Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday September 5, 2015
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Car Audio, Video & Security

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-14-2007, 01:19 AM   #1
snwbdr94
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 162567
Join Date: Oct 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: mpls
Default DIY: Bypass Nav '08 (56k Warning)

There was no good answer. Being told it wasn't possible to being told it is. Well, after looking around all you have to do is ground a piece that connects to the E-Brake. For those who have no experience, don't worry I don't either. I took all pictures after it was all done, but the parts I'm missing aren't all that important.

Also, I do not advise watching a movie while driving. Let the passenger do all the work!

What you need:
22Ga Wire
22Ga Quick Connects
22Ga Ring Terminal
Wire Strippers
Crimper

There may be easier ways but, this is how I did it.

1) Take the E-Brake Boot off


2)Open the Counsel Thing and unscrew the 2 screws


3)Unscrew the screw that holds the entire piece in.


4)Slightly life up to unlatch the front part from the shifter part. Slide trim backwards. (The white thing on the top part of it holds the thing in hence why you have to slide it backwards) Then just lean it on back seat to keep it out of your way.



5) Unscrew the shifter, take trim off. Undo all inside stuff if you wish. I took mine out when I installed short shifter and never saw the need to put it back in. (No pictures here)

6) Make room so you can work around the E-Brake. (Picture is blurry and to lazy to go unhook everything again)

7) Locate a plastic piece that latches on to the E-Brake. It should have a gray wire with it. You can take this part out and leave it with all your other car stuff as it isn't needed but since I already have a messy enough place I decided to leave it there and crimp a connector on if I ever decide to sell the car I'll just hook it back up to the E-Brake.



8) Since radio shack didn't have any 22ga ring terminals I just soldered a 22ga wire on to a 10-12ga terminal and crimped that. I put on a connector on the other end. (Picture shows me using a smaller wire, I think in my car it self I have it atleast twice as long.)





9) Crimp on the other connector to the gray wire.



10) Now I just used the other side of the screw where the black thing was latched on to for the ground, I took that off and put the ring terminal on and put it back all together.



11) Connect the gray to the new grounded wire and viola you now have a full functional navigation system!



Sorry for the poor video. Driving and taking a video + shifting = not so great video/driving/shifting.


Hopefully this takes care of all those how to bypass the new Nav system!!!
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
snwbdr94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 11-14-2007, 01:28 AM   #2
Chp_Stix
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 95195
Join Date: Sep 2005
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Under the hood, in the seat!
Vehicle:
1974 Rat Rod Bug
back and white

Default

yeah you also have a constantly on ebrake light..... i guess, why not put it on a switch and leave the ebrake hooked up and diode isolate the two so that you still have ebrake functionality and it isnt constantly bypassed, then you can flick the switch off and have it work like normal incase the po-po pulls you over and tries to fine you
Chp_Stix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2007, 01:33 AM   #3
headshockfatty
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 63390
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Southern Minnesota
Vehicle:
2004 Impreza WRX Wag

Default

Sweet no side effects? The MPG and other engine/car management functions still work? Navi doesnt twig out like some Legacy Navi people mentioned?
What about the Brake light in the gauge cluster does this remain lit all the time now?
headshockfatty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2007, 01:34 AM   #4
hector
Scooby Scammer- Do Not Buy From User
 
Member#: 132902
Join Date: Nov 2006
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: West Virginia
Vehicle:
2006 wrx tr silver
99 BMW 323is

Default

I guess there is a good possibility that since most factory radios are built by aftermarket companies the ebrake wire might be separate in the radio harness(rather than getting a data signal from the bcm). It would be worth a try to pull the radio and take a METER not a test light and meter any unidentifiable wires in the harness and see if any of them go negative or change status whatsoever when you pull that ebrake. If so then just isolate the wire and replicate the change be it positive, negative, 100k resistor,ect. whatever.
hector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2007, 01:40 AM   #5
Chp_Stix
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 95195
Join Date: Sep 2005
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Under the hood, in the seat!
Vehicle:
1974 Rat Rod Bug
back and white

Default

good call hector, i will test the wifes harness next time i have it in the shop and see what i can find!
Chp_Stix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2007, 01:51 AM   #6
snwbdr94
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 162567
Join Date: Oct 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: mpls
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chp_Stix View Post
yeah you also have a constantly on ebrake light..... i guess, why not put it on a switch and leave the ebrake hooked up and diode isolate the two so that you still have ebrake functionality and it isnt constantly bypassed, then you can flick the switch off and have it work like normal incase the po-po pulls you over and tries to fine you
Good idea, I have the connector on the e-brake anyways so it wouldn't be all to difficult. Where would I have the switch? I'm thinking it would be near the seatbelt where I have the wires set. That way it's hidden and out of the way.

Also, how could a po-po fine me for such a thing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by headshockfatty View Post
Sweet no side effects? The MPG and other engine/car management functions still work? Navi doesnt twig out like some Legacy Navi people mentioned?
What about the Brake light in the gauge cluster does this remain lit all the time now?
Only side effect is having the constant e-brake light on, but as Chp stated, make a switch so when you don't need the functions you can have it off. I just took a spin around the block to make sure the fuel cons worked and as I was thinking, they were unaffected.



As I stated earlier, this was just a quick fix for those wanting to bypass the system. At least this opens up a window for people to talk about other ideas.
snwbdr94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2007, 09:43 AM   #7
Chp_Stix
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 95195
Join Date: Sep 2005
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Under the hood, in the seat!
Vehicle:
1974 Rat Rod Bug
back and white

Default

I dont know about the US, but up here in canada it is up too a $2500 fine for watching a video while driving, there is one at least one person i know who got this fine for watching a DVD while he was driving. so yeah...

I like hectors Idea better, if you could some how find the wire behind the deck and diode isolate from there with a switch you would never have the ebrake light come on unless the ebrake it self was on. just take a multi-meter and find the wire that changes when you pull on the ebrake, (test with car running) and then make a switch to replicate the same action, with that then you could still have the full functionality of the ebrake system and also have a switch and your ebrake light wouldnt be affested.

switch on to watch DVD's, if police pull you over a simple flick of the switch and your back to the factory system.
Chp_Stix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2007, 12:51 PM   #8
snwbdr94
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 162567
Join Date: Oct 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: mpls
Default

I've been pulled over a couple times when I had my Impala. I had my I-Pod set up when I was on my long road trips and I ended up getting pulled over twice going each way. They saw the Ipod and asked what movie was playing but didn't say anything other than that. Was let off for speeding 5-15 over each time. Maybe luck but knowing that you can get fined in Canada will certainly make me want to put in a switch as I might be driving to Calgary soon.
snwbdr94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2007, 02:37 PM   #9
MarkRx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 42242
Join Date: Aug 2003
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: ATX
Vehicle:
2006 STI
White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chp_Stix View Post
yeah you also have a constantly on ebrake light..... i guess, why not put it on a switch and leave the ebrake hooked up and diode isolate the two so that you still have ebrake functionality and it isnt constantly bypassed, then you can flick the switch off and have it work like normal incase the po-po pulls you over and tries to fine you
I wouldnt worry about the popo, but when it comes time to getting an inspetion sticker you'll have to undo that mod.
MarkRx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2007, 03:29 PM   #10
snwbdr94
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 162567
Join Date: Oct 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: mpls
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkRx View Post
I wouldnt worry about the popo, but when it comes time to getting an inspetion sticker you'll have to undo that mod.
Well, I've never had any of my cars inspected and that was when I was living in MN. Not sure what CO laws are as of yet, but I am going to put in a switch since its an easy deal
snwbdr94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2007, 05:48 PM   #11
05stigi
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 137918
Join Date: Jan 2007
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: wharton, tx
Vehicle:
2005 G35
Diamond Graphite

Default

wouldn't your ebrake light always be on?
05stigi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2007, 10:57 AM   #12
snwbdr94
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 162567
Join Date: Oct 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: mpls
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 05stigi View Post
wouldn't your ebrake light always be on?
Yes it would always be on if you didn't incorporate a switch between the connection going to the new ground. All you need would be two extra crimps if you did it right away instead of doing it after. If you did it after all you have to do is get two new wires, crimp a connector on each end and there ya go. When you don't need the functions just flip the switch and the brake lights off. But I haven't really noticed the light either way.
snwbdr94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2007, 05:27 AM   #13
rallyblues
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 44912
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Phoenix
Vehicle:
2015 RC350
Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chp_Stix View Post
I dont know about the US, but up here in canada it is up too a $2500 fine for watching a video while driving, there is one at least one person i know who got this fine for watching a DVD while he was driving. so yeah...

.
You guys have GESTAPO working the roads up there, EH?!
rallyblues is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2007, 02:05 AM   #14
rallyblues
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 44912
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Phoenix
Vehicle:
2015 RC350
Black

Default

Has anyone else done this yet?
rallyblues is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2008, 09:16 PM   #15
serendipity
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 54597
Join Date: Feb 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Gaithersburg, MD
Vehicle:
08 'Busa, 08 ML63
10 Multistrada, 996 Targa

Default

FWIW, I would recommend grounding in the head unit harness, rather than at the e-brake itself. At the e-brake will cause the whole car (DCCD, cluster, etc) to believe the e-brake is pulled, and requires you to install a switch, etc. Grounding in the head unit only tricks the nav system.

Here's what I did:
http://www.iwsti.com/forums/2008-sti...ml#post1723696
serendipity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2008, 05:31 PM   #16
wobbletop
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 11652
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: Ontario, Canada
Vehicle:
'11 STI 5dr Red
'70 Porsche 914/6

Default

Grounding the ebrake would also disable the DRLs, no?
wobbletop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2008, 06:34 PM   #17
serendipity
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 54597
Join Date: Feb 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Gaithersburg, MD
Vehicle:
08 'Busa, 08 ML63
10 Multistrada, 996 Targa

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wobbletop View Post
Grounding the ebrake would also disable the DRLs, no?
And leave the "BRAKE" light on in your cluster...

You can unplug the DRL harness behind the bumper without causing other issues.
serendipity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 05:12 PM   #18
bobaru
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 173217
Join Date: Feb 2008
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Palatine, IL
Vehicle:
2008 WRX
Obsidian Black Pearl

Default OK Guys... What about..

OK, everyone is on track with the behind the radio harness idea.
I did yhis and works great.
NO E-Brake Light!!

See Here:
http://www.webjogger.com/WRX/2008WRX/08wrxnav.htm
bobaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 05:13 PM   #19
bobaru
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 173217
Join Date: Feb 2008
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Palatine, IL
Vehicle:
2008 WRX
Obsidian Black Pearl

Default

Might as well attach a pic as well, but see above!!
bobaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Full DIY: GM solenoid install (56k warning) Freon Engine Management & Tuning 499 05-20-2015 11:28 AM
Nevada Road Trip Pics (Book, Pics, 56k warning) RHayes North West Impreza Club Forum -- NWIC 8 07-08-2008 08:01 PM
Turbo XS Gasket Damaged? (a few large pics; 56K warning) lethal.adv Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 2 03-24-2006 07:13 PM
NASA AutoX Pics 5-23-04 (heavy 56K warning) InfamousDX Tri-State Area Forum 20 05-24-2004 11:52 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2015 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2015, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.