Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday July 25, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Miscellaneous > Off-Topic

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-10-2007, 06:23 PM   #1
Gerkins31
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 52337
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Orleans
OMGHi2U What does it mean when my download speed it fast and my upload speed is slow?

My browsing speed is painfully slow all of the sudden on my cable broadband. I wen to speedtest.net, and found out that my download speed is ~850k/sec, but my upload speed is ~85k/sec. What does this mean? Any ideas before I call the cable guy?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Gerkins31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 06:25 PM   #2
CSULBwagon
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 95428
Join Date: Sep 2005
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Long Beach, CA
Vehicle:
02 WRX wagon STG2
Dirty Silver

Default

they cap the upload.
CSULBwagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 06:26 PM   #3
Gerkins31
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 52337
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Orleans
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CSULBwagon View Post
they cap the upload.
So that's no indication of my problem then?

It certainly doesn't download anything at 800k/sec, I don't understand why it reads as that on speedtest.net
Gerkins31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 06:27 PM   #4
Fach
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 17133
Join Date: Apr 2002
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Default

stop uploading pr0n
Fach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 06:28 PM   #5
r0bman
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 87015
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Mos Eisley, TA 85202
Default

kilobits vs. kilobytes, my friend... little b vs. big B.

... you would do well to make the distinction.
r0bman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 06:30 PM   #6
Gerkins31
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 52337
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Orleans
Default

kilobytes.

Does it say anything that all three speed tests I've tried rated me at almost 1 meg/sec, but the actually download speed is much slower?
Gerkins31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 06:42 PM   #7
outferno
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 27469
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Undetermined
Vehicle:
00 AW 2.5RS Coupe
04 AW Impreza WRX STi

Default

Download speed is dependent upon the server you're downloading from as well.

No servers, aside from major sites like cnet, download.com, Microsoft, have given me my full 8 megabits (about 1 megabyte per second). Other websites, are around 100kilobytes to 400. Some other sites, I get 600-800.

It all depends on where you're downloading from. In addition, if you're constantly uploading at 85k, you won't be downloading or even moving on the internet, since you won't be able to communicate with any servers since your upload bandwidth is already used up.

Also, your download/upload ratio is very good. My guess is the server you're trying to access, there's a break somewhere within the route, or you're uploading constantly.
outferno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 06:52 PM   #8
Speedinticket
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 76596
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Chaplin, CT
Vehicle:
2008 Ford Escape Ltd
Red

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gerkins31 View Post
kilobytes.

Does it say anything that all three speed tests I've tried rated me at almost 1 meg/sec, but the actually download speed is much slower?
8 bits in a byte. If you're reading 85 kilobytes up , and your provider sold you 768 kilobits up. It's about right. 85 kilobytes = 680 kilobits. You'll most likely not reach the full 768, due to protocol overhead (IP addressing info and such) and and any number of other factors, including things running in the background on your PC that you might not even know about. Most providers will not roll a truck out for less than a 10% difference.

Also, actual download speed factors in the speed of the source of the file, traffic between you and it, and distance to the server. For instance; you may have 1 meg of bandwidth, but actual throughput to a distant or busy server may only be 500 kilobits or less.
Speedinticket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 07:16 PM   #9
markman
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 93623
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: sometimes I poop too much
Vehicle:
then I get tired

Default

it means the RIAA has found yore pRonz
markman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 07:18 PM   #10
Reflex-Arc
Lord of the Gif
 
Member#: 1703
Join Date: Jun 2000
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: I recommended the Sanchez.
Vehicle:
2012 Fiat 500 Sport
Copper

Default

You need drain-o. yore series of tubes are clogged.
Reflex-Arc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 07:34 PM   #11
Gerkins31
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 52337
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Orleans
Default

I'm not uploading anything, but my browse speed and download speeds are retardedly slow, no matter what page I'm accessing. So what does that leave me with?

I'm gonna try the draino thing though. Do I pour it into this little retractable cupholder thingy?
Gerkins31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 07:53 PM   #12
z
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 41762
Join Date: Aug 2003
Chapter/Region: International
Location: House of Pancakes
Vehicle:
04 STi
CT-DE-FL rinse+repeat

Default

could be just a crappy cable line going into your house if your download speed is slow. (slow upload is normal though)

Cable company can come hook a meter up to your cable line and check that. Do you have the cable split a bunch of times?
z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 08:11 PM   #13
Speedinticket
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 76596
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Chaplin, CT
Vehicle:
2008 Ford Escape Ltd
Red

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zavigm View Post
could be just a crappy cable line going into your house if your download speed is slow. (slow upload is normal though)

Cable company can come hook a meter up to your cable line and check that. Do you have the cable split a bunch of times?
Possibly. He can get readings himself by logging into the modem (assuming your provider/modem maker allows that) Most modem websites are at 192.168.100.1, but you can check the modem maker's webpage if that doesn't work. You're looking for signal levels and signal to noise ratio (snr). Downstream signal should be between -15 and +15, but ideally between -5 and +5. Upstream signal can vary by provider, but is usually between 35 and 50db. You can check www.dslreports.com to find what your local provider requires for signals. Also, you want to make sure your downstream SNR is above 25db.

Most speed issues are caused by the computer itself, or another computer sharing the Internet connection through a router. You should scan for virii, or any other kind of malware. Also, if you're running any kind of file sharing, turn it off. Those take up bandwidth like nobody's business. Also make sure you're running all the latest updates for any software that connects to the Internet.

Just a few ideas to keep ya busy for tonight.
Speedinticket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 08:16 PM   #14
Nasiocks
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 62023
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Croch-ester
Vehicle:
2013 ST

Default

Most residential service providers do this. People download more then they upload so they allocate more bandwidth to the download.
Nasiocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 08:47 PM   #15
jasonallenross
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 125978
Join Date: Sep 2006
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Shrewsbury, MA
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Wagon
Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nasiocks View Post
Most residential service providers do this. People download more then they upload so they allocate more bandwidth to the download.
I think it has a lot more to do to with ISP's wanting to charge more for people running servers, or preventing people from running servers at all.
jasonallenross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 08:58 PM   #16
Gerkins31
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 52337
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Orleans
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedinticket View Post
Possibly. He can get readings himself by logging into the modem (assuming your provider/modem maker allows that) Most modem websites are at 192.168.100.1, but you can check the modem maker's webpage if that doesn't work. You're looking for signal levels and signal to noise ratio (snr). Downstream signal should be between -15 and +15, but ideally between -5 and +5. Upstream signal can vary by provider, but is usually between 35 and 50db. You can check www.dslreports.com to find what your local provider requires for signals. Also, you want to make sure your downstream SNR is above 25db.

Most speed issues are caused by the computer itself, or another computer sharing the Internet connection through a router. You should scan for virii, or any other kind of malware. Also, if you're running any kind of file sharing, turn it off. Those take up bandwidth like nobody's business. Also make sure you're running all the latest updates for any software that connects to the Internet.

Just a few ideas to keep ya busy for tonight.
Here's the data from the site you mentioned. The downstream snr is fine, but I'm not sure about the rest of it. Anything strike you as weird?


Downstream Value
Frequency 735000000 Hz
Signal to Noise Ratio 35 dB
QAM QAM256
Network Access Control Object ON
Power Level 1 dBmV

Upstream Value
Channel ID 1
Frequency 34000000 Hz
Ranging Service ID 388
Symbol Rate 2.560 Msym/s
Power Level 38 dBmV

edit: now every time I refresh it the Downstream power level is 0 dBmV

no file sharing software is up...
Gerkins31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 09:04 PM   #17
Prevent
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 149114
Join Date: May 2007
Location: I'm too mainstream
Default

if its 85kb/sec than thats amazing, if its 85kbps tha nthat sucks balls. for cable you should atleast be seeing 364kbps or 44kb/sec
Prevent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 09:07 PM   #18
wagman01
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3894
Join Date: Jan 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Royal Oak, MI
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Wagon
Battlewagon Black

Default

You're not using anything wireless, are you?
wagman01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 09:18 PM   #19
Gerkins31
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 52337
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Orleans
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wagman01 View Post
You're not using anything wireless, are you?
Nope, and no router of any kind. And this is the only computer in the house. Two TVs have cable split to them, though.
Gerkins31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 09:23 PM   #20
outferno
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 27469
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Undetermined
Vehicle:
00 AW 2.5RS Coupe
04 AW Impreza WRX STi

Default

If you're experiencing terrible slow downs on every site but did not experience this before - you may need to restart your modem.

This happens from time to time, sometimes my router needs a restart, sometimes my modem needs a restart. If it's got a battery in it, go ahead and pull it out and kill the power to it. Then replug the battery and turn it on plugged in (I have to do this with my cable modem from time to time, don't know what causes it, but restarting it seems to help it).
outferno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 09:25 PM   #21
Speedinticket
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 76596
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Chaplin, CT
Vehicle:
2008 Ford Escape Ltd
Red

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gerkins31 View Post
Here's the data from the site you mentioned. The downstream snr is fine, but I'm not sure about the rest of it. Anything strike you as weird?


Downstream Value
Frequency 735000000 Hz
Signal to Noise Ratio 35 dB
QAM QAM256
Network Access Control Object ON
Power Level 1 dBmV

Upstream Value
Channel ID 1
Frequency 34000000 Hz
Ranging Service ID 388
Symbol Rate 2.560 Msym/s
Power Level 38 dBmV

edit: now every time I refresh it the Downstream power level is 0 dBmV

no file sharing software is up...
In the system I work for, 38 up isn't bad at all. 42 or so is ideal. Your cable system may vary. There's many of factors that decide on what they use for upstream levels. 0 down is perfect. According to the techs I've talked to from Motorola, -5 to 0 is perfect. It's normal for that to fluctuate a little, up to 3db a day or so. Your SNR of 35 is great. I don't think you have a signal issue, unless it's in the upstream. You'd be best to check DSLreports or something similar to find out what users in your area have.

There's also a thread on here with some good info, started by alacrity024 earlier today.
Speedinticket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 10:13 PM   #22
Mad06STi
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 123324
Join Date: Aug 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Madison, WI
Vehicle:
2006 STi
07 Daytona 675

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prevent View Post
if its 85kb/sec than thats amazing, if its 85kbps tha nthat sucks balls. for cable you should atleast be seeing 364kbps or 44kb/sec
85KB/sec is amazing!?

I pull my hair out at anything less than 120 and average around 200, from a good site I get a steady 400KB sustained.

P.S. KB and kb are the proper abbreviations for kilobyte and kilobit, respectively.
Mad06STi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 10:15 PM   #23
wagman01
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3894
Join Date: Jan 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Royal Oak, MI
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Wagon
Battlewagon Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad06STi View Post
85KB/sec is amazing!?

I pull my hair out at anything less than 120 and average around 200, from a good site I get a steady 400KB sustained.

P.S. KB and kb are the proper abbreviations for kilobyte and kilobit, respectively.
I think he's referring to upload speed. I hope.
wagman01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 10:15 PM   #24
Mad06STi
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 123324
Join Date: Aug 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Madison, WI
Vehicle:
2006 STi
07 Daytona 675

Default

D'oh, yeah, that would make more sense. My reading comprehension is a little lacking.
Mad06STi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 10:32 PM   #25
henryh
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 13457
Join Date: Dec 2001
Default

Since you mentioned your browsing speed is slow, but your results from Speedtest.com look ok, it could be the DNS server you're using (or the one that your cable/DSL defaults to) is crap.

Try setting your DNS servers manually to:
208.67.222.222
or
208.67.220.220
OpenDNS

Or maybe this doesn't work. What am I, a doctorB?
henryh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What does it mean when the tornado siren is going off? HalfBaked Off-Topic 33 02-17-2008 09:23 PM
what does in mean when a sub is tunes to.. ironfinger Car Audio, Video & Security 5 12-22-2006 02:04 PM
what does it mean when an Ex contacts you over the holidays? ColinL Off-Topic 45 12-31-2002 12:15 AM
What does it mean when something is typed like _this_ Andrew Newbies & FAQs 2 03-30-2001 10:34 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.