Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Tuesday March 31, 2015
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Commercial ECU Reflashes

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-10-2007, 01:02 PM   #1
thummel26
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 153511
Join Date: Jul 2007
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Vehicle:
2004 STi
WR Blue

Default Running with test mode on??

Hey, ive got my car tuned using enginuity/OpenECU, and to make flashes easier ive got a switch under the passenger side dash that turns the test mode on and off. Driving in the country yesterday with my girlfriend, i do a quick accel from a stop sign and notice im seriously down on power. boost is only going to 13 psi (tuned for 18) and spool is horrible.

So im thinking i hit a spot of bad gas, got some knock, computer dropped the IAM below 0.35 and turned off the boost solenoid (no cel tho whiah i thought was weird).

I get home and plug in my comp to see if thats the case, but when i turn my car off and turn it back on again check engine light is flashing and i notice my test mode switch is turned on.

Basically, is it possible that my girlfreind might have tripped the switch with her legs or something? is it even possible for the car to run with the testmode turned on, while driving? Thanks.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
thummel26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2007, 01:18 PM   #2
TheShad0w
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 91925
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Flower Mound, TX
Vehicle:
2005 Saabaru 92-x
AWDTuning.com

Default

Yes, the car can run in test mode - I'm sure what type of impact it would have though...
TheShad0w is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2007, 01:21 PM   #3
Dirty25RS
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 56731
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Akron, Ohio
Vehicle:
2004 STi, 00 Insight
10 Volvo C30R-d 11 F150

Default

not that i recommend it or anything but i know a dude who ran his car for 6 months in test mode cuz his dumbass tuner left the test leads plugged in when he was done.
Dirty25RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2007, 01:24 PM   #4
thummel26
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 153511
Join Date: Jul 2007
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Vehicle:
2004 STi
WR Blue

Default

haha, alright thanks guys. well i would assume that the car would run like crap with the test mode turned on. i cant see the computer using the normal settings while its in diagnostic mode.
thummel26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2007, 12:42 AM   #5
Phatron
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 36033
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Tuning Lab
Vehicle:
CEO PhatBottiTuning
2006 STi GTX3582 + Meth

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirty25RS View Post
not that i recommend it or anything but i know a dude who ran his car for 6 months in test mode cuz his dumbass tuner left the test leads plugged in when he was done.
lol...that reminds me i just tried to read my ecutek 06 STi and left them connected....

im not even drunk either....

that would have been a great thread title though..
Phatron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 11:42 AM   #6
ravenhil
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 113774
Join Date: Apr 2006
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Long Beach, CA
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
Blue

Default

wow that can;t be good. but i tried driving a short distance with the green cnnectors on cuz pluggung and unplugging them is such a b1tch
ravenhil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2007, 02:49 PM   #7
3barboost
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 73609
Join Date: Nov 2004
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Johannesburg South Africa
Vehicle:
2002 wrx
White

Default

running with test connectors connected gives an AM of 8 or .5
this simply means that less timing is added if stock

however you can use this for a simple and crude "dual map facility"

set the fuel map switch parameter at 8 or .5 - the ecu has 2 fuel maps - be smart and tune accordingly then change the disable / enable boost switch poitn as well and presto if you can live with a flashing cel you got the ability to run lo / hi boost and diff maps at the price of some tuning time and logging - the key is to remember that the ignition advance table can take -numbers in certain areas only do this if you understand the ecu and its abilities

I use this for lo boost (literally actuator tension) and poor fuel with lean mixtures and very low loads and aggressive timing - makes for good economy ! with green connectors connected

then for hi boost disconnect connectors - am goes to 16 and boost is enabled and with more boost comes more load and the other fuel map comes into play

your tune for both has to be spot on ! but with experience its possible
3barboost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2007, 11:41 PM   #8
crazymikie
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 56321
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Hopkinton, MA
Vehicle:
2006 Honda El Camino
Green

Default

does avcs work with the connectors connected?

i know my car throws a whole slew of cells if they are connected and you drive.
crazymikie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2008, 03:20 PM   #9
chanders
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 131319
Join Date: Nov 2006
Chapter/Region: International
Vehicle:
2003 JDM STI
World Rally Blue

Default

Bump for replies!

Anyone knows if the green connectors still work with an EcuTek tune?
chanders is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS tuned Running with Air con on Kastley85891 Open Source Reflashes 5 03-30-2008 08:28 AM
How To: Go in to test mode with out connecting the green connectors every time. t4nk AccessPort 3 04-26-2007 03:26 PM
car not going into Test mode with AP Lordhowe Engine Management & Tuning 2 08-27-2005 04:32 PM
Fog lights running with high beams on? bwolf33 Legacy Forum 15 03-17-2003 10:35 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2015 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.