Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday May 27, 2016
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Open Source Reflashes

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-15-2008, 06:52 PM   #1
Kastley85891
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 127704
Join Date: Oct 2006
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: TX/Austin
Vehicle:
2015 Boosted Stang
MAP tuned

Default Finally got WBo2 going - initial fb

So Im running 14.7 at tick over
14.7-15.1 on a cruise
9.1-9.8 at WOT

Should be room for some good power increases here. Well worth the cash.

What you guys think?

Just got to get her logging into Eng test release for full log info and then get her dialed
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Kastley85891 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 02-15-2008, 08:48 PM   #2
Mr.Krinkle
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 109623
Join Date: Mar 2006
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: No teeth,no degrees, VA
Vehicle:
'04 G35 track bitch
'06 Mazda3 hatch

Default

which one did you go with??? if you dont mind me asking how much?
Mr.Krinkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2008, 12:13 AM   #3
Kastley85891
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 127704
Join Date: Oct 2006
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: TX/Austin
Vehicle:
2015 Boosted Stang
MAP tuned

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cardiacwrx View Post
which one did you go with??? if you dont mind me asking how much?


Innoivate Lc-1 with guage and serial cable etc - 299 If I remember correctly and worth every penny , gives you soo much flaxability.

Last edited by Kastley85891; 02-16-2008 at 12:32 AM.
Kastley85891 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2008, 01:27 AM   #4
williaty
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 71092
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Delaware County, Ohio
Vehicle:
2005 2.5RS Wagon
Regal Blue Pearl

Default

I just got mine finished tonight. I have an Innovate LC-1 with just the sensor and cable/controller (so only output is to a laptop, no gauge) for $180. Got a bung welded in for $30 and did the rest of the install myself. I was getting good data out of it the night I put it in, but the status LED wasn't lighting up and the Calibrate button wasn't. Tonight I find out I had a bad LED and that the controller was confused in the head. Swapped in a good LED and did a hard reset of the controller (software command from LM Programmer plus power cycling) and everything is perfect.

Found out my NA was hitting 9 tapering down to ~8.7 on the stock tune

Working on getting it to be flat on 12.5 now.
williaty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2008, 07:13 AM   #5
drkramm
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 159156
Join Date: Sep 2007
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: catasauqua, pa
Vehicle:
2007 wrx
wrb

Default

yea talk about pig rich lol
drkramm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2008, 08:08 AM   #6
WeldingHank
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 98645
Join Date: Oct 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Lawrence,ma
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Wagon
PSM

Default

I have the same wideband, I like it alot.

I got mine from a local vendor. I went there and picked it up with cash and they threw in an LCD display for it for nothing.
WeldingHank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2008, 08:53 PM   #7
Guy on the corner
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 169591
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Colorado
Vehicle:
05 LGT

Default

I ordered mine from Innovate a week ago... still waiting on it.. they were out of stock for a couple days. I've got a shop lined up for the bung weld and found a path through the firewall... looking forward to some data in a few days.

Subscribed.
Guy on the corner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 12:33 AM   #8
wage0052
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 127556
Join Date: Sep 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Minnesota
Vehicle:
2006 WRX
RomRaided.

Angry

Quote:
Originally Posted by williaty View Post
Found out my NA was hitting 9 tapering down to ~8.7 on the stock tune

Working on getting it to be flat on 12.5 now.
Yeah, I my 06 WRX was running about that AFR on the stock tune, as well.
wage0052 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 12:59 AM   #9
williaty
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 71092
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Delaware County, Ohio
Vehicle:
2005 2.5RS Wagon
Regal Blue Pearl

Default

Leaning out the car has had surprising results. It's quieter. It's smoother. It's also raised flame speed enough to require almost 3* of timing retard (which is actually a good thing).
williaty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2008, 12:18 PM   #10
nhat
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 140163
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: 3MI Racing
Vehicle:
03 STi
hellaflunctional

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kastley85891 View Post
So Im running 14.7 at tick over
14.7-15.1 on a cruise
9.1-9.8 at WOT
looks exactly like my car!

i have an innovate lc-1 too and for the money, it's a great product.
nhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2008, 01:04 PM   #11
boxoftj
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 120944
Join Date: Jul 2006
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Fort Bragg, North Carolina
Vehicle:
2004 STi
Aspen White

Default

where'd ya'll get your lc-1's? the cheapest/only one i've found is on scoobytuner for 199.95.
boxoftj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2008, 01:36 PM   #12
nhat
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 140163
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: 3MI Racing
Vehicle:
03 STi
hellaflunctional

Default

that's the going rate. i bought mine from another member on nasioc for $170 brand new. if you don't have a tactrix cable, tunertools.com has a bundle for $280 for the innovate lc-1 and tactrix.
nhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2008, 09:23 PM   #13
boxoftj
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 120944
Join Date: Jul 2006
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Fort Bragg, North Carolina
Vehicle:
2004 STi
Aspen White

Default

whoa... so is that EcuFlash program easy to use? I've got a cobb ap v2 on the way already, and i was planning on getting the StreetTuner software for it, as well as a wideband, and just tap it into the factory harness since usually there's a way to filter the 0-4v wideband signal to a 0-0.9v signal the factory ECU uses, and then log my data thru the ap thru streettuner. Is just fuel tables changeable with that software? i suppose i'll have to read into it a little more...
boxoftj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2008, 09:57 PM   #14
boxoftj
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 120944
Join Date: Jul 2006
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Fort Bragg, North Carolina
Vehicle:
2004 STi
Aspen White

Default

nevermind, you dont have to answer that question. I've just read into the whole world of open source tuning...
boxoftj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 05:13 PM   #15
nhat
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 140163
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: 3MI Racing
Vehicle:
03 STi
hellaflunctional

Default

is street tuner for the ap v2 even available? ecuflash is incredibly easy to use, as is enginuity/romraider if you know what you're doing.

where exactly do you plan on installing your wideband?
nhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 08:03 PM   #16
Phatron
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 36033
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Tuning Lab
Vehicle:
CEO PhatBottiTuning
2006 STi GTX3582 + Meth

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by williaty View Post
Leaning out the car has had surprising results. It's quieter. It's smoother. It's also raised flame speed enough to require almost 3* of timing retard (which is actually a good thing).
can you post up the dyno plots out of airboys spreadsheet of a before (AFR = 9.5) and an after (AFR = 11.xx)?

thanks
Phatron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 11:48 PM   #17
williaty
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 71092
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Delaware County, Ohio
Vehicle:
2005 2.5RS Wagon
Regal Blue Pearl

Default

If I get around to it, but I probably won't. There's no particular reason for me to go back ot the old, rich, map.
williaty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 12:51 AM   #18
Phatron
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 36033
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Tuning Lab
Vehicle:
CEO PhatBottiTuning
2006 STi GTX3582 + Meth

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by williaty View Post
If I get around to it, but I probably won't. There's no particular reason for me to go back ot the old, rich, map.
dont you have a log saved?

i simply cant believe that you've been tuning your car and dont have an old log, but you know that your flame is getting crazy fast
Phatron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 12:59 AM   #19
williaty
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 71092
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Delaware County, Ohio
Vehicle:
2005 2.5RS Wagon
Regal Blue Pearl

Default

I haven't been making "dyno runs" (meaning RPM only) as I've been moving along with the tuning process. And, being an NA, most of the Airboy's sheet doesn't work for me so I haven't been making airboy-style logs either.

The reason I was able to comment on the increase in flame speed is that 1) This is what the textbook says will happen as you lean the mixture out towards mean best torque and 2) The timing that used to be totally knock-free was suddenly knocking like a mofo (which, in the absence of any other change is good circumstantial evidence of an increase in flame speed).
williaty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 01:05 AM   #20
Phatron
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 36033
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Tuning Lab
Vehicle:
CEO PhatBottiTuning
2006 STi GTX3582 + Meth

Default

you dont need to log rpm only. rpm just has to be in the there...it just uses rpm and time. if you get through the rpm range faster you accelerated faster....his spreadsheet also takes into account the vehicle weight, driver weight, coefficient of drag, wheel size, and some other things, but rpm and time are all it uses from the log

wouldnt leaning out the mixture and adding power move you into different load cells too, which would cause knock? so now you are at a higher load at a lower rpm?
Phatron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 01:11 AM   #21
williaty
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 71092
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Delaware County, Ohio
Vehicle:
2005 2.5RS Wagon
Regal Blue Pearl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phatron View Post
you dont need to log rpm only. rpm just has to be in the there...it just uses rpm and time. if you get through the rpm range faster you accelerated faster....his spreadsheet also takes into account the vehicle weight, driver weight, coefficient of drag, wheel size, and some other things, but rpm and time are all it uses from the log

wouldnt leaning out the mixture and adding power move you into different load cells too, which would cause knock? so now you are at a higher load at a lower rpm?
If you're logging much more than just RPM, the samples are so far apart that you don't get good resolution. Which is an academic point since, as I've said, I haven't been using the airboy spreadsheet at all.

I'm not sure how it is with a turbo, but with a NA, loading is just determined by RPM and throttle opening angle. How much power you're making from fueling or timing has no effect on the amount of air entering the engine. So leaning the car out won't change where it is on the map.
williaty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 02:37 AM   #22
wrxsti.l
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 156973
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Vehicle:
2002 ADM WRX STi
STi Black/Blue

Default

^^ I logged about 8 things at a time the other week and get about 4-6 logged points per second - is that good or bad resolution?
wrxsti.l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 12:55 PM   #23
williaty
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 71092
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Delaware County, Ohio
Vehicle:
2005 2.5RS Wagon
Regal Blue Pearl

Default

Personally, if I intend to make a dyno plot from the data, I don't log anything other than RPM. There's a thread on the RomRaider forums about software dynos. You should read it.
williaty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2008, 07:00 PM   #24
boxoftj
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 120944
Join Date: Jul 2006
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Fort Bragg, North Carolina
Vehicle:
2004 STi
Aspen White

Default

scoobytuner still sells the streettuner software. When i get a wideband, i've heard from most tuning sources (and by most i mean element tuning, when i had a hydra in my old wrx) that it's best to put it after the turbo, for some reason. so i suppose i'll just take the rear o2 sensor out (since i'm *coughcatlesscough) and put the wideband there. but then again, that may only be for the stand alone. What has everyone else heard about it? I had another question... What's the flash life for subaru ECU's? I'm a technician for BMW and the flash life for the DME (digital motor electronics, crazy germans) only has a flash life of 13 flashes in the older ecus, and newer ones only about 35ish. Is there a live tuning feature with any of the open source programs? Since you have to log, tune, flash, log, tune flash, etc etc untill its right. i've got some tuning experience but i'm not an expert by any means yet. that is really the only reason i was planning on the cobb over opensource, cuz i dont want to save a butload of money only to find i ate up my ECU rom memory and need to fork over cash for a new one.
boxoftj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2008, 10:51 PM   #25
nhat
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 140163
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: 3MI Racing
Vehicle:
03 STi
hellaflunctional

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boxoftj View Post
What has everyone else heard about it?
everything i've read and have been told indicates that the wideband should be installed after the turbo. if you're catless, anywhere is fine but closer to the turbo allows for faster readings. if you're catted, the wideband should be installed between the turbo and the first cat in the dp.

however, a friend of mine (professional tuner) has an innovate lm-1 and, like most tuners, places the wideband sensor into the tailpipe. that's how he tuned my gf's stock 06 wrx.

Quote:
Originally Posted by boxoftj View Post
What's the flash life for subaru ECU's?
people have gone into the 100s with no failure.
nhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Finally! Finally! got it! 06 wrx dodiox General Community 32 09-25-2005 02:09 AM
N00b tuner Q: I've got WBO2 and EGT and it will log RPM/MAP along with it, what else? kgb Engine Management & Tuning 3 09-16-2005 02:52 PM
Finally got rid of my 19" tv and got this. imdrew12 Off-Topic 16 09-09-2004 07:44 PM
I just put my new 2.5 motor in my 97 L- finally got everything all set to go and turn Murray Normally Aspirated Powertrain 12 12-30-2002 08:24 PM
ahhh....finally got digital camera....got pics..... the spacecowboy General Forum Archive 8 10-03-2000 06:36 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2016 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2016, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.