Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday August 27, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Subaru Models > Legacy Forum

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-08-2007, 10:00 PM   #1
dlusion2000
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 118636
Join Date: Jun 2006
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Hernando County, FL
Vehicle:
2004 35th SE Sedan
Sea Mist Green

Default help installing amp

'04 Legacy sedan. trying to install audio system and trying to find an easy way to thread the power wire from the engine bay into the trunk. can't find anywhere to bring the wire through the firewall into the passenger cabin. and would like to take the lazy way out and just have someone tell me a good way to get the wires to the amp in the trunk from the passenger cabin(although i think i already know what i am gonna do for that one). any help would be appreciated, thanks
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
dlusion2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2007, 10:57 PM   #2
janikphoto
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 10471
Join Date: Sep 2001
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Dallas, TX
Vehicle:
2000 BMW Z3
sold Outback & ForesterXT

Default

Follow he big bundle of cables that goes through the wall and down the side of the car by the door sill. There's usually enough room to squeeze your power wire through the same path...
janikphoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2007, 05:27 PM   #3
weezor
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 126605
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada
Vehicle:
2000 Legacy GT BE
Black

Default

If it's an automatic there should be a rubber plug in the firewall where the clutch would go. Just pull back the carpet under the pedals and you should see it. When I did mine I the first time I ran the cables along the edge of the carpet all the way to the trunk. I didn't like it so I ended up pulling the seats/carpet/everything so that everything is nicely tucked away.
weezor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2007, 05:47 PM   #4
fibuz
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 53410
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Tucson, AZ / Port Angeles, WA
Vehicle:
BE-> GD->GR->SG->BL
WAawd.org

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by weezor View Post
If it's an automatic there should be a rubber plug in the firewall where the clutch would go. Just pull back the carpet under the pedals and you should see it. When I did mine I the first time I ran the cables along the edge of the carpet all the way to the trunk. I didn't like it so I ended up pulling the seats/carpet/everything so that everything is nicely tucked away.
yep, theres a hole right in front of the pedals.
fibuz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 12:55 AM   #5
janikphoto
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 10471
Join Date: Sep 2001
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Dallas, TX
Vehicle:
2000 BMW Z3
sold Outback & ForesterXT

Default

be careful about running it near the pedals. You don't want to crimp or pinch it...

I might be selling my car soon, and the only thing worse than running the wire is removing it (becuase you don't have a stereo to listen to after all your hard work). I dread having to pull out the seats and panels to remove all my stuff...
janikphoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 05:56 PM   #6
dlusion2000
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 118636
Join Date: Jun 2006
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Hernando County, FL
Vehicle:
2004 35th SE Sedan
Sea Mist Green

Default

it is a manual so no go on the plug. I have the wires running into the trunk now, just need to get through the firewall. I'm about to drill a hole and then caulk it up, but I would like to find a better way. I found where the wires go through from the engine bay end, only problem is there is a rubber gasket (no big deal) but then on the other end the damn ventilation system is in the way. I have the whole dash and everything taken apart and the ducts sit right in front if where the wires come through.
dlusion2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 06:17 PM   #7
GotTurbo
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 64186
Join Date: Jun 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Glendale, Queens NY
Vehicle:
1998 A MONSTER
SOON BMW STEEL GREY

Default

If I remeber correftly if you go to thr passenger side and pull back the carpet you will see your ecu. on the firwall above the ecu you should see a hole you can put ur cable through. I found it when put my batter in the trunk. i can take pics tonight and post them tommorow if you want.


-Matt


look at the pic on the bottm left where the beam goes into the firewall there is a whole u can barely see. thats the one I used for my wiring and my boost controler.

hope that helps
GotTurbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 08:29 PM   #8
dlusion2000
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 118636
Join Date: Jun 2006
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Hernando County, FL
Vehicle:
2004 35th SE Sedan
Sea Mist Green

Default

thank you, that helped a lot. I assume you meant the hole where the AC water drain hose comes through, because that is the one I used. everything is all hooked up and sweeeet.
dlusion2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 08:29 PM   #9
janikphoto
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 10471
Join Date: Sep 2001
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Dallas, TX
Vehicle:
2000 BMW Z3
sold Outback & ForesterXT

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dlusion2000 View Post
I have the wires running into the trunk now, just need to get through the firewall. I'm about to drill a hole and then caulk it up, but I would like to find a better way...
You should drill the hole and use a plastic or hard rubber grommet. Use a size just big enough for the wire and grommet. If you go the calk route, use a silicon caulk and not a latex one. Marine Goop is good.
janikphoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help installing amp and sub anyone? JustinM88 Texas Impreza Club Forum -- TXIC 17 10-21-2008 09:34 AM
n00b needing help installing amp/sub with stock HU jojotherider Car Audio, Video & Security 1 07-14-2006 03:02 AM
Help installing amp and sub wrx112 Car Audio, Video & Security 1 10-20-2003 11:52 PM
Installation Help... Sub/Amp and Tweeters joltdudeuc Car Audio, Video & Security 10 02-07-2002 01:43 AM
Installed amp, but I have a problem. Help! Cjchaps Car Audio, Video & Security 8 08-27-2001 04:22 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.