Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Sunday August 31, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Commercial ECU Reflashes

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-24-2007, 07:35 PM   #1
Kylar
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 159215
Join Date: Sep 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: CT
Vehicle:
2008 LGT Limited

Angry ECU Flash Help!!!!!!

Went stage 2, well tried to anyways....

Car is a 2006 STi

Got my turbo back installed, tactrix cable, laptop. Have EcuFlash and enginuity installed. Installed the drivers for the tactrix cable. Everything should be good right.... of course not...lol

When I try and flash the ECU here are the steps I am taking.

Plug in the green test connector on drivers side.
Plug in the Tactrix cable into laptop and port on car.
Run Ecuflash, click on read ecu or write ecu.
Pick 2005-2006 wrx sti etc from car list
the box pops up asking to turn the key on and click ok.
turn the key to on position quickly click ok
get an error message, sayin an error occured check the log. Log doesnt really say anything much.

I cant read my rom or write a new one it gives the same error for both.

I tried versions 1.29a and 1.34 which is the newest. My tuner said that some people had problems with the new version which is why I tried the older one.

Help!!! Anyone have any ideas???


if anyone want to come help I am in CT area, or I'll even drive to you if you are willing to check this out.

If anyone has their own laptop and tactrix cable that would be cool as well, just to rule out its not my software, or maybe a bad cable.

I would be willing to pay in a meal of your choice and plenty of beer

Here is the log

[09:30:58.684] Version 1.29.906
[09:30:58.694] 8 memory models read.
[09:31:01.208] 140 ROM metadata models read.
[09:31:01.208] checksum module "subarudbw" loaded.
[09:31:01.208] flashing tool "wrx02" loaded.
[09:31:01.208] flashing tool "wrx04" loaded.
[09:31:01.208] flashing tool "sti04" loaded.
[09:31:01.208] flashing tool "sti05" loaded.
[09:31:01.208] flashing tool "mitsukernel" loaded.
[09:31:01.208] flashing tool "mitsukernelocp" loaded.
[09:31:01.208] flashing tool "mitsubootloader" loaded.
[10:10:05.459] ssm2_init
[10:10:05.609] ECU ID is 43 12 59 40 06
[10:10:05.609] ssm2_cmd_0x81
[10:10:05.649] ssm2_cmd_0x83
[10:10:05.699] denso challenge-response
[10:10:05.749] challenge is 4B B6 AC 51
[10:10:05.749] response is 71 0B 91 29
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Kylar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2007, 08:57 PM   #2
Tea cups
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103136
Join Date: Dec 2005
Default

I would try logging. If you can't log through Enginuity (try all COM ports or look in device manager with the tactrix cable plugged in to determine), then likely it is a driver, install or cable issue. If you can log, may not be entering test mode. Try leaving the green connectors connected without reading/flashing and the radiator fans should cycle after a short period of time if you are actually entering test mode-> (successful read/flash will bypass this, though). If you are not entering test mode, the other set of connectors on the passenger's side may be disconnected.

Other possibilities -> Does the car have an Ecutek flash on it from you or the previous owner?
Tea cups is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 02:31 AM   #3
Kylar
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 159215
Join Date: Sep 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: CT
Vehicle:
2008 LGT Limited

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tea cups View Post
I would try logging. If you can't log through Enginuity (try all COM ports or look in device manager with the tactrix cable plugged in to determine), then likely it is a driver, install or cable issue. If you can log, may not be entering test mode. Try leaving the green connectors connected without reading/flashing and the radiator fans should cycle after a short period of time if you are actually entering test mode-> (successful read/flash will bypass this, though). If you are not entering test mode, the other set of connectors on the passenger's side may be disconnected.

Other possibilities -> Does the car have an Ecutek flash on it from you or the previous owner?
Hmm, I havent tried to log with Enginuity yet, I will try that.

About the previous owner ecutek flash, I dunno, if it was previously flashed ecutek by the previous owner what can I do to fix it?

thanks, Kyle
Kylar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 08:42 AM   #4
Tea cups
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103136
Join Date: Dec 2005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kylar View Post
Hmm, I havent tried to log with Enginuity yet, I will try that.

About the previous owner ecutek flash, I dunno, if it was previously flashed ecutek by the previous owner what can I do to fix it?

thanks, Kyle
You'd have to get an Ecutek dealer to flash it back to stock.
Tea cups is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 04:33 PM   #5
Kylar
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 159215
Join Date: Sep 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: CT
Vehicle:
2008 LGT Limited

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tea cups View Post
You'd have to get an Ecutek dealer to flash it back to stock.
I got Enginuity to read and monitor.

Also my friend tried hooking up his snapon scan tool to clear a code and he couldnt connect to my ecu either.....

Do you know how I could tell if it is a ecutek flash on my cpu? Or would I just have to guess? I assume they will probably charge for that any idea how much?
Kylar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 04:37 PM   #6
Tea cups
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103136
Join Date: Dec 2005
Default

I don't think Ecutek should affect logging or OBD-II scanners but maybe someone else that knows can chime in. There's a big sticky about the whole issue.
Tea cups is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2007, 01:12 PM   #7
benw
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103320
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Oklahoma City
Vehicle:
2005 wingless
aspen white

Default

I am running an EcuTek flashed ECU right now (not liking it) but I can definitely log all day long. I just can't read or write from my ECU. The EcuFlash log throws a failed handshake/initialization error of some sort.

To the OP, I would try removing all openport drivers and reinstalling the latest version. make sure both drivers (there should be 2) get installed. If it says "this driver hasn't passed validation" just click "OK anyway" and let it install.

Also verify you are in test mode. When you connect the green connectors, does your fan come on, your fuel pump cycle, and the CEL flash?
benw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2007, 02:29 PM   #8
Kylar
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 159215
Join Date: Sep 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: CT
Vehicle:
2008 LGT Limited

Default

I am almost 100% sure the car has some sort of tune, most likely Ecutek. I am going to a local tuner shop tomorrow and they are going to see if it has Ecutek loaded on it.

I am hitting about 22 psi and I had someone check my logs and said it looks like my car was already tuned to stage 2.

The bad part about this is that I was running a stage 2 map on a stock car for about a month. I bought the car from the dealer like this.....

On a side note I dont blame you for not liking Ecutek, from the thread here I read about how they lock out their customer ECU's and from their responses to the questions they will never get my business. I'd like to get into MY own ECU thank you....

Last edited by Kylar; 11-26-2007 at 04:54 PM.
Kylar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2007, 02:31 PM   #9
Kylar
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 159215
Join Date: Sep 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: CT
Vehicle:
2008 LGT Limited

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tea cups View Post
I don't think Ecutek should affect logging or OBD-II scanners but maybe someone else that knows can chime in. There's a big sticky about the whole issue.

Yeah it does, most dealer and scan tools cant read from the ECU if its locked down by Ecutek as in my case. What happens if you need diagnostic work??? Huh, Ecutek just kind of ignores that point just to make sure nobody can get into their own ECU.

In fact the reason my car was not put back to stock is probably because they couldnt figure out how to do it, or maybe the fix wasnt out yet, it took them awhile to get that out.
Kylar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2007, 02:36 PM   #10
Kylar
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 159215
Join Date: Sep 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: CT
Vehicle:
2008 LGT Limited

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by benw View Post
I am running an EcuTek flashed ECU right now (not liking it) but I can definitely log all day long. I just can't read or write from my ECU. The EcuFlash log throws a failed handshake/initialization error of some sort.

To the OP, I would try removing all openport drivers and reinstalling the latest version. make sure both drivers (there should be 2) get installed. If it says "this driver hasn't passed validation" just click "OK anyway" and let it install.

Also verify you are in test mode. When you connect the green connectors, does your fan come on, your fuel pump cycle, and the CEL flash?
Drivers are correct and it does cycle into test mode.

Have you tried hooking up a scan tool for diagnostic work, I bet that doesnt work either.
Kylar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2007, 04:25 PM   #11
blkscooby
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 44422
Join Date: Sep 2003
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Vehicle:
2005 LGT
OBP

Default

Kyle,

Keep me updated. I didn't think of it possibly being an ECUTek flash...
blkscooby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2007, 10:35 AM   #12
Kylar
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 159215
Join Date: Sep 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: CT
Vehicle:
2008 LGT Limited

Default

Tea Cups was indeed correct!!

Went to XX Tuning today and they checked my car for me, it does indeed have ECUTek on it.

Anyone know if I can even pass emissions testing with ECUTek? Considering most people that plug into the port on my car cant get any readings

Also they dont know of a way to remove it
Kylar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2007, 01:04 PM   #13
quazimoto
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 70395
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Da-boonies,Va
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kylar View Post
Tea Cups was indeed correct!!

Went to XX Tuning today and they checked my car for me, it does indeed have ECUTek on it.

Anyone know if I can even pass emissions testing with ECUTek? Considering most people that plug into the port on my car cant get any readings

Also they dont know of a way to remove it
I do.Buy a used ECU. www.car-part.com
quazimoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS/FT : Turbo XS UTEC w/ stock ECU Flashed nyr13sti Engine/Power/Exhaust 0 06-04-2010 12:20 AM
Need help with an ecu flash subesport Newbies & FAQs 6 02-01-2010 03:52 PM
Need help, open ECU flash with blow thru N8WRX Open Source Reflashes 35 05-08-2009 04:23 PM
ECU Flash not reading, help! Bboy AJ Open Source Reflashes 7 01-07-2008 09:57 PM
Dyno Flash ecu flashing for WRX / STI in West Palm Bch. 1/8 and 1/9 Dyno Flash South East Region Forum 7 12-20-2004 09:21 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.