Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday July 30, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Commercial ECU Reflashes

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-29-2007, 02:16 AM   #1
sperry7
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 110079
Join Date: Mar 2006
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Vegas
Vehicle:
06 WRX
Black on Black

Default My IAM will not move from 1

I've been logging my car and my IAM will not move from 1. I've always had this problem and I'm not sure why. As far as I can tell I am not getting any knock, my knock correction is always right up by 9 at WOT. Never dips below 5 in probably 20 logs over the past few weeks. Anyone know what's up?

Thanks!
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
sperry7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2007, 04:25 AM   #2
3barboost
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 73609
Join Date: Nov 2004
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Johannesburg South Africa
Vehicle:
2002 wrx
White

Default

its supposed to be on 1 (100%)
if you reset it it will drop to 0.5 (50%)

I think you thinking in 16bit ecu terms and looking for a 16(100%)
you got a 32 bit ecu and 1 is the best it gets
3barboost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2007, 04:32 AM   #3
Nuke209
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 108089
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Minnesota
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
NF Performance

Default

yes, 1 = best for 32bit (04+sti & 06+wrx)
Nuke209 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2007, 12:30 PM   #4
sperry7
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 110079
Join Date: Mar 2006
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Vegas
Vehicle:
06 WRX
Black on Black

Default

haha thank you! I am a super newb at this as you can tell haha.
sperry7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2007, 12:49 PM   #5
williaty
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 71092
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Delaware County, Ohio
Vehicle:
2005 2.5RS Wagon
Regal Blue Pearl

Default

Also 1 for 05+ RS

My RS has IAM=0.368. My ship, she is broke
williaty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2007, 06:45 AM   #6
jose27madrid
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 165621
Join Date: Dec 2007
Default

Another IAM question...I have increased my IAM to 26, due to use of high octane fuel. Do you think is a good idea if no knock is present? Or are other implications that can damage my engine?
jose27madrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2007, 11:18 AM   #7
nhat
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 140163
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: 3MI Racing
Vehicle:
03 STi
hellaflunctional

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jose27madrid View Post
Another IAM question...I have increased my IAM to 26, due to use of high octane fuel. Do you think is a good idea if no knock is present? Or are other implications that can damage my engine?
not to be a dick but you have zero information in your profile and you've provided zero information to us about your car...so it's going to be rather difficult to help you.
nhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2007, 11:28 AM   #8
wage0052
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 127556
Join Date: Sep 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Minnesota
Vehicle:
2006 WRX
RomRaided.

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nhat View Post
not to be a dick but you have zero information in your profile and you've provided zero information to us about your car...so it's going to be rather difficult to help you.
In addition, IAM maxes at 16 (16 bit ECU), or 1.0 (32 bit ECU). Is 26 a typo?
wage0052 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2007, 11:57 AM   #9
Master2192
RIP 10/12/83 to 02/10/08
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 83254
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Roy, Washington
Vehicle:
98 2.5 RS
04 WRX

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jose27madrid
Another IAM question...I have increased my IAM to 26, due to use of high octane fuel. Do you think is a good idea if no knock is present? Or are other implications that can damage my engine?
IAM can only be as a high as 1 on 32bit ecus or 16 on 16 bit ecus. I think you meant Knock Correction is set to 26...

Without more information it is hard to tell what you are doing. BUT there is such as thing as too much timing, even if you don't get knock it will kill your rod bearings if such a case was present.

What octane fuel are you running by the way?
Master2192 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2007, 06:10 AM   #10
jose27madrid
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 165621
Join Date: Dec 2007
Default

Sorry about the lack of information.

No. I have change the IAM using enginuity from 16 to 26. Also change wastegate and turbo maps to give 0.69 bar instead of 1.2 bar to put less pressure on fuel.

Here is my log (please, use download as... to prevent explorer exe the file.)

I am using a 2002 JDM STI. My question is if this IAM increase have any other effect more than detonation or misfire.
jose27madrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2007, 06:21 AM   #11
jose27madrid
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 165621
Join Date: Dec 2007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Master2192 View Post
Without more information it is hard to tell what you are doing. BUT there is such as thing as too much timing, even if you don't get knock it will kill your rod bearings if such a case was present.

What octane fuel are you running by the way?
I am running a home made fuel using methanol, toluene, a bit of heptane and a bit of lubricating motor oil . Also I use to mix it with a little of regular gas, but is difficult to know the octane rating of the mix. Probably 108 or higher.

Last edited by jose27madrid; 12-02-2007 at 06:31 AM.
jose27madrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2007, 08:35 AM   #12
Tea cups
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103136
Join Date: Dec 2005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jose27madrid View Post
Sorry about the lack of information.

No. I have change the IAM using enginuity from 16 to 26. Also change wastegate and turbo maps to give 0.69 bar instead of 1.2 bar to put less pressure on fuel.

Here is my log (please, use download as... to prevent explorer exe the file.)

I am using a 2002 JDM STI. My question is if this IAM increase have any other effect more than detonation or misfire.
The IAM is dynamic based on knock. You are changing the INITIAL IAM outside the intended range of 0-16, which you should not be doing. What will happen is that after a reset OR when ECU decides to re-evaluate the IAM, it will be set to 26, but the instant that the IAM increases (anytime, even after it drops), it will be immediately capped at 16 until the next re-evaluation or reset. The correct way to tune for race gas would be to modify the base timing and advance maps, not change the initial IAM greater than 16.
Tea cups is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2007, 12:41 PM   #13
riderz
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 148896
Join Date: May 2007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sperry7 View Post
I've been logging my car and my IAM will not move from 1. I've always had this problem and I'm not sure why. As far as I can tell I am not getting any knock, my knock correction is always right up by 9 at WOT. Never dips below 5 in probably 20 logs over the past few weeks. Anyone know what's up?

Thanks!
To start with have you serviced recently. Simply thing like the fuel filter, cleaner injectors, or maf cleaning may stop the problem. If that doesnt work then you can look at the timing issues.

Oh are you getting boost spikes at all? you may not see knock in the logs but you should see some timing being pulled.

Also if you have a wideband post the logs showing ign timing and also your afrs so we could best evaluate the problem.
riderz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2007, 03:48 PM   #14
sperry7
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 110079
Join Date: Mar 2006
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Vegas
Vehicle:
06 WRX
Black on Black

Default

Yeah someone answered my problem earlier, I have a 32 bit ecu so the max my IAM can go is 1! I've only logged on an 04 wrx before this so I thought 16 was the highest for my car as well.

I'm not getting any spikes, the boost is progressive and builds up to 21 and then tapers to 16 or so.

My wideband is not working, I can't get the stupid serial to USB cable to work on my laptop. I installed the drivers but it's not recognizing it!


Quote:
Originally Posted by riderz View Post
To start with have you serviced recently. Simply thing like the fuel filter, cleaner injectors, or maf cleaning may stop the problem. If that doesnt work then you can look at the timing issues.

Oh are you getting boost spikes at all? you may not see knock in the logs but you should see some timing being pulled.

Also if you have a wideband post the logs showing ign timing and also your afrs so we could best evaluate the problem.
sperry7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2007, 01:51 PM   #15
jose27madrid
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 165621
Join Date: Dec 2007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tea cups View Post
The IAM is dynamic based on knock. You are changing the INITIAL IAM outside the intended range of 0-16, which you should not be doing. What will happen is that after a reset OR when ECU decides to re-evaluate the IAM, it will be set to 26, but the instant that the IAM increases (anytime, even after it drops), it will be immediately capped at 16 until the next re-evaluation or reset. The correct way to tune for race gas would be to modify the base timing and advance maps, not change the initial IAM greater than 16.
Absolutely right. Every change return it to 16. Not 20, 22, just go to 16. I am going to touch timing maps and try.

Thanks.
jose27madrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Car will not move in any gear WRteXan Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline 2 01-07-2010 08:46 AM
Help! Car will not move 05subylah Service & Maintenance 8 10-18-2008 03:16 AM
Help me my car will not start!!!!! 4npower Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 4 09-01-2003 11:36 AM
My engine will not jack up! codean Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 2 05-30-2002 05:41 PM
('93-'01) my window will not go down all the way gasser Impreza Forum 9 05-08-2001 08:30 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.