Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday August 27, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Open Source Reflashes

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-31-2007, 10:28 PM   #1
TurboQueef
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 86700
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Otsego, MI
Vehicle:
2005 STI
Silver/Black,11.44@123.60

Default Is it possible to force leaner AFR in closed loop?

HI..

I am going to be tuning aftermarket cams in my STi.. am running Kelford 276/272's...

I tune with StreetTUNER for RT and Enginuity for the base maps.

I want to know if there is any way to force a more lean AFR during closed loop easy crusing... has anyone figured out how to do this with the stock ECU?

Thanks,

Jeff B
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
TurboQueef is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2008, 01:56 AM   #2
Wheeler Bement
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 15652
Join Date: Feb 2002
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: sugar land, katy
Vehicle:
2002 2.5L WRX Wag.
160K club

Default

yes, it can be done. it is under the Fuel tab in enginuity. look for it.
Wheeler Bement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2008, 10:08 AM   #3
Big Bear uk
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 15344
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Bath UK
Vehicle:
2004 STi type uk
silver

Default

If you look under closed loop in enginuity you will see a heading for closed loop fueling, it is there you change the AFR. You may need to change the tip in fueling to stop any engine judder , this is what I did and on cruise I could get another 30-40 miles out of a tank at about 70 mph
Big Bear uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2008, 10:11 AM   #4
Tea cups
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103136
Join Date: Dec 2005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Bear uk View Post
If you look under closed loop in enginuity you will see a heading for closed loop fueling, it is there you change the AFR. You may need to change the tip in fueling to stop any engine judder , this is what I did and on cruise I could get another 30-40 miles out of a tank at about 70 mph
This is not for the 32-bit ECU, though (OP has an 05 STi). Also, if the parameter is under the "closed loop" category then you are using old ECU definitions and you should update to the latest (will be under fueling category).
Tea cups is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2008, 10:27 AM   #5
TurboQueef
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 86700
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Otsego, MI
Vehicle:
2005 STI
Silver/Black,11.44@123.60

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tea cups View Post
This is not for the 32-bit ECU, though (OP has an 05 STi). Also, if the parameter is under the "closed loop" category then you are using old ECU definitions and you should update to the latest (will be under fueling category).

Yea... not finding any direct input fueling tables in closed loop tab... seems to only allow changing parameters that control when the ECU exits closed loop...
TurboQueef is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2008, 10:32 AM   #6
TurboQueef
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 86700
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Otsego, MI
Vehicle:
2005 STI
Silver/Black,11.44@123.60

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tea cups View Post
...you are using old ECU definitions and you should update to the latest...
sorry off topic... I am getting a warning box every-time I open my ROM.. it says that a "newer version of this ECU revision exists"... so I downloaded it and I want to know if there is any way to "copy" the values in the modified ROM (old ECU version) to the new (without having to copy every table one by one)

Thanks

jb
TurboQueef is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2008, 11:38 AM   #7
Tea cups
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103136
Join Date: Dec 2005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TurboQueef View Post
sorry off topic... I am getting a warning box every-time I open my ROM.. it says that a "newer version of this ECU revision exists"... so I downloaded it and I want to know if there is any way to "copy" the values in the modified ROM (old ECU version) to the new (without having to copy every table one by one)
You still need to update the ECU (and logger) definitions:
http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show....php?t=1410201
You should not tune with old definitions because each update often contains important bug fixes, not to mention new tables and ecu support.

It is not necessary to update to a newer ROM revision unless there is something specific that will be solved in your particular case with the newer revision, which is why the newer ECU defs have eliminated that "newer revision" message from appearing. Yes, you will have to manually transfer your tune, table by table, to the newer revision if you choose to go that route. I wouldn't recommend doing this unless you know what you're doing (i.e. it is your own tune and you know what you changed). You should be fine with the older revision (although we don't know exactly what changed in the 05 revisions as it is missing from SOA change list).
Tea cups is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2008, 01:23 PM   #8
TurboQueef
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 86700
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Otsego, MI
Vehicle:
2005 STI
Silver/Black,11.44@123.60

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tea cups View Post
You still need to update the ECU (and logger) definitions:
http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show....php?t=1410201
You should not tune with old definitions because each update often contains important bug fixes,...
Very good info.. I updated with no problem.. thanks a BUNCH for the post...

jb
TurboQueef is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2008, 04:24 PM   #9
WolfPlayer
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 65054
Join Date: Jun 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Frederick, MD
Vehicle:
2005 STI (CGM)
Descooped / Dewinged

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TurboQueef View Post
Very good info.. I updated with no problem.. thanks a BUNCH for the post...

jb
Jeff,

As mentioned in that EGT post on IWSTI that I referenced, you still cannot change the closed loop AFR (1.0 lambda) target with the 32-bit roms using Enginuity (even if you are using the latest defs).

t
WolfPlayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2008, 04:43 PM   #10
Tea cups
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103136
Join Date: Dec 2005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WolfPlayer View Post
Jeff,

As mentioned in that EGT post on IWSTI that I referenced, you still cannot change the closed loop AFR (1.0 lambda) target with the 32-bit roms using Enginuity (even if you are using the latest defs).

t
Yes, this was already mentioned in post 4 of this thread. Regardless, users should always update to the latest defs.
Tea cups is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 04:46 AM   #11
Big Bear uk
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 15344
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Bath UK
Vehicle:
2004 STi type uk
silver

Default

Ok sorry for the duff info , I don't tend to "upgrade" software for the sake of it , if somthing works I leave it alone (software wise)
Big Bear uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 04:26 PM   #12
GuitsBoy
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 61721
Join Date: May 2004
Vehicle:
2006 WRX
Steel Grey Metallic

Default

Sorry to drag this back up, but Im looking for the stoich table, and perhaps I just dont know the actual name Im looking for. I have the latest definitions, I believe, 0.8.0b. I just dont seem to see the a table that lets me adjust stoichiometric. Car is a 2006 WRX.
GuitsBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 04:38 PM   #13
williaty
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 71092
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Delaware County, Ohio
Vehicle:
2005 2.5RS Wagon
Regal Blue Pearl

Default

The 32bit ECUs don't allow adjustment of CL target.
williaty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 04:42 PM   #14
GuitsBoy
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 61721
Join Date: May 2004
Vehicle:
2006 WRX
Steel Grey Metallic

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by williaty View Post
The 32bit ECUs don't allow adjustment of CL target.
Ouch. I guess thats why I cant find it then.

I guess my other option is shifting over the "Front Oxygen Sensor Scaling" table to trick it into seeing stoich as a slightly higher voltage (or is it really milli-amperage). Has anyone gone this route?
GuitsBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 07:29 PM   #15
mickeyd2005
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 122595
Join Date: Aug 2006
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Vehicle:
2005 LGT Wagon
ABP

Default

Didn't someone on enginuity.org shift the lambda definition for the front O2 sensor? They would need to shift the MAF scale too but only for low MAFv. It seems kind of complicated plus the transition between CL and OL would be tricky.
mickeyd2005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 09:03 PM   #16
Freon
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 88322
Join Date: Jun 2005
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Vehicle:
2009 BMW 135i

Default

You can skew the front O2 sensor scaling and this will have the desired affect. Keep in mind this will not make you log a different front O2 sensor reading. It will go to 14.7, but you'll actually be running 15.0 or 15.5 or whatever based on how much you skew it. This would work on either 32bit DBW or the old 2L.

It will also tilt your fuel trims, and you'll have to decide how you compensate for this. You could change injector size, or just deal with fuel trims being slightly more negative.

And since tuning different intake MAF scales is based on having an accurate injector size, you could end up skewing airflow and load.
Freon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2008, 01:14 PM   #17
NemesisWRX
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 134413
Join Date: Dec 2006
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Vehicle:
2015 WRX
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tea cups View Post

...(although we don't know exactly what changed in the 05 revisions as it is missing from SOA change list).
Pardon my interruption...
I have never heard of this list until now, is there anywhere I could look at this and maybe learn more about what the different SOA revs do for my car specifically (03 WRX)? I changed to the -400 rev a long time ago and never really knew why, i figured a higher number = new = better, all of the tables visible through Enginuity were identical so it must have been some unused (by us) stuff that changed.

Thanks
NemesisWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2008, 01:35 PM   #18
Tea cups
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103136
Join Date: Dec 2005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NemesisWRX View Post
Pardon my interruption...
I have never heard of this list until now, is there anywhere I could look at this and maybe learn more about what the different SOA revs do for my car specifically (03 WRX)? I changed to the -400 rev a long time ago and never really knew why, i figured a higher number = new = better, all of the tables visible through Enginuity were identical so it must have been some unused (by us) stuff that changed.

Thanks
It is somewhere on the openecu site. I think it was posted by "Jon [in CT]". It doesn't list every change and the descriptions are vague most of the time.
Tea cups is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2008, 11:38 PM   #19
NemesisWRX
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 134413
Join Date: Dec 2006
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Vehicle:
2015 WRX
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tea cups View Post
It is somewhere on the openecu site. I think it was posted by "Jon [in CT]". It doesn't list every change and the descriptions are vague most of the time.

Ohhhhh, I know exactly what you're talking about and I've seen it before. From what I remember it didn't have anything useful that I could find, and didn't have any info on the -401 map I was considering switching to.

Thanks for the help
NemesisWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is it possible to bring the 4pots close to the stopping power of Brembos? Hyper Brakes, Steering & Suspension 2 10-31-2006 03:20 AM
Is it possible to eat Oreo cookies in moderation? Asinine Off-Topic 68 02-28-2005 03:52 PM
Is it possible to get this key in the US? Louros Interior & Exterior Modification 30 11-19-2004 08:15 PM
Is it possible to loose 10 lbs in 3 weeks? two_ton_tammy Off-Topic 34 11-25-2003 03:19 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.