Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday April 19, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Open Source Reflashes

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-11-2008, 11:13 AM   #1
mattminer
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 90642
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Pineapple under the Sea, RI
Vehicle:
WKD Everything

Default Reflash switch

Hi guys,

Im looking to add a switch for 'test connector mode' on my dash, Im wondering if i can leave the 02-03 jumper block attached all the time, or do i need to make a switch / find a dual switch to do this?

-M@
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
mattminer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2008, 11:37 AM   #2
brettm
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 35107
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Cary, IL
Vehicle:
2003 WRX WRB
2006 LGT Silver

Default

Yes you can leave the flash block connected.
brettm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2008, 01:55 PM   #3
Wheeler Bement
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 15652
Join Date: Feb 2002
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: sugar land, katy
Vehicle:
2002 2.5L WRX Wag.
160K club

Default

i made nice little plate with two switches and mounted it in the change holder thingy by the door. it works really nice. I know you can leave the power blocks connected...but i prefer not too. I think that if it was ok to do, then why design the circuit and make it optional??
Wheeler Bement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2008, 02:35 PM   #4
mattminer
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 90642
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Pineapple under the Sea, RI
Vehicle:
WKD Everything

Default

is there a good toggle switch out there thats like single switch, 2 connections?

-M@
mattminer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2008, 02:35 PM   #5
Zumble
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 34860
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY
Vehicle:
2005 Forester CGM

Default

can the car start at all when its in test mode? If it can't.. maybe I'll rig up a switch as a theft deterrent.
Zumble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2008, 04:22 PM   #6
nperkins
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 135812
Join Date: Dec 2006
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Griswold, CT
Vehicle:
90 Miata
04 Evo Rally Car

Default

What I do to make my life easier is I have some wires zip tied to my Tactrix cable, and near the USB Connector, i soldered the leads onto a switch... Then, on the OBD2 Ends, I ran some slack, and put a Male spade on 1 wire, and a female on the other... That way I dont have to reach under the dash plugging & unplugging all the time...
nperkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2008, 04:34 PM   #7
mattminer
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 90642
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Pineapple under the Sea, RI
Vehicle:
WKD Everything

Default

nice!

im worried about leaving the jumper thing on my02 plugged in all the time, what exactly is it jumpering? i understand what the green test connector does, thats easy.

-M@
mattminer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2008, 05:03 PM   #8
nperkins
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 135812
Join Date: Dec 2006
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Griswold, CT
Vehicle:
90 Miata
04 Evo Rally Car

Default

you can leave the flashblock in... It doesnt do anything unless the gree test mode is connected as well.
nperkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2008, 06:17 PM   #9
WeldingHank
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 98645
Join Date: Oct 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Lawrence,ma
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Wagon
PSM

Default

i've had my flash-block connected 24/7 for the better part of a year now. I have yet to have any issues with it.
WeldingHank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2008, 06:31 PM   #10
Wheeler Bement
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 15652
Join Date: Feb 2002
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: sugar land, katy
Vehicle:
2002 2.5L WRX Wag.
160K club

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zumble View Post
can the car start at all when its in test mode? If it can't.. maybe I'll rig up a switch as a theft deterrent.

mine started in test mode...the CEL was flashing like crazy as well. I knew instantly what I did so I turned it off. don't know if owuld have driven around the block though.
Wheeler Bement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2008, 08:34 PM   #11
mattminer
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 90642
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Pineapple under the Sea, RI
Vehicle:
WKD Everything

Default

ok...so i broke out my FSM. apparently that connector simply connects data link connector pin 6 to the ecu pin a10, makes sense that nothing happens leaving it connected.

good enough for me

-M@
mattminer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2008, 11:38 PM   #12
fujiillin
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 171344
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: UDel
Vehicle:
2006 STi Wagon
Black HTA Green

Default

I got a $2.00 black plastic switch w/connectors and dremeled a slot in one of the blank switches on the lower left dash.

So much easier than trying to reach under there or getting out of the car. It looks super clean as well..
fujiillin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 09:21 AM   #13
mattminer
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 90642
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Pineapple under the Sea, RI
Vehicle:
WKD Everything

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fujiillin View Post
I got a $2.00 black plastic switch w/connectors and dremeled a slot in one of the blank switches on the lower left dash.

So much easier than trying to reach under there or getting out of the car. It looks super clean as well..
pics?

-M@
mattminer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 11:32 AM   #14
benw
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103320
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Oklahoma City
Vehicle:
2005 wingless
aspen white

Default

I did the same thing that everyone here did. I just let mine sit on the steering column.
benw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 11:41 AM   #15
qoncept
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 44762
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Palo, IA
Vehicle:
2013 BRZ
WRB

Default

Just a heads up, the green test connectors house simple spade connectors. So wire your switch with those and you have an easy to install and easy to remove switch.
qoncept is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 02:38 PM   #16
vaccine
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 94490
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Australia
Default

i did similar to as qoncept said.
a soldered a 9-pole switch thou with the jump-block all wired into it. as well as 2 wires that have plugs on the end for the green connectors. plug and play works a treat!
vaccine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 03:07 PM   #17
mattminer
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 90642
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Pineapple under the Sea, RI
Vehicle:
WKD Everything

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vaccine View Post
i did similar to as qoncept said.
a soldered a 9-pole switch thou with the jump-block all wired into it. as well as 2 wires that have plugs on the end for the green connectors. plug and play works a treat!
where did you get this switch? I was thinking about simply using a DPST switch to do this.

-M@

Last edited by mattminer; 02-12-2008 at 03:20 PM.
mattminer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2008, 09:19 AM   #18
WolfPlayer
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 65054
Join Date: Jun 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Frederick, MD
Vehicle:
2005 STI (CGM)
Descooped / Dewinged

Default

I've had a switch installed for a couple years now. I can't imagine not having a switch installed. I probably have 150 reflashes on my stock computer.

http://www.bescaredracing.com/sti/ec...h/DSC06399.JPG

t
WolfPlayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2008, 06:53 PM   #19
AZScoobie
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 8785
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Vehicle:
02 c_turner@ix.
netcom.com

Default

I made a switch with two crimp on connectors that slide into the greens. I just lay it across my lap and when I need to flash I can flip the switch. You can leave the flash block connector plugged in all the time.

Clark
AZScoobie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2008, 02:21 AM   #20
vaccine
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 94490
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Australia
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattminer View Post
where did you get this switch? I was thinking about simply using a DPST switch to do this.

-M@
didnt know we only had to switch the green connectors and not the block.
make it even easier then. i live in australia and got it from JayCar.
vaccine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2008, 11:19 AM   #21
batchman
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 94656
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: SE Texas
Vehicle:
02 WRX Quicksilver
hums Indiana Jones theme

Default

+1 for micro DPST switch. 2$ from radio shack. they don't carry electronic parts like they used to but they do have these.
batchman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
04 fog switch for reflash, colors? diagram? juiced04 Electrical & Lighting 0 06-10-2009 01:17 AM
Link 44s switching to Reflash on 2002 WRX 2.5, fuel problem, help! fc3swrx Engine Management & Tuning 0 03-30-2009 08:18 PM
Reflash Bait and Switch - Buyer Beware ! Dyno Flash General Community 209 01-10-2007 11:25 PM
UTEC users switching to Reflash? Brad B. Engine Management & Tuning 83 01-15-2006 03:52 PM
Cobb reflash and dealer reflash question battosai Bay Area Impreza Club Forum -- BAIC 0 09-11-2003 11:23 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.