Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday July 31, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Other Engine Management

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-19-2007, 12:03 AM   #1
ExecNav
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 30554
Join Date: Nov 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Ellijay, GA
Vehicle:
08 LGT Spec.B
01 Impreza RS-T

Default Hydra WB Wiring

I'm not making any sense of these WB installation and calibration instructions on the Hydra website. How is the ECU side of the wideband harness supposed to be hooked up? I guess I'm supposed to identify the slots on the PNP harness but F1, F2, F9, I don't see any of that.

-n00b
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
ExecNav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2007, 05:35 AM   #2
speed_freak27
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 30798
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: kansas city ks
Vehicle:
2001 RS-T Hybrid
2.5>2.2T>257>2.35S

Default

You need to look at the plug for the wb harness it has letters that you need to match up to the specified slots in the pnp harness. You should have a print out telling you what the slots are in the pnp harness.
A on the wb harness goes to slot A1 in the pnp harness and so on.
B>B2
C>B9
D>A11
E>D7
speed_freak27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2007, 10:58 AM   #3
Element Tuning
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 54918
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: 673 WHP Element ProComp Engine
Default

The instructions are provided on the CD Rom:

"The pins are connected as follows:
A: Grey Connector F1 (labeled) B1
B: Grey Connector F2 (labeled) B2
C: Grey Connector F9 (labeled) B9
D: Grey Connector E11 (labeled) A11
E: Large Blue Connector D7"

4 of the 5 pins go into the small grey connector and E goes to the Large Blue connector.
Element Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2007, 11:02 AM   #4
ExecNav
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 30554
Join Date: Nov 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Ellijay, GA
Vehicle:
08 LGT Spec.B
01 Impreza RS-T

Default

I actually don't have access to the CD rom right now but yeah. I was doing this in poor light and failed to realize there was a "grey" connector.

Anyway, I got it now and that couldn't have been easier. Thanks guys.

-Brett
ExecNav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2007, 11:07 AM   #5
Element Tuning
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 54918
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: 673 WHP Element ProComp Engine
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScoobaruRS View Post
I actually don't have access to the CD rom right now but yeah. I was doing this in poor light and failed to realize there was a "grey" connector.

Anyway, I got it now and that couldn't have been easier. Thanks guys.

-Brett
Great, glad you got it sorted.

Thanks,
Phil
www.elementtuning.com
Element Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2007, 05:02 PM   #6
sean18337
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 135588
Join Date: Dec 2006
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY NJ PA
Vehicle:
2007 STI *SOLD*

Default

Is there an easy way to get the pins back out of the harness? I had to remove the Hydra and wideband from my car ( brought it back to the dealer) and had to cut off the big connector at the end of the sensor to get the wires through the firewall.

Any ideas guys for the next time I have to remove this?
sean18337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 11:09 AM   #7
Element Tuning
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 54918
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: 673 WHP Element ProComp Engine
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sean18337 View Post
Is there an easy way to get the pins back out of the harness? I had to remove the Hydra and wideband from my car ( brought it back to the dealer) and had to cut off the big connector at the end of the sensor to get the wires through the firewall.

Any ideas guys for the next time I have to remove this?
GM Pin tools. You can also use a micro flat blade screwdriver. When done correctly the pins slides out easily but done incorrectly you will ruin the connector. Be careful.

Thanks,
Phil
www.elementtuning.com
Element Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 11:25 AM   #8
sean18337
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 135588
Join Date: Dec 2006
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY NJ PA
Vehicle:
2007 STI *SOLD*

Default

OK, is there a way to get the big connector through the firewall? Or do most guys push the wire loom through before they connect the pins to the adapter harness at the Hydra?
sean18337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 02:35 PM   #9
jblaine
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 8512
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: St. Pete, FL
Vehicle:
2002 WRX chassis...
stage-infinity.com

Default

Firewall shmirewall.

My cable is run under the passenger carpet up to the shifter area and leaves the interior of the car around there.
jblaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 02:53 PM   #10
sean18337
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 135588
Join Date: Dec 2006
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY NJ PA
Vehicle:
2007 STI *SOLD*

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jblaine View Post
Firewall shmirewall.

My cable is run under the passenger carpet up to the shifter area and leaves the interior of the car around there.
OK.. I welded a bung in my downpipe and have the wideband there. Maybe I will remove the rear 02 sensor and put it like yours..

Do I just remove the plastics around the shifter and run the wire down there?
sean18337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 02:59 PM   #11
jblaine
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 8512
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: St. Pete, FL
Vehicle:
2002 WRX chassis...
stage-infinity.com

Default

Yup. Just make sure it's out of the way and secured well the whole way. Mine's been through there for almost 2 years.
jblaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2007, 01:41 PM   #12
El Gato
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 110648
Join Date: Mar 2006
Chapter/Region: PRSIC
Location: San Juan, Puerto Rico
Vehicle:
2005 Hydramist 35R82
93oct 479whp 456tq

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jblaine View Post
Firewall shmirewall.

My cable is run under the passenger carpet up to the shifter area and leaves the interior of the car around there.
Never thought of that before. My WG dumptube fell, and the WG was blowing right on the WB cables. They melted and had to do a little rewiring.
El Gato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2007, 08:26 AM   #13
sean18337
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 135588
Join Date: Dec 2006
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY NJ PA
Vehicle:
2007 STI *SOLD*

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jblaine View Post
Firewall shmirewall.

My cable is run under the passenger carpet up to the shifter area and leaves the interior of the car around there.
I installed the wideband back in the car this weekend and ran it through the shifer area and it was much easier than snaking the wires through the firewall.
Thanks for the idea!!

Sean
sean18337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fluttering AFRs while calibrating Hydra WB O2 - Is this normal? dexterous Other Engine Management 6 03-30-2009 06:43 AM
Hydra for wire-in solution? ai42 Other Engine Management 5 08-17-2007 07:32 PM
Alternate CHEAPER Hydra WB Sensor??? White 2.5rs Other Engine Management 0 06-17-2007 07:59 PM
Hydra wb install Sparcomx Other Engine Management 2 11-13-2005 05:18 AM
HYDRA WB install oldbluwrx Other Engine Management 0 09-03-2005 03:08 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.