Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday August 23, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Car Audio, Video & Security

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-02-2008, 12:05 PM   #1
Pearly_Whites
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 164714
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Woostah
Vehicle:
2007 WRX TR
Satin White Pearl

Default Pioneer Avic-d3 nav issues

Im having issues with the navigation function. After I program a route and begin driving, the map only shows me where I've been, not the route that I'm driving on. This came out of my friends car and I've been told that I have to reset the system and calibrate my location.
I was trying to get onto Avic411.com but the site is websensed at work and I used all my quota time trying to search on there.
Does anyone know how to reset the system and calibrate?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Pearly_Whites is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 12:19 PM   #2
thedaddyb
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 64374
Join Date: Jun 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Baltimore, MD
Vehicle:
07 WRX SWP *SOLD
03 2.5ts BRP long gone

Default

hmm. that's strange. The unit will hard reset after being disconnected from constant power. (which would have happened during the removal/install process) There is also a reset button on the front of the face.

There may be something wrong with the unit. It should automatically update your location once it gets a valid gps signal.
thedaddyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 12:36 PM   #3
Pearly_Whites
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 164714
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Woostah
Vehicle:
2007 WRX TR
Satin White Pearl

Default

i talked to my friend who works in CarFi for best buy and he said that my unit still thinks it's in my friends car. I mentioned that we already made the switch and he said there is still internal memory that doesn't get lost when disconnected from power
Pearly_Whites is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 12:47 PM   #4
v8eaterWRX
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 108547
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: boondock camping
Vehicle:
2013 RAM 2500 4x4
6.7l Cummins

Default

^^^nope

The navi will reset when it gets signal again. I.E. you turn your headunit off and drive 10 miles away, under your friends theory the units internal memory would say that it is still in the same area so it would not update when a GPS signal is located. Although partially true (the part where it would still show the last powered on area) he is incorrect as the unit should update as soon as a signal is located.

I would start with making sure you connected your GPS antenna correctly.
v8eaterWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 02:03 PM   #5
Pearly_Whites
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 164714
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Woostah
Vehicle:
2007 WRX TR
Satin White Pearl

Default

you mean by plugging it into the back of the receiver? i'm pretty proficient in wiring. i don't think i explained his theory correctly, but from what i gleaned from his info, i just need to do a hard reset and recalibrate.
the whole nav system is acting funny though, no voice prompts unless i poke the flag thing on the screen and the map only shows me where i have been on my route, not where i am going. also, the way that the arrow is orriented makes it look like my car is driving backwards
Pearly_Whites is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2008, 12:54 PM   #6
Pearly_Whites
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 164714
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Woostah
Vehicle:
2007 WRX TR
Satin White Pearl

Default

fixed it. I had to do a hard reset with the button next to eject (pen tip reset button). then i went into map with the nav disc in, hit menu, and adjusted my current position to face the right way.
it is strange though because somethimes the arrow doesn't follow the road that i'm on and it goes off on its own way then jumps back to the road i'm on... wierd
Pearly_Whites is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2008, 03:12 PM   #7
v8eaterWRX
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 108547
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: boondock camping
Vehicle:
2013 RAM 2500 4x4
6.7l Cummins

Default

Mine will occasionally show me driving parallel to the road I am actually on then after a few meters jumps onto the road (shows me driving through field/houses/etc.).

I assume mine is because my VSS wire is not connected, however I am not sure as I have not driven anyones car that has one with the VSS wire connected.
v8eaterWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 05:52 AM   #8
oburgslim
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 126049
Join Date: Sep 2006
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Harrisburg, Pa
Vehicle:
2002 wrb wrx-sold
06 SGM STi

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pearly_Whites View Post
it is strange though because somethimes the arrow doesn't follow the road that i'm on and it goes off on its own way then jumps back to the road i'm on... wierd
Quote:
Originally Posted by v8eaterWRX View Post
Mine will occasionally show me driving parallel to the road I am actually on then after a few meters jumps onto the road (shows me driving through field/houses/etc.).

I assume mine is because my VSS wire is not connected, however I am not sure as I have not driven anyones car that has one with the VSS wire connected.
I have the same issue,atleast im not alone in this. I have the Alpine blackbird 2 w/ W205 headunit and it does the samething once in awhile.I thought it was because of the cloudly weather we've been having lately but i don't know i will see once its clears up a bit. Besides thats the unit works wonderful
oburgslim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2008, 05:07 PM   #9
Turn in Concepts
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 93646
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Vehicle:
Many Track Records
Let us help you go fast!

Default

My D3 does that as well sometimes, but rights itself very quickly. I also did not hook up the VSS wire.

Tony
Turn in Concepts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2008, 06:05 PM   #10
teiva-boy
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 22825
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Default

Hook up the VSS wire people. It's there for a reason... To improve accuracy.
teiva-boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2008, 06:37 PM   #11
99 rs
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 100994
Join Date: Nov 2005
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Edmonton
Vehicle:
2005 Acura NSX-T
2007 Outback 2.5i

Default

I have the VSS hooked up and it still jumps off the road. Now having said that I fully understand that the VSS has NOTHING to do with the car jumping off the road. It's only for more accuracy while moving and not positioning. It's just the mapping software is off a little bit. I don't think it's the unit's fault, just the software's fault.
99 rs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2008, 07:12 PM   #12
teiva-boy
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 22825
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 99 rs View Post
I have the VSS hooked up and it still jumps off the road. Now having said that I fully understand that the VSS has NOTHING to do with the car jumping off the road. It's only for more accuracy while moving and not positioning. It's just the mapping software is off a little bit. I don't think it's the unit's fault, just the software's fault.
Or the company that Pioneer uses for the mapping... I know of a main road near me where the car is off by about 100 yds going across a mountain side according to the map..

Sadly, the map updates from Pioneer are far too sparse.. It seems to be the original release, an update 18-24 months later, then quiet until a replacement model comes out, and you are obsolete with a unit that will not get map updates anymore.



Linkage about VSS:
http://www.avic411.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=11510
http://www.avic411.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=7599
http://avic411.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=6011 <-pay attention to the reference to "3D Hybrid."

Last edited by teiva-boy; 02-05-2008 at 07:23 PM.
teiva-boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS : Pioneer AVIC D3 nav w/ Bluetooth and iPod cable DrnknZag NWIC Private Classifieds 48 08-22-2010 07:51 PM
Pioneer AVIC D3 - Nav/Bluetooth/iPod arco SCIC Private Classifieds 17 07-28-2010 12:43 PM
FS: Pioneer AVIC-D3 GPS Nav/DVD Player johnkimball SCIC Private Classifieds 4 04-01-2009 12:27 PM
FS: Pioneer AVIC-D3 6.1" screen, Nav, DVD & CD player Plus Extras! drcivic SCIC Private Classifieds 8 06-23-2008 05:44 PM
Pioneer AVIC D3 nav/DVD player PDXTuning Interior/Dressup/Audio & Security 8 06-13-2008 05:26 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.