Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday April 17, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Commercial ECU Reflashes

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-08-2007, 12:40 AM   #1
Geek Guy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 8151
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Rally Tools LLC
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Rally Car
NASA Rallysport, yo!

Default Problems reading EcuTek'd ECU (not lock issue)

Some background:

Friend has an older EcuTek'd ECU - I was able to pull his original tune via OpenECU about a year ago. He recently started to have a problem with pinging on the Open Loop/ Closed Loop transition point. We had a spare ECU around, so I took his original tune, modified it with Enginuity, and rewrote it to the spare ECU.

When I wrote the ECU, I immediately tried to read it back. It would not work, and the car wouldn't crank. I took out that ECU, and put in a unit from an 02 w/o any tune, and the car cranked. Put the modified ECU back in, and the car cranked up, no problems.

So, it appears that whenever the green connectors are hooked together, it will not allow the ECU to ever crank the car until the connectors are removed, and the battery is disconnected. Obviously, this makes it impossible to pull the map. I was eventually able to pull the tune to verify that it was written properly, but it's not reliable.

I was hoping to be able to get a road tune on this car, since I know it's pig-rich based on my standalone WBO2 readings...

Anyone ever had a problem where an ECU just really didn't want to be read? Any ideas? My understanding of the lock issue is that it will NEVER allow to be pulled with any tools other than the EcuTek programmer... I can (sometimes) read this ECU.

Thanks,

-Eric
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Geek Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2007, 09:41 AM   #2
Tea cups
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103136
Join Date: Dec 2005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geek Guy View Post
So, it appears that whenever the green connectors are hooked together, it will not allow the ECU to ever crank the car until the connectors are removed, and the battery is disconnected. Obviously, this makes it impossible to pull the map. I was eventually able to pull the tune to verify that it was written properly, but it's not reliable.
Why would you need to "crank" the car to the read the ecu? The engine should NEVER be running when you are reading or flashing. Ignition should be to on ONLY.
Tea cups is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2007, 10:02 AM   #3
Geek Guy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 8151
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Rally Tools LLC
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Rally Car
NASA Rallysport, yo!

Default

Well, let me be clear. I wasn't cranking the car while flashing.

I flashed the ECU, disconnected the green plugs, and then turned the key back to on to see if the fuel pump would prime. No noise. I then tried to crank the car to verify my suspicions and I was correct.

Disconnecting the ECU at this point, and reconnecting it allowed the fuel pump to prime and then start the car.

It seems, that after I wrote the modified EcuTek map on to this ECU, it cannot be read easily. It seems that, whenever I try to connect the plugs and read the ECU, it will prevent the car from starting ever again until the ecu is disconnected, or the battery is disconnected.

Strange, no?
Geek Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2007, 10:40 AM   #4
Tea cups
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103136
Join Date: Dec 2005
Default

Sounds like you had a bad flash. I would attempt to flash over the ecu that was giving you the problem with a stock map and see if that solves it.
Tea cups is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2007, 10:48 AM   #5
Tea cups
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103136
Join Date: Dec 2005
Default

Also, make sure the spare ecu is not an 04-05 WRX ecu (if you friend's car is an 02-03 WRX). This would cause issues if you were attempting to flash an 02/03 map onto an 04/05 ecu.
Tea cups is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2007, 11:44 AM   #6
Geek Guy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 8151
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Rally Tools LLC
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Rally Car
NASA Rallysport, yo!

Default

Regarding the ECU versions, here's what I've got:

04 ECU map running 05 EcuTek'd map (as from the tuner)
03 ECU map running the modified 05 EcuTek'd map (to fix the OL/CL timing dela problem)

Currently, the 03 ECU is in the car (which is an 04. Your head spinning yet? ) I know that the flash worked since I can drive the car, and boost targets and everything SEEM fine.

What I'm going to do tonight is take the 03 ECU out of his car, slap it in my vehicle, and see if I get anything that's more reliable as far as opening/closing the map. Another option is to put the original ecu back in his car and test on that unit and see if it's something flaky with the 05 map / 03 ECU issue.

Hell - I get confused typing about this!

Thanks for helping out... I'll keep this thread updating as I go along.
Geek Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2007, 12:10 PM   #7
Tea cups
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103136
Join Date: Dec 2005
Default

You can't flash an 04/05 map onto an 02/03 ECU using the 04/05 flash method (wrx04), which is what it would default to when flashing an 04/05 rom. Likely what happened is that it was never flashed. It wouldn't crank until ram was cleared by disconnecting the battery (ram is used in the flashing process). After the reset, it was running the original flash as nothing had changed. If the 03 ecu works in the 04 wrx without issue as it is, then I would copy the tune over from the 05 Ecutek'd rom to an 03 factory rom in Enginuity. There are some differences in table sizes and such, but if you know what you are doing it is not that difficult. Really you should be using an 04 ecu with an 04 rom in his car.
Tea cups is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2007, 12:11 PM   #8
brettm
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 35107
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Cary, IL
Vehicle:
2003 WRX WRB
2006 LGT Silver

Default

why are you swapping ecus? Is something wrong with the stock one? (04 ecu in the 04 wrx)
brettm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2007, 12:20 PM   #9
Geek Guy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 8151
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Rally Tools LLC
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Rally Car
NASA Rallysport, yo!

Default

The reason we went down this path (flashing the 03 ECU) is that 1) it was spare and 2) he needed to keep his car running for a few days while I got my stuff together. Now, the owner has gone out of town, and I've got his car.

I've got the original ECU (04 ECU w/ 05 EcuTek flash on it, direct from the tuner) and the 03 ECU. I guess I'll try to reflash the 03 ECU back and/or tweak the 04 ECU on the car.

Thanks fellas!
Geek Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2007, 04:12 PM   #10
brettm
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 35107
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Cary, IL
Vehicle:
2003 WRX WRB
2006 LGT Silver

Default

Just make sure that the rom pulled from the 04 ecu (the original ecutek flash) is saved to a safe place before making changes. Other than that I would just use the 04 ecu.
brettm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please HELP ! Problem reading/Flashing ECU on my 05 WRX ajdmenthusiast Open Source Reflashes 7 05-19-2009 06:36 PM
Problem reading ECU with ECUFLASH Subyroo2.5 Open Source Reflashes 3 02-10-2008 10:02 AM
WTT: ECUTek'd ECU for stock ECU + Cash MD@ SCIC Private Classifieds 0 06-28-2006 04:37 AM
WTT SoCal: Ecutek'd ECU for stock ECU + cash MD@ Private 'For Sale' Classifieds 0 06-28-2006 04:35 AM
04 STi Ecutek'd ECU $350 + your stock ecu Physics Junkie Private 'For Sale' Classifieds 4 03-07-2006 05:50 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.