Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday December 22, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Open Source Reflashes

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2008, 05:00 PM   #1
Rogan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 142133
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Virginia - hate it
Vehicle:
3 Jeeps
And a Saab

Default MAF tool recording on Enginuity 785 issues...

Ok, so I've been trying this out, with total failure...

History:
2002 WRX, Stg2, blew up the motor, back in July; oil pump failure or something..
Rebuilt and more:
2.5L OE block, crank (EJ25)
EJ20 mild-worked heads, blended bowls, valvejob
EJ20 cams
ARFab TGV Deletes
Hondata intake gaskets (phenolic or whatever..)
Cometic HGs
ARP rodbolts
ARFab-spec Eagle Chromoly H-beam Rods
ARP head studs
ARFab/Arias 9.5:1 pistons
Aeromotive fuel rails
modded stock injectors
ARFab fuel system
Walbro 255
ARFab - Modded STI oil pump (75psi @ op temp, 2500rpm)
ARFab-built engine
ARFab 2.5" uppipe
ARFab 3" downpipe
STI OE exhaust manifold/crossover
Precision GT32/55 turbo
Tial 46mm EWG (1.1bar spring)
Tial 50mm BOV
Precision FMIC
ARFab mandrel FMIC pipe
ARFab 3" intake (CAI)
Catless exhaust, 3" TurboXS dp-back
OE MAS sensor in cai
Setrab Oil Cooler

I've pressure-tested the fmic piping, from the filter, no leaks (well, I fixed the couple small ones I had, retested, no leaks)

ARFab custom oil catch-can system
EVAP deleted
PCV deleted

I've been working (with assistance via email) on getting it road-tuned, as noone around me locally is well-versed in Enginuity. I'm getting it closer, but still way off. It wont hardly idle on it's own, once warm.. When it's cold, it idles rock-solid. As the coolant temp starts to rise, the smoothness begins to go away.. Gets progressively worse as it gets to op temp.

Holding a steady throttle/speed, it has a slight, somewhat constant, hesitation or "miss" feeling to it.
WOT pulls from 2500-5000, 3rd gear, it pulls pretty strong, but runs 10.2-10.3 on the wbo2; way way rich..

So, anyway, to the meat of the thread:
I downloaded 785 and the latest logger defs.
- Launched Enginuity
- Loaded my map
- Launched ECU Logger
- clicked on MAF tab (left defaults alone)
*the 'record' button is slightly dark blue (Im on Vista)
- Got on the interstate, got into 5th gear, set cruise on 68mph.
- clicked the 'record' button, it changes to light blue, identifying to me it's selected...
- drove for like 30 minutes.. clicked the 'record' button again, it returned to a darker blue.
- The graph changes to a single red dot.

I tried this several times, got a dot, each time I clicked the record button 'off'.. on-off-on-off-on-off with about 10 secs between added a dot each time.

Even clicked to the graph tab, selected my normal log selections, and started logging, went back to the MAF tab, started record for about 10 minutes, stopped it, got a dot.

I closed Enginuity...

...And started over...

- Launched Enginuity
- Loaded my map
- Launched ECU Logger
- clicked on MAF tab (left defaults alone)
- Got on the interstate, got into 5th gear, set cruise on 68mph.
- clicked the 'record' button
- drove 45 minutes home.. clicked the 'record' button again
-I had about 6 dots.. heres a screenshot, with the settings visible..



I hit the interpolate with a level of 3, but it doesn't really matter; the data is all wrong, anyway..


So, any assistance would be GREATLY appreciated!

cheers and Beers,
Rick
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Rogan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2008, 06:46 PM   #2
06rexwagon
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 114730
Join Date: May 2006
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Vehicle:
2006 WRX Limited Wag
9.8@150

Default

That's really strange. I just tried it for the first time the other day on a friends car and then on mine and it worked beatifully. Wish I could help you out. I do see that it says unable to send ECU init. Maybe you have a connection issue?
06rexwagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2008, 06:53 PM   #3
Rogan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 142133
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Virginia - hate it
Vehicle:
3 Jeeps
And a Saab

Default

eh, good eye, but I'd already turned the car off, just before the screenshot.. So that's not entirely true.
Rogan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2008, 09:53 PM   #4
Gethin
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2998
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: BC
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
WRB

Default

I've got an 02 too AF423 A4SGC00C ECU and can only get one dot at best. Still trying to figure out why it won't work.
Gethin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2008, 10:09 PM   #5
wrxsti.l
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 156973
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Vehicle:
2002 ADM WRX STi
STi Black/Blue

Default

Have I missed something? How did you get the MAF tab
wrxsti.l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2008, 10:19 PM   #6
Rogan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 142133
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Virginia - hate it
Vehicle:
3 Jeeps
And a Saab

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrxsti.l View Post
Have I missed something? How did you get the MAF tab
build/ver/whatever 785.. I just searched MAF TOOL 785 here..
Rogan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 03:36 AM   #7
williaty
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 71092
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Delaware County, Ohio
Vehicle:
2005 2.5RS Wagon
Regal Blue Pearl

Default

Sorry I wasn't able to help you with this today, for ****sngiggles, are you able to log CL/OL Fueling Status, Coolant Temp, MAF g/sec, AFL#1, AFC#1, AFR Sensor#1, Engine Speed, and MAFv?

I'm just wondering if one of those parameters is missing on your ROM ID and it's preventing the tool from being able to function.
williaty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 09:06 AM   #8
Rogan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 142133
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Virginia - hate it
Vehicle:
3 Jeeps
And a Saab

Default

yes, i can log all those params..

actually, here's an idle snippet from yesterday, while verifying log-capability..

Rogan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 09:10 AM   #9
jabbott
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 73054
Join Date: Oct 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY
Vehicle:
2002 WRX 2.5, 4eat

Default

I have an 02 and also have the same problem. It doesn't actually log anything in the maf tab.
jabbott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 09:58 AM   #10
Rogan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 142133
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Virginia - hate it
Vehicle:
3 Jeeps
And a Saab

Default

so three '02 WRXs that can't seem to get it to work.. weird.
Rogan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 11:10 AM   #11
akira02rex
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 82612
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Vehicle:
2015 WRX STI
Ice Silver Metallic

Default

Can anyone tell me where to download this? 785 Tool?
Thanks!
akira02rex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 11:52 AM   #12
Wheeler Bement
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 15652
Join Date: Feb 2002
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: sugar land, katy
Vehicle:
2002 2.5L WRX Wag.
160K club

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bchslap View Post
so three '02 WRXs that can't seem to get it to work.. weird.
make that 4
Wheeler Bement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 12:11 PM   #13
Rogan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 142133
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Virginia - hate it
Vehicle:
3 Jeeps
And a Saab

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akira02rex View Post
Can anyone tell me where to download this? 785 Tool?
Thanks!
http://www.assembla.com/spaces/files...ar3k3babIlDkbG

make sure you get the latest logger defs, too
Rogan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 01:18 PM   #14
williaty
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 71092
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Delaware County, Ohio
Vehicle:
2005 2.5RS Wagon
Regal Blue Pearl

Default

So all of you that have problems have a WBO2? Maybe it doesn't work with WBO2s.

Try running off the stock front O2 sensor instead.
williaty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 01:43 PM   #15
Rogan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 142133
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Virginia - hate it
Vehicle:
3 Jeeps
And a Saab

Default

I think that's 2002 MYs..
I've got a wideband, but as far as enginuity is concerned, it has no idea.
Rogan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 02:52 PM   #16
jabbott
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 73054
Join Date: Oct 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY
Vehicle:
2002 WRX 2.5, 4eat

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by williaty View Post
So all of you that have problems have a WBO2? Maybe it doesn't work with WBO2s.

Try running off the stock front O2 sensor instead.
I am using the stock 02
jabbott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 03:32 PM   #17
Rogan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 142133
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Virginia - hate it
Vehicle:
3 Jeeps
And a Saab

Default

I think it's more ECU version/MY related, now. I still cannot get it to work/read/record, but I can log those params, just fine... I R confused now LOL
Rogan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 04:14 PM   #18
kascade
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 124395
Join Date: Aug 2006
Default

what is the cal id and ecu id of your ecu? they are displayed in the status bar of your logger when you connect.

also, when recording data with the maf tool, also hit the start logging button (or F1) to log to file - don't select any other parameters on any other tab. Post up a section of the log file that results.
kascade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 05:37 PM   #19
Wheeler Bement
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 15652
Join Date: Feb 2002
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: sugar land, katy
Vehicle:
2002 2.5L WRX Wag.
160K club

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kascade View Post
don't select any other parameters on any other tab.
ding ding...this may be my problem. I'll try it
Wheeler Bement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 05:43 PM   #20
Rogan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 142133
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Virginia - hate it
Vehicle:
3 Jeeps
And a Saab

Default

A4SGE01C
1814400805

I'll get a log. Ive tried it with nothing else seleceted on any other tab, as well as with selections.

I'll see if I can grab some log info tomorrow. I've got the FMOC (front mount oil cooler).. pulled off right now, due to an oil leak.. But I should still at least have a log from yesterday.. lemme look.
Rogan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 07:23 PM   #21
Rogan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 142133
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Virginia - hate it
Vehicle:
3 Jeeps
And a Saab

Default

ok, so I looked in my log folder... not a single log was created..
Rogan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 07:46 PM   #22
Wheeler Bement
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 15652
Join Date: Feb 2002
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: sugar land, katy
Vehicle:
2002 2.5L WRX Wag.
160K club

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wheeler Bement View Post
make that 4
A4SGE01C

Also, in order for me to get the single red dot, I HAVE to log AFRC, AFRL, and MAFV in one of the other three tabs. to get more than one, I have to cycle the record button...regardless of the state of the "Log to file" button.

no log files generated...do I need to have the file output location as the default from whatever enginuity comes with? I have changed the location, but can't remeber the default

Last edited by Wheeler Bement; 01-22-2008 at 12:27 AM.
Wheeler Bement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 11:24 PM   #23
Rogan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 142133
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Virginia - hate it
Vehicle:
3 Jeeps
And a Saab

Default

yeah, each time I cycle the record button, I 'usually' get a new dot..
Are you other '02 owners getting any logfiles when recording? I am not.
Rogan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 11:39 PM   #24
hurricane123
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 121116
Join Date: Jul 2006
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Calgary
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
v7 w/VF30

Default

I have an '04 and am experiencing the same problem. Each time I hit the record button I get a new dot, but just one. If I cycle the button I get another one.

I'll try logging just the necessary parameters and see if that works.

Jeff
hurricane123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 11:40 PM   #25
hurricane123
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 121116
Join Date: Jul 2006
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Calgary
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
v7 w/VF30

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kascade View Post
what is the cal id and ecu id of your ecu? they are displayed in the status bar of your logger when you connect.

also, when recording data with the maf tool, also hit the start logging button (or F1) to log to file - don't select any other parameters on any other tab. Post up a section of the log file that results.
So we shouldn't select any parameters on the other tabs, or just the ones relevant to the MAF tab?

Jeff
hurricane123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Perrin modified sti sidefeed latency values on Enginuity? methaddict Open Source Reflashes 37 02-26-2008 09:18 PM
Advise on enginuity log JOWANKEL Engine Management & Tuning 21 10-05-2007 06:23 PM
Advise on enginuity log JOWANKEL Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 22 10-05-2007 01:00 PM
Enginuity Tuned issues... 06 Scooby Commercial ECU Reflashes 9 05-30-2007 08:07 PM
How to make timing adjustments on Enginuity? WRX2ning Commercial ECU Reflashes 16 05-11-2007 02:31 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.