Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday July 31, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Open Source Reflashes

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2008, 03:00 AM   #1
wrxsti.l
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 156973
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Vehicle:
2002 ADM WRX STi
STi Black/Blue

Default Enginuity and valet mode

Heya,

Well I was watching vids on youtube and one vid really grabbed my attention. It was a guy who noticed that when valet mode was enabled it enforces a lower rev-limit :P

Basically, this guy in the vid found that while in valet mode thecar was building boost while stationary, so this suggest that the valet rev limit is actually an ignition cut.

I'm sure most have caught on to what I'm suggestng, yes I'm talking about using valet mode as a 2-step limiter launch control system

Firstly is there any way that Enginuity can set/adjust the valet-mode rev limit point and how it is enforced (whether it is ignition cut or ignition and fuel cut etc)?

Secondly, what would it take to have valet mode enabled and disabled on the fly when certain conditions are met - as in when the handbrake switch, demister switch and clutch switch are activated, valet mode is enabled?

Is this possible or am I getting excited about nothing :P


Suggestions more than welcome
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
wrxsti.l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2008, 09:12 AM   #2
Tea cups
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103136
Join Date: Dec 2005
Default

There's no valet mode, nor is there a stationary rev limit on the factory ROM. To get launch control you would have to hack the ROM and code for it yourself and obviously know what you were doing.
Tea cups is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2008, 05:38 PM   #3
wrxsti.l
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 156973
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Vehicle:
2002 ADM WRX STi
STi Black/Blue

Default

no matter.

Another thought, does the wrx/sti range of ecu's have a boost or temp compensation map? If so, could this map used with a modified rpm limit?
wrxsti.l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2008, 06:19 PM   #4
Tea cups
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103136
Join Date: Dec 2005
Default

not sure what you are getting at. There are tables for compensation to target boost based on IAT,ECT depending on the ECU.
Tea cups is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2008, 07:04 PM   #5
wrxsti.l
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 156973
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Vehicle:
2002 ADM WRX STi
STi Black/Blue

Default

np. I have most likely misunderstood the functionality of the compensation maps. Perhaps I have used the wrong words.

I was thinking of all the possible times that the ECU might "limit" rpm under certain conditions - as in when boost goes beyond a certain presure, or temp goes beyond a certain temp.

I was then wondering (if the ecu does limit rpm under these conditions) if the actual RPM point where it is limited to was adjustable via Enginuity.

Then, and this is a BIG stretch, all I would have to do is "trick" the ECU into thinking that one of those conditions have been met :P

What do you think?
wrxsti.l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2008, 07:38 PM   #6
Tea cups
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103136
Join Date: Dec 2005
Default

There's no need to trick the ECU (not that there would be anything you could do with the currently defined tables anyway). You simply create a hack based off of the factory rev limiter that switches between two different RPM thresholds based on either veh. speed (for ECUs that don't have clutch switch input) or clutch switch (for FFS too). It has already been tested long ago (before even Cobb came out with theirs). Problem is, coming up with a way to distribute features like these for the general public. It will come, eventually, you just have to be patient.
Tea cups is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2008, 09:06 PM   #7
wrxsti.l
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 156973
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Vehicle:
2002 ADM WRX STi
STi Black/Blue

Default

np Teacups.

No point recreating the wheel if you guys have it tested and working. I (like some others) are going stir crazy witing for it to be released - we have been waiting pretty patiently since last year lol

Nah, all good, any idea of an eta? I'm looking at a Bee*R limiter atm, and I would much prefer using enginuity instead :P
wrxsti.l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2008, 09:34 PM   #8
Tea cups
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103136
Join Date: Dec 2005
Default

I doubt it will come out as an Enginuity release. Likely be a separate standalone patching tool.
Tea cups is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 12:13 AM   #9
wrxsti.l
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 156973
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Vehicle:
2002 ADM WRX STi
STi Black/Blue

Default

np Tea Cups.

Will it be you creating the patching tool?
wrxsti.l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 01:11 PM   #10
Tea cups
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103136
Join Date: Dec 2005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrxsti.l View Post
np Tea Cups.

Will it be you creating the patching tool?
I would imagine unless development picks up on the Enginuity side. I make no promises, though.
Tea cups is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 01:35 PM   #11
gabedude
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 10108
Join Date: Sep 2001
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Lake Travis, Austin, TX
Vehicle:
07 STI
60Trim TQ monster

Default

I just need to read my Java book. I look at java code and almost want to puke. C# isn't as bad, too bad that was not our platform or C++ modules for the Ramtune/FFS/Valet mode/etc code and whatnot.
gabedude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 04:09 PM   #12
Tea cups
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103136
Join Date: Dec 2005
Default

For me personally, this is what I have planned:

1. Finish up my standalone tool which reads the entire FLKC table from ram, the FLKC RPM/Load ranges and displays it as a 3D table. Releasing this tool will lay the foundation of a future real-time tuning app (testing and refining communication via SSM and table display)

2. Redo ROM code for the launch control for the 16-bit ECU so that it does not require a flash to change RPM threshold and would work as follows:
A. post-reset, LC RPM defaults to constant in ROM
B. To change LC RPM, rev motor in neutral up to current fuel cut RPM with vehicle below LC veh. speed threshold. Hit defogger switch within a certain delta of current LC RPM threshold (say 500 rpm). This disables current threshold and changes to SET mode.
C. In SET mode, in nuetral below veh. speed threshold, rev motor to desired new LC RPM and hit the defogger switch. LC RPM is now set to new threshold. Likely there would also be a minimum LC RPM in SET mode to avoid accidently setting new threshold when defogger is turned on to actually defrost the rear window.

3. Create patching app that will take into account multiple versions of the code and include warnings for use of LC and such.

4. Redo ROM code for 16-bit ECU real-time tuning (more compact -> already have an outline of the new code).

5. Start on app for real-time tuning to support the 16-bit ECU. Test on my own car. Release to trusted testers. If everything A-OK, release to public.

6. Once bugs are worked out, start support for the 32-bit ECU.

Of course, this is all dependent on how much time I have and how well things go. I might only get to #2 and then just release some 16-bit ROMs patched with LC and per gear wg comp. I don't know and I don't want to make any promises. What worries me in releasing hacks like these is liability. I want to make sure there is zero liability for me personally for anything I release (LC, real-time tuning, etc.). If there's not, then I won't do it.
Tea cups is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 05:39 PM   #13
wrxsti.l
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 156973
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Vehicle:
2002 ADM WRX STi
STi Black/Blue

Default

Sounds awesome Tea Cups. There seems to be a few programmers interested in contributing to Enginuity still. Perhaps they could assist you and help get it out sooner?
wrxsti.l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 06:23 PM   #14
Tea cups
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103136
Join Date: Dec 2005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrxsti.l View Post
Sounds awesome Tea Cups. There seems to be a few programmers interested in contributing to Enginuity still. Perhaps they could assist you and help get it out sooner?
Well, I don't do Java. So, either someone develops it entirely for Enginuity with input from me on how things operate on the ROM side. Or I develop it in vb as time permits. The only developer currently actively working on Enginuity is Kascade. It sounds like he wouldn't have time to work on real-time tuning (it is quite a bit of work). As far as new contributors working on Enginuity, I'd have to see it to believe it as there have been many in the past that said they were going to contribute but flaked out after a few weeks and were never heard from again. Frankly, I'm quite a bit pessimistic about any major updates to Enginuity due to the site being down (maybe permanently) and no response from Jared or anyway to get a hold of him (for me anyway) about the site.
Tea cups is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 06:40 PM   #15
Tgui
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 44771
Join Date: Oct 2003
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tea cups View Post
Well, I don't do Java. So, either someone develops it entirely for Enginuity with input from me on how things operate on the ROM side. Or I develop it in vb as time permits. The only developer currently actively working on Enginuity is Kascade. It sounds like he wouldn't have time to work on real-time tuning (it is quite a bit of work). As far as new contributors working on Enginuity, I'd have to see it to believe it as there have been many in the past that said they were going to contribute but flaked out after a few weeks and were never heard from again. Frankly, I'm quite a bit pessimistic about any major updates to Enginuity due to the site being down (maybe permanently) and no response from Jared or anyway to get a hold of him (for me anyway) about the site.
My C++ Rom Editing program is almost to v1.0, we need to chat.

EDIT: As I assume C++ is one of the languages you program in. I might be wrong.
Tgui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 06:51 PM   #16
Tea cups
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103136
Join Date: Dec 2005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tgui View Post
My C++ Rom Editing program is almost to v1.0, we need to chat.

EDIT: As I assume C++ is one of the languages you program in. I might be wrong.
No, just visual basic. I saw that you were working on an editor -> looks good, but I wasn't sure how far you wanted to take it. If anything, I can always continue development on my own for testing purposes and then when I have something viable, see where your project and the Enginuity project are at that point.
Tea cups is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 06:21 PM   #17
batchman
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 94656
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: SE Texas
Vehicle:
02 WRX Quicksilver
hums Indiana Jones theme

Default

Sorry if I'm dragging a somewhat older thread but I was thinking of a valet mode myself....

Would simply hardwiring a switch into the BCS wiring allow you to disable boost beyond WG pressure (~7-8psi)? You could run switch into cabin.

Turns car into something akin to my old nissan sentra. Not turtle but certainly nothing like full boost. No redline limit though. But once they feel the weakness... who would want to continue running to redline?

That's right... the weakness
batchman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stage 2 and valet mode question the Stryder AccessPort 3 02-16-2010 11:12 AM
Fast blinking security light? And no it's actually not in valet mode Nick Car Audio, Video & Security 0 08-22-2008 12:58 AM
Question about CEL and Valet Mode ( AP ) Dragonbreak North West Impreza Club Forum -- NWIC 2 08-15-2007 05:22 PM
Valet mode and inspection theicewall Engine Management & Tuning 5 02-17-2006 09:50 PM
Security System stuck in Valet Mode??? cincyRS Technical Forum Archive 2 07-21-2000 09:24 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.