Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday August 28, 2015
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Open Source Reflashes

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-28-2008, 07:04 PM   #76
10-56
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 144436
Join Date: Mar 2007
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: NB
Vehicle:
2007 WRX GRP
1995 Justy GL AWD

Default

Why isn't this sticky??
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
10-56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 03-05-2008, 09:37 PM   #77
RallyIt07
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 158498
Join Date: Sep 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Bellevue, NE
Vehicle:
07 WRX w/ JDM 6spd
SWP

Default

Yup got that on Vista. It doens't work on vista even when you do run as xp SP2. I just put it on an old crap computer and it worked just fine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TurmultTee View Post
When I try to install Enginuity there is an error

"java.io.FileNotFoundException: C;\Program Files\lib\j3dcore-ogl.dll (access is denied)"

Anyone else get this error. It seems like it's trying to read a file that dosen't exist?
RallyIt07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2008, 09:40 PM   #78
Tea cups
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103136
Join Date: Dec 2005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RallyIt07 View Post
Yup got that on Vista. It doens't work on vista even when you do run as xp SP2. I just put it on an old crap computer and it worked just fine.
The answer to this exact question is in the FAQ in this thread.
Tea cups is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 12:25 PM   #79
Noah
( ͡ ͜ʖ ͡)
Moderator
 
Member#: 111510
Join Date: Apr 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Chicago area
Vehicle:
05 WRX
03 SV650S

Default

Yay for the sticky!
Noah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 09:38 PM   #80
jr4jc
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 76834
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: nashville, tn
Vehicle:
2005 STI
crystal metalic gray

Default

ok i got an open source tune and we turned off the appropriate things to prevent CEL's
but i had one anyway, went to autozone and they checked it, it read NO Codes.
'pass' i think is what it actually read. the girl then clicked clear all codes and the CEL went away for a couple of days, now it's back on and autozone says nothing is showing up.
>???!???!?
i am cat-less DP but i have my rear O2 sensor pulled.
can anybody help!!!
jr4jc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2008, 06:31 PM   #81
ReX-7
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 163990
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Western NC
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
PSM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TurmultTee View Post
When I try to install Enginuity there is an error

"java.io.FileNotFoundException: C;\Program Files\lib\j3dcore-ogl.dll (access is denied)"

Anyone else get this error. It seems like it's trying to read a file that dosen't exist?
I'm getting this error as well on Vista. Any suggestions?

Edit: Nevermind, I can read. :P
ReX-7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2008, 02:59 AM   #82
fusionchicken
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 123777
Join Date: Aug 2006
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: socal
Default

http://www.romraider.com/RomRaider/Download

clicked on download for Windows and says page not found

i need to log my car
fusionchicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2008, 06:48 AM   #83
Jon [in CT]
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 2992
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Connecticut, USA
Vehicle:
02 WRX Sedan
Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fusionchicken View Post
http://www.romraider.com/RomRaider/Download

clicked on download for Windows and says page not found
It works for me.
Jon [in CT] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2008, 09:20 AM   #84
Rogan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 142133
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Virginia - hate it
Vehicle:
3 Jeeps
And a Saab

Default

worked for me too..
Rogan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2008, 06:36 AM   #85
fusionchicken
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 123777
Join Date: Aug 2006
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: socal
Default

weird it works now my comp failed me yesterday
fusionchicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2008, 09:00 AM   #86
Redthorne
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 103593
Join Date: Dec 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Western Massachusetts
Vehicle:
2006 WRX Wagon Ltd
Steel Grey Metallic

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tea cups View Post

OpenPort for Subaru Drive-by-wire vehicles -> Purchase this cable if you wish to read/flash only the 32-bit ECU (you would still be able to log the 16-bit ECU, however). You can also purchase the flash jumpers separately for the 16-bit ECU later if you wish.

Just to double check...if I am reading this statement correctly. If I purchase the above cable I will be able to log both my 06 WRX & my friend's 05 OutbackXT? We are not interested in flashing (nor will we ever be), just an occasional log for diagnostic purposes. (just to see if anything funny is happening)

Plus we are both electronic junkies and want to see what's going on when driving
Redthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2008, 09:18 AM   #87
Tea cups
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103136
Join Date: Dec 2005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redthorne View Post
Just to double check...if I am reading this statement correctly. If I purchase the above cable I will be able to log both my 06 WRX & my friend's 05 OutbackXT? We are not interested in flashing (nor will we ever be), just an occasional log for diagnostic purposes. (just to see if anything funny is happening)

Plus we are both electronic junkies and want to see what's going on when driving
The cable for Subarus is the same cable in both packages - it is just that the 16-bit ECU requires the separate jumper for flashing and that is included in that "package". Both vehicles you mention use the 32-bit ECU, so you only need the cable itself which is listed as the DBW package (and you'll be able to flash if you later decide to do so).
Tea cups is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 02:54 PM   #88
thereplacement
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 183624
Join Date: Jul 2008
Default

I bought a v2 AP a while ago off ebay and the guy included a ACCESSECU cable hooked up to a usb, he said he got it for datalogging - has anyone used one of these?, just wondering if it will work for data-logging with romraider (I have the AP to reflash) or if there is going to be a trick to using this vs the tactrix cable.

Also, do I still need ECUflash if I only want to datalog? I'm assuming I don't need to know what the current map is, though I wasn't sure if it was needed for some reason in order to get the live values.
thereplacement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2008, 12:03 AM   #89
srREXed
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 72234
Join Date: Oct 2004
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: S. FL... Now Fort Polk, LA
Vehicle:
2004 WRX SRR
EJ257-35R-6MT

Default

I dont know if this has been discussed, but are you able to use a cable from a v1 cobb accessport for the use of open ecu tuning instead of a tactrix cable?
srREXed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2008, 08:04 AM   #90
Rogan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 142133
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Virginia - hate it
Vehicle:
3 Jeeps
And a Saab

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by srREXed View Post
I dont know if this has been discussed, but are you able to use a cable from a v1 cobb accessport for the use of open ecu tuning instead of a tactrix cable?
nope.
Rogan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2008, 08:24 AM   #91
srREXed
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 72234
Join Date: Oct 2004
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: S. FL... Now Fort Polk, LA
Vehicle:
2004 WRX SRR
EJ257-35R-6MT

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rogan View Post
nope.
Thank you.
srREXed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2008, 02:39 AM   #92
SubyWill
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 166830
Join Date: Dec 2007
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Orlando, FL
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
WRB

Default

sorry noob here....... so i want to load an xpt stg 2 map, i bought the tactrix cable and im downloading the map, what exactly do i have to do now? im confused? lol, and should i buy a gm bcs?
SubyWill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2008, 08:32 AM   #93
Tea cups
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103136
Join Date: Dec 2005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SubyWill View Post
sorry noob here....... so i want to load an xpt stg 2 map, i bought the tactrix cable and im downloading the map, what exactly do i have to do now? im confused? lol, and should i buy a gm bcs?
As a customer, you can get support for your XPT map here:
www.xpttuning.com
Tea cups is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2008, 10:15 AM   #94
SVT_WRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 164830
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
G61 III OVE 58e

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SubyWill View Post
sorry noob here....... so i want to load an xpt stg 2 map, i bought the tactrix cable and im downloading the map, what exactly do i have to do now? im confused? lol, and should i buy a gm bcs?
You will be much happier with the GMBCS and the XPT stage 2 map for it. I tried them both.

With the GMBCS map boost comes on quicker, stronger and smoother than with the non-gmbcs XPT stage 2 map.
SVT_WRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2008, 10:15 AM   #95
srREXed
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 72234
Join Date: Oct 2004
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: S. FL... Now Fort Polk, LA
Vehicle:
2004 WRX SRR
EJ257-35R-6MT

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rogan View Post
nope.
Thanks. I dont want to give incorrect advice. I sold my acceport to somebody in AL and they wanted to use the cable for open programming. I havent ever tried it as I have had the tactrix for quite a while...
srREXed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2008, 12:13 PM   #96
SubyWill
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 166830
Join Date: Dec 2007
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Orlando, FL
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
WRB

Default

alright thanks guys, i was just wondering about the whole logging thing
SubyWill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2008, 10:21 AM   #97
phoenix_wrx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 98532
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: A hockey rink
Vehicle:
na B-Wing
rebel red

Default

"OpenPort for Subaru Drive-by-wire vehicles -> Purchase this cable if you wish to read/flash only the 32-bit ECU (you would still be able to log the 16-bit ECU, however). You can also purchase the flash jumpers separately for the 16-bit ECU later if you wish."


I may be a little thick here, but perhaps someone can help. I want to log, and had tried to use the APv2 cable and all the associated software from cobb and tari, but have had no luck even connecting to the ecu.

I really want to log, and when i looked at this sticky, and tried to find which tactrix cable to buy, i just get "product not found" from the link above on the tactrix site.

Can someone point me to a tactrix cable for my 06 wrx?
phoenix_wrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2008, 10:29 AM   #98
Kjott21
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 116937
Join Date: Jun 2006
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Vehicle:
2011 WRX DGM
forums.pghsubarus.com

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phoenix_wrx View Post
"OpenPort for Subaru Drive-by-wire vehicles -> Purchase this cable if you wish to read/flash only the 32-bit ECU (you would still be able to log the 16-bit ECU, however). You can also purchase the flash jumpers separately for the 16-bit ECU later if you wish."


I may be a little thick here, but perhaps someone can help. I want to log, and had tried to use the APv2 cable and all the associated software from cobb and tari, but have had no luck even connecting to the ecu.

I really want to log, and when i looked at this sticky, and tried to find which tactrix cable to buy, i just get "product not found" from the link above on the tactrix site.

Can someone point me to a tactrix cable for my 06 wrx?
Looks like the old version of the cable is gone now. The new one is here:
http://www.tactrix.com/product_info....products_id=40
Kjott21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2008, 10:35 AM   #99
phoenix_wrx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 98532
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: A hockey rink
Vehicle:
na B-Wing
rebel red

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kjott21 View Post
Looks like the old version of the cable is gone now. The new one is here:
http://www.tactrix.com/product_info....products_id=40
Crap. I was under the impression it was $75. This changes things. that $200 was earmarked for a sway bar.

Guess I am going to try harder to log with the APv2 for now, unless i can find a used one.
phoenix_wrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2008, 12:52 PM   #100
bp_968
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 186439
Join Date: Aug 2008
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: South Covington KY
Vehicle:
2003 WRB WRX Wagon
2008 Infiniti G35x

Default

couple of questions I didn't see covered:

1> can this be used with the generic "ELM 327" units you see on ebay all the time (I have one I used for my other cars before I got my 06 STi this week).

2> can it be used in *READ ONLY* mode (I have ZERO desire to tune yet. I want nothing to do with messing with the ECU right now. I only want the data!)

Thanks!
bp_968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
romraider/ecuflash? weaponstroop Open Source Reflashes 8 10-21-2008 10:04 AM
reading logs - FAQ or getting started guide? jmc9809 Newbies & FAQs 2 08-05-2005 06:40 PM
I want to get started racing! Where to start? wayne_rx Motorsports 27 12-23-2004 03:00 AM
Auto-Xing Newbe, How to get started? Ed_RS New England Impreza Club Forum -- NESIC 7 01-31-2001 11:34 AM
how to get started jjp New England Impreza Club Forum -- NESIC 5 11-09-2000 06:26 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2015 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2015, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.