Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday April 16, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Open Source Reflashes

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-22-2008, 02:17 PM   #1
UpSideDownDesi
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 148372
Join Date: May 2007
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: ATL, GA
Vehicle:
02 WRX,FD,S2K,M5
Hybrid,07 6spd, BW Roated

Default STi ECU plug and play in WRX?

well i have a 2.5 block in my WRX and wondering if 04-05 STi ECU's simply plug in the WRX harness or will need modification or i'll need STi harness to go with it.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
UpSideDownDesi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 02:27 PM   #2
icslowmo
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 114667
Join Date: May 2006
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Peoria, AZ
Vehicle:
00/5 Silver STi RS
FAT 40R kit w/ FMIC

Default

To answer you question, no, 04-05 STi ECU's are different. You would have to convert whole car to STi, rear harness too. Why are you wanting a Sti ECU in your car?? Just because you have a 2.5L you do not need a Sti ECU, just need a re-tune on your stock ECU. Hope that helps.
icslowmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 02:29 PM   #3
Master2192
RIP 10/12/83 to 02/10/08
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 83254
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Roy, Washington
Vehicle:
98 2.5 RS
04 WRX

Default

You'd have to change a lot of stuff, add wiring, change the manifold for the drive by wire, change to the drive by wire pedal, etc. Why would you want to swap ECUs anyway????
Master2192 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2008, 04:06 AM   #4
mikeis300
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 149526
Join Date: May 2007
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: portland metro area
Vehicle:
2002 aps dr65 hybrid
9.1x1 built block/heads

Default

i wish someone would make a tut on how to make a sti drive by cable insted of drive by wire. i have everything to change a wrx to a sti harness, but i dont like drive by wire
mikeis300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2008, 08:42 AM   #5
Tea cups
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103136
Join Date: Dec 2005
Default

There's a guy that swapped an 07 STi motor, wiring harness, ECU, immobilizer, etc. into an 02 wrx. I think it was in the subaru conversions forum. Looked like a PITA.
Tea cups is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2008, 03:04 PM   #6
Wrinkleboi
Top Scoob 006
 
Member#: 14424
Join Date: Jan 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Stuart, FL
Vehicle:
BugI w/ 07 STi Swap
www.TriStateTuners.com

Default

me? haha. its an 03 wrx but all of the other information is correct and i did the full drivetrain too, but yes it was a pain in the ass. but the car is pretty sweet though
for 90% of the benefit at 30% of the effort, here's what i'd recommend:

get an STi longblock only. remove the STi intake manifold and throttle body. replace with WRX intake manifold and throttle body (good time for a TGV delete as well). install into your car using your original WRX wiring and ECU. voila.

you'll need to get a cam position sensor adapter from gruppe-s but otherwise it should be very straightforward. its a lot less effort and money than doing the whole swap like i did, the only drawback is you will not have active AVCS. otherwise, you're good to go, and this would use drive by cable with the STi engine of course.
Wrinkleboi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2008, 03:41 PM   #7
Tea cups
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103136
Join Date: Dec 2005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wrinkleboi View Post
me? haha. its an 03 wrx but all of the other information is correct and i did the full drivetrain too, but yes it was a pain in the ass. but the car is pretty sweet though
yes definitely cool.
Tea cups is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MY04 Sti HIDS direct plug and play in MY05 WRX? remborsky Electrical & Lighting 22 12-31-2007 09:13 PM
What STI cluster plug and play in 06 TR nipcup101 Interior & Exterior Modification 0 11-10-2007 10:56 PM
06 STi head unit plug and play in a 04 STi? Sev Car Audio, Video & Security 2 03-26-2007 03:18 PM
STi headlamps plug and play with WRX? litlechina Electrical & Lighting 4 11-18-2005 05:27 AM
Nakamichi head unit: plug and play in WRX? superg Car Audio, Video & Security 3 09-02-2005 05:46 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.