that issue with my roomates 03 wrx...for the 11 dollars or whatever get the socket. the job was a nightmare with channel lock. Napa has them. I think you need an 02 sensor somewhere. Don't quote me on that but i think thats what he said. Don't know if any of that helped lol
LUKEWMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2007, 10:55 PM   #4
WRXislander
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 50064
Join Date: Dec 2003
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Colorado @ 7000'+
Vehicle:
'02 WRX
MBP

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LUKEWMC View Post
Had that issue with my roomates 03 wrx...for the 11 dollars or whatever get the socket. the job was a nightmare with channel lock. Napa has them. I think you need an 02 sensor somewhere. Don't quote me on that but i think thats what he said. Don't know if any of that helped lol
Is it the same size as the DP sensor socket? If so I can justify buying it as I can use it for both.

I have to remember that one day, a long time from now, I will likely return the car to stock and I'll need all of the parts in good working order, so I guess that's another reason not to smash the sensor up.
WRXislander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2007, 11:13 PM   #5
Weedy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12340
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Lincoln, NE
Vehicle:
2002 WRX 2.5L Hybrid
WRB

Default

I would strongly suggest that you save yourself some hassle here. When you do install the new uppipe I would just plug the hole properly, and do the resistor fix at the conector on the bracket near the boost control. If you don't, like someone here stated you run the risk of the probe breaking apart and ruining your turbo. Have fun, nd take your time on the install. It is really not as bad as some people believe.
Weedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2007, 11:13 PM   #6
Uncle Scotty
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16200
Join Date: Mar 2002
Vehicle:
OK buy Nates beans
westcoastroasting.com

Default

..... DO NOT CUT THE F00KING WIRES TO ANYTHING IN THE MANIFOLD AS IT IS 100% UNNECESSARY ! ! ! ! ! !! ! ! ! !! ! ! ! ! ! !!

DO cut a notch in the heatshield--snips work great.... on that side so you can get it off WITHOUT F00KING WITH THE O2 SENSOR AT ALL.

THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST 'TRICKS' OF DOING AN UP....LEAVE THE F00KING O2 SENSOR IN THE MANIFOLD AND CUT A NOTCH IN THE HEATSHIELD SO YA CAN GET IT OFF WHILE THE O2 IS LEFT 100% ALONE


The EGT sensor it the actual UP is garbage and cutting the wiring off THAT---bolt cutter FTMFW....is great so ya can just pop it out the back
Uncle Scotty is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2007, 11:23 PM   #7
thekidran
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 160296
Join Date: Sep 2007
Default

yea do not mess with that o2 sensor i made the same mistake
thekidran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2007, 11:24 PM   #8
quadtard
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 104206
Join Date: Jan 2006
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Springfield, TN
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
Tunnel Ram Gray

Default

The only reason to remove the O2 sensor is if you pull the manifold too. Just follow the procedure of jacking the motor up an inch or so, unplug the egt sensor, and take out the uppipe. If you absolutely have to have one, go to advanced auto and buy one that attaches to your ratchet. I paid like $8 for mine. If you feel like driving all the way out from Colorado to Tennessee, you can borrow mine. Hell, I'll even help you put it in.
quadtard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2007, 11:29 PM   #9
WRXislander
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 50064
Join Date: Dec 2003
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Colorado @ 7000'+
Vehicle:
'02 WRX
MBP

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uncle Scotty View Post
..... DO NOT CUT THE F00KING WIRES TO ANYTHING IN THE MANIFOLD AS IT IS 100% UNNECESSARY ! ! ! ! ! !! ! ! ! !! ! ! ! ! ! !!

DO cut a notch in the heatshield--snips work great.... on that side so you can get it off WITHOUT F00KING WITH THE O2 SENSOR AT ALL.

THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST 'TRICKS' OF DOING AN UP....LEAVE THE F00KING O2 SENSOR IN THE MANIFOLD AND CUT A NOTCH IN THE HEATSHIELD SO YA CAN GET IT OFF WHILE THE O2 IS LEFT 100% ALONE


The EGT sensor it the actual UP is garbage and cutting the wiring off THAT---bolt cutter FTMFW....is great so ya can just pop it out the back
Okay, I get some of the stuff you're saying, but it's a little hard to understand. I think you're telling me to cut the heat shield so I can remove the uppipe w/o removing the sensor. I agree, that's a good idea. But then what? Are you recommending that I remove the sensor at that point by using bolt cutters on the wire (FTMFW)?

If I plug the hole w/a bolt do I just let the wires wires dangle?
WRXislander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2007, 11:31 PM   #10
WRXislander
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 50064
Join Date: Dec 2003
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Colorado @ 7000'+
Vehicle:
'02 WRX
MBP

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by quadtard View Post
The only reason to remove the O2 sensor is if you pull the manifold too. Just follow the procedure of jacking the motor up an inch or so, unplug the egt sensor, and take out the uppipe. If you absolutely have to have one, go to advanced auto and buy one that attaches to your ratchet. I paid like $8 for mine. If you feel like driving all the way out from Colorado to Tennessee, you can borrow mine. Hell, I'll even help you put it in.
LOL--drive to TN ftw!
WRXislander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2007, 11:48 PM   #11
Uncle Scotty
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16200
Join Date: Mar 2002
Vehicle:
OK buy Nates beans
westcoastroasting.com

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WRXislander View Post
Okay, I get some of the stuff you're saying, but it's a little hard to understand. I think you're telling me to cut the heat shield so I can remove the uppipe w/o removing the sensor. I agree, that's a good idea. But then what? Are you recommending that I remove the sensor at that point by using bolt cutters on the wire (FTMFW)?

If I plug the hole w/a bolt do I just let the wires wires dangle?
....d000000000000000000d....pay someone to help ya out....or ya may end up with the Hindenburg thing goin on over there......
Uncle Scotty is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2007, 11:53 PM   #12
WRXislander
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 50064
Join Date: Dec 2003
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Colorado @ 7000'+
Vehicle:
'02 WRX
MBP

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uncle Scotty View Post
....d000000000000000000d....pay someone to help ya out....or ya may end up with the Hindenburg thing goin on over there......
No, I really do understand this process. I was just trying to make sense of that dude's capital letters.
WRXislander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2007, 11:53 PM   #13
Weedy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12340
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Lincoln, NE
Vehicle:
2002 WRX 2.5L Hybrid
WRB

Default

I apologize I may have added some confusion. You do NOT need to do anything with the O2 sensor. The only sensor you have to mess with really is the EGT probe in the uppipe. This probe is what I was referring to for the resistor fix.

I agree, it may not be a bad idea for you to see about some further assistance with your install.
Weedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2007, 12:00 AM   #14
WRXislander
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 50064
Join Date: Dec 2003
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Colorado @ 7000'+
Vehicle:
'02 WRX
MBP

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Weedy View Post
I apologize I may have added some confusion. You do NOT need to do anything with the O2 sensor. The only sensor you have to mess with really is the EGT probe in the uppipe. This probe is what I was referring to for the resistor fix.

I agree, it may not be a bad idea for you to see about some further assistance with your install.
No, my bad. I didn't know there were two sensors in there

Do you have to do the resistor fix with you have an AP to cancel codes?

Last edited by WRXislander; 09-27-2007 at 12:02 AM. Reason: more
WRXislander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2007, 12:20 AM   #15
jay25RS
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 4273
Join Date: Feb 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: CT
Vehicle:
2011 GR-STI
& 2015 Legacy Ltd.

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WRXislander View Post
Do you have to do the resistor fix with you have an AP to cancel codes?
No, the AP will cancel codes. It ignores the uppipe temperature sensor input.
jay25RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2007, 09:13 AM   #16
Uncle Scotty
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16200
Join Date: Mar 2002
Vehicle:
OK buy Nates beans
westcoastroasting.com

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WRXislander View Post
No, I really do understand this process. I was just trying to make sense of that dude's capital letters.
no ya don't....or ya woulda known that there is an EGT probe in the UP and the o2 is in the manifold


get help
Uncle Scotty is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2007, 09:51 AM   #17
quadtard
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 104206
Join Date: Jan 2006
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Springfield, TN
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
Tunnel Ram Gray

Default

I really suggest you come down to Tennessee. I'll even pay for the beer, since you had to drive. I've even got a few extra resistors layin around.
quadtard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2007, 10:05 AM   #18
J. Steinbeck
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 140575
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Hotlanta, GA
Vehicle:
2007 Magnum SRT-8

Default

It's been about a month since my last uppipe install, so my memory may be fuzzy.

As far as I recall, though, I've never taken that EGT sensor out of an uppipe when removing the pipe as a whole. I trace the wires to the sensor back to the plug near the passenger side fender well, and unhook them. I then undo the little plastic clip that hold the wire in place and keeps it from flopping around (it's about halfway down the length of the wire), and then then just pull out the sensor and the wires with the upipe. This is nice because I can just give the original uppipe back to the owner with the sensor and wires completely intact. (Should the owner ever need to, this makes a "return to stock" situation very easy.)

Hopefully what I've written makes sense, and hasn't added confusion.

Apologies if it has.

EDIT: I'm with Scotty on the oxygen sensor in the manifold... if you remove it, do not cut the wires. splurge on the socket.

Last edited by J. Steinbeck; 09-27-2007 at 10:15 AM.
J. Steinbeck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2007, 10:08 AM   #19
J. Steinbeck
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 140575
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Hotlanta, GA
Vehicle:
2007 Magnum SRT-8

Default

BTW, the first time I ever installed an uppipe I used the Vishnu instructions. They are thorough, and while there may be easier methods, Vishnu's works very well. I would take the time to read them carefully.

Last edited by J. Steinbeck; 09-27-2007 at 11:02 AM. Reason: Typo!!!!!!!
J. Steinbeck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2007, 10:44 AM   #20
WRXislander
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 50064
Join Date: Dec 2003
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Colorado @ 7000'+
Vehicle:
'02 WRX
MBP

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uncle Scotty View Post
no ya don't....or ya woulda known that there is an EGT probe in the UP and the o2 is in the manifold


get help
I thought the EGT was an O2.
WRXislander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2007, 11:00 AM   #21
shaw169
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 120088
Join Date: Jul 2006
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: SoMD
Vehicle:
2001 Z3
Silver

Default

Might have been mentioned somewhere...

Autozone/Adv. Auto Parts, usually carry an 02 socket set that you can just put down a deposit, take for a day-week and when you return them, they refund the deposit.

Rent them for free! Not a big hassle.
shaw169 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2007, 11:10 AM   #22
J. Steinbeck
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 140575
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Hotlanta, GA
Vehicle:
2007 Magnum SRT-8

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WRXislander View Post
I thought the EGT was an O2.
Nah, the two sensors serve two different purposes. The EGT sensor just monitors the exhaust temp, whereas the oxygen sensor measures the amount of oxygen in the exhaust, which the ECU compares to the air pulled in from outside of the engine. This information is used to adjust the air/fuel ratio accordingly. If the engine is running rich, almost all of the oxygen is the cylinder is consumed, leading to a low O2 reading. If the engine is running lean, there will be excess O2 in the exhaust.

At least, this is my understanding... sorry if this is off topic. Useful to know, anyway.
J. Steinbeck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2007, 11:16 AM   #23
quadtard
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 104206
Join Date: Jan 2006
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Springfield, TN
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
Tunnel Ram Gray

Default

Follow J. Steinbeck's advice. I've done four uppipe installs, and the first one I did everything wrong, I even borked my TGV sensor. Don't worry about unscrewing any sensors, just unplug the EGT(the one up close to the turbo, in the Uppipe), take out one of the engine mount bolts, and jack the engine up an inch or so, and take out the Uppipe. DON'T cut any wires!!
quadtard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2007, 11:34 AM   #24
WRXislander
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 50064
Join Date: Dec 2003
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Colorado @ 7000'+
Vehicle:
'02 WRX
MBP

Default

Thanks for all of the advice. Everyone goes about their installs differently. My style my whole life has been to just get in there and get my hands dirty. I've learned the most this way and it has helped my build a broader knowledge base than if I had just read a a manual or followed a sequence of directions. Sure I've made my share of mistakes, but in the end, I believe that the mistakes I've made have been "good ones", and I ended up learning a lot more because of them.

I'm going to try and get in there today and get this done. Just to add a little stick in my spokes here... the whole thing is going to have to be done with only one arm. I tore a ligament in my shoulder this summer and had surgery last week to repair the damage. I have to immobilize the whole arm for another 2 weeks. Who doesn't like a challenge! Sounds crazy but I'm still pretty confident. I actually completed a bunch of installs this way earlier in the summer. All with only one arm, I did: the DP, a short shifter, front and rear (the rear ones were a biatch) bushings, Y pipe, Silencer delete, lots of random interior and exterior lighting fixes, and an AP (ha, finally an easy one!) All that plus the regular oil changes, rotating tires, etc while just being a lefty (and no, I'm not naturally a lefty) This is my 3rd shoulder injury from whitewater kayaking in the last 9 years but the other 2 times it was my left shoulder so I could still do everything with my good arm.

Anyway, again, thanks for all the help everyone. I'll let you know how it turns out.
WRXislander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2007, 12:34 PM   #25
quadtard
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 104206
Join Date: Jan 2006
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Springfield, TN
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
Tunnel Ram Gray

Default

might I suggest having an extra person there to help you out? they don't even have to be all that knowledgeable. They just need to be able to pick up the phone and get you an ambulance, if need be. Be careful, this isn't anywhere near as easy as a downpipe. The first one I did took me and my buddy over four hours, but we had a lot of problems along the way. Just try and be careful!
quadtard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I NEED AN o2 SENSOR FOR MY DP!!!!! dblurx4 SWIC Private Classifieds 1 11-27-2007 08:38 AM
Do I really need an EGT and oil pressure gauge? hella_sti Interior & Exterior Modification 12 04-09-2007 10:18 PM
car just lowered, do i really need an alignment? BlowDro Brakes, Steering & Suspension 20 09-19-2006 09:21 PM
Do I really need an 8" wheel? scoobtothenoog Tire & Wheel 35 09-18-2005 01:59 AM
Changing springs... do i really need an impact wrench? leocookie Brakes, Steering & Suspension 3 09-16-2004 10:51 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2015 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2015, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.