Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday September 22, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Subaru Conversions

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-28-2007, 08:57 PM   #1
moss
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 10197
Join Date: Sep 2001
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Gtown, MD
Default Coolant temp gauge on cluster not working - JDM STi V7 Swap

Ok, let's see if anyone can figure this out.

On my V7 Swap, my coolant gauge on the cluster is not working at all, It doesn't read at all. However, when I plug into my OBDII and use Enginuity (think Delta Dash) to check coolant temps, it reads out on the computer just fine. So, it doesn't seem like its a bad sensor.

Also, I know the cluster is NOT bad. I swapped my cluster with another cluster and the same scenario came about, the coolant gauge didn't work. So, that rules out the cluster.

Where could the wiring issue be?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.

Last edited by moss; 09-29-2007 at 12:52 AM.
moss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2007, 10:17 AM   #2
sidewayz
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 5810
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Easton PA
Vehicle:
2001 S366 2.5RS

Default

check the wiring coming OUT of the ecu to the cluster. I believe its a green with white stripe
sidewayz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2007, 10:25 AM   #3
Jaxx
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 177
Join Date: Aug 1999
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Boise,Idaho,USA
Vehicle:
The 93 Imp W/EJ20K
flat black

Default

yes its a second sensor white-green wire
but depending on the car may come directly from the sensor
Jaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2007, 10:49 AM   #4
moss
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 10197
Join Date: Sep 2001
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Gtown, MD
Default

01 2.5RS with V7 swap....
moss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2007, 01:58 PM   #5
sidewayz
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 5810
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Easton PA
Vehicle:
2001 S366 2.5RS

Default

Moss, most likely when your swap was done, that wire coming out of the ecu was overlooked. Just trace it from the ecu and see if its going to the ecu
sidewayz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2007, 02:09 PM   #6
moss
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 10197
Join Date: Sep 2001
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Gtown, MD
Default

you mean trace from ECU to cluster or vice versa?

anyone got a wiring diagram handy? 01 RS? I have the V7 one.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaxx View Post
yes its a second sensor white-green wire
but depending on the car may come directly from the sensor
from the diagram, it looks like it comes directly from the sensor. One wire goes to the ECU(BY) and one to the cluster (WG)... so I guess that would be the reason why I can read temp from the OBDII port but not on the cluster... something is up with the WG wire?

Last edited by moss; 09-29-2007 at 02:28 PM.
moss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2007, 01:21 AM   #7
Deadchip
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 102788
Join Date: Dec 2005
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Tofino, BC
Vehicle:
2000 V7 RSTi Coupe
Silver

Default

I have a similar thing going on. The dash temperature is erratic, but my Ecutek delta dash (connected to the OBII) monitor reads out correctly. I read somewhere that there were different sensors for each system.
Deadchip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2007, 02:15 AM   #8
moss
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 10197
Join Date: Sep 2001
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Gtown, MD
Default

I had a loose pin on my main harness connectors inside the engine bay. Wasn't connecting to the other end...thus no signal. easy fix.
moss is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stock Coolant temp gauge in 04' STi cluster not working bugeyesubie Electrical & Lighting 3 05-19-2009 06:19 PM
Coolant temp gauge on the fritz?!?! Help nismo4life Normally Aspirated Powertrain 5 02-08-2008 03:08 AM
Temp gauge on cluster... is that oil or engine temp? gopsu Newbies & FAQs 1 10-02-2005 10:45 PM
JDM sti v7 swap times. Soon2Bgreat Proven Power Bragging 15 08-25-2003 03:44 PM
oem coolant temp gauge not working... czo79 Legacy Forum 0 08-01-2003 01:11 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.