Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday April 19, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Electrical & Lighting

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-20-2012, 05:25 PM   #826
AFBeefcake
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 27874
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Griswold,CT
Vehicle:
2002 WRX 6MT 312whp
05 LGT

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fonzey View Post
Out of interest, once the dials are plugged into the car - can the chip be reprogrammed via the car's serial interface port?

If the dealer for example needed to change the mileage on a car - would they be dismantling the cluster, unsoldering the chip and reprogramming or would they just plug into the diagnostics port and do it that way?
Dealers cant change the mileage at lest not that I have every heard. In the USA they would put a sticker on the door frame to indicate that the cluster was replaced at some mileage with a new one that has 0 miles on it.

I can program the chips without removing them from the cluster, but I have to remove the cluster from the car, disassembly it, and then solder some wires on to the board and use an in circuit programmer.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
AFBeefcake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 05:34 PM   #827
Fonzey
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 338440
Join Date: Nov 2012
Default

Thanks for the info Beefcake, much appreciated.

The incorrect mileage on my car wouldn't bother me so much, but I'd dread explaining the situation when it came to selling the car on!
Fonzey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 11:33 PM   #828
grinch77
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 198758
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Coweta,OK
Vehicle:
2004 STi

Default

I just installed a Prodrive with dccd into my '04 STi and now the back lighting dosent work and none of the hvac controls light up. Anyone have a remedy for this?
grinch77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 11:38 PM   #829
Rymaster
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 296277
Join Date: Sep 2011
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
Silver

Default

05 USDM STI Cluster into 02 WRX auto
---------------------------------

-Cut B28 wire (cause radio fuse not to blow)
-Cut C9 wire (causing buzzing to stop)
-Shaved the A connector down slightly with a razor blade, leaving two open pins on the cluster exposed.
-Used two layers of electrical tape over the DCCD, ABS, Rear Diff Temp, and STI lights.

Sent cluster out to Speedometers, got it back within 2 weeks all done(slow shipping, they had it done the same day they got it)

Works great! Link to my thread about the swap.

http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show....php?t=2436041
Rymaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 12:53 AM   #830
Ikant
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 235925
Join Date: Jan 2010
Default

so what about the a9 wire? i thought we were supposed to cut that one? does it hurt anything if you do?
Ikant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 12:53 AM   #831
noHkost
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 290422
Join Date: Aug 2011
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Vehicle:
2004 Subaru WRX
Java Black Pearl

Have a Nice Day? 05 STi cluster swap into 04 WRX

HELPP! Everything plugs in except the harness that plugs into the gas/temp I need to know whether this can be modified or not . Also, how to get rid of the buzzing noise , I can care less about the Brake light and other lights. I just need some help. Thanks!
noHkost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 11:17 PM   #832
Rymaster
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 296277
Join Date: Sep 2011
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
Silver

Default

Did you figure it out? You have to shave down the A plug sometimes, it leaves two pins open. What year is your car and what year cluster are you putting in? Wrx? Sti?
Rymaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 11:41 PM   #833
Rymaster
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 296277
Join Date: Sep 2011
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ikant View Post
so what about the a9 wire? i thought we were supposed to cut that one? does it hurt anything if you do?
No it's the C9 wire, NOT A9.

At least for my year that I posted about, 02 WRX with 05 STI cluster.

It's been mistakenly called the A9 previous in this thread. If you are looking at the cluster it goes left to right labeling them. A- --B-- -C
Rymaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 07:28 PM   #834
Infidel82
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 343068
Join Date: Jan 2013
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: GVRD
Vehicle:
1999 RSTI
Red on red

Default Help

Hello everybody. I may be in the wrong place but hoping to get some insight.

I have a 1999 RS 2.5 (98 wiring) with a JDM V5 EJ20 running on a Haltech Sport 1000. Most everything is jiving, my issue lies in the fuel gauge department. After I installed the Haltech I lost my fuel gauge. Now I have done some poking around, as of yet the best I got was the low fuel light to work..... Atleast I know when Im bingo fuel. For that I ended up Grounding the ground wires on bulkhead B84: 80,20,69,95,94,19,46,17 and 18. Pretty much all the factory ecu grounds. Now Im left with the only real possibility that the 5 volt ref is missing. This I suspect is B84 wire 21...... Now the big question, if the Factory ecu provided this 5v, how to supply it without ECU?

Any help or insight would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks
Infidel82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 05:12 PM   #835
tersplat
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 337888
Join Date: Nov 2012
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Groton, CT
Vehicle:
2003 WRX Wagon
World Rally Blue

Default

just installed my Ver7 ecu last night into my Canadain spec bugeye wagon, and it was a complete plug and play, no modifying plugs, cutting wires, or anything, and I have NO abnormal lights on. looks like it came in the car originally!
tersplat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 03:51 PM   #836
sackytar
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 149262
Join Date: May 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Vehicle:
03WR XRace/XTDD/98SJ
PrimerGrey

Default

Does anyone know where I can get the 2003 WRX pinout diagram USDM?

Trying to hook up a 2007 sti to 2003 wrx and make my DCCDPro see the sti cluster.
sackytar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 04:24 PM   #837
sackytar
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 149262
Join Date: May 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Vehicle:
03WR XRace/XTDD/98SJ
PrimerGrey

Default

Fingered it out!
sackytar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 10:36 PM   #838
arco
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 57156
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: socal
Vehicle:
2007 V.8 207 STi
Mercedes Polar White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by todeswalzer View Post
05 + 06 clusters are the same
Quote:
Originally Posted by 05-rsx View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Micky View Post
^^^ What he said. Here is 2004 ~ 2006 comparison for the 3 plugs, B + C are the same.

I'm an 07 STi owner that is needing a replacement STi cluster. I have gone through and searched the thread but there is no definite comment on which STi clusters are the same. Based off of this and my reading in the thread, would I be correct in saying that the USDM 04 STi is different from the USDM 05-07 STi clusters? Can I get any 05-07 STi cluster as a plug and play replacement?

I need to replace my cluster and do not want to modify the cluster wiring because I want everything to be working as it should. (I'm not trying to make "shortcuts" but am looking for the CORRECT replacement). Thanks in advance!

Last edited by arco; 01-25-2013 at 11:02 PM.
arco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 10:27 PM   #839
Denninger16
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 290966
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Poconos Pa
Vehicle:
2005 Wrx
World Rally Blue

Default

Bumping this up. But I'm looking to put a 07 Sti cluster in my 05 wrx I looked got write ups and stuff couldn't find anything. If anyone has any info, or a write up please let me know thanks!!
Denninger16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 05:56 PM   #840
minorc
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 208229
Join Date: Apr 2009
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: Ontario
Vehicle:
2007 WRX
CGM

Default

Probably the dumbest question ever but how do you ground a pin? Do I cut it and add wire to a chassis ground ? Pull out and tape.. ?
minorc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 10:51 AM   #841
Tiller35
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 217006
Join Date: Jul 2009
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Westfield, MA
Vehicle:
2002 RS - Project
Haven't Painted it

Default

Has anyone swapped 04-07 wrx/sti gauges into an 02 RS?

When I bought a "full" 07 wrx wiring harness, it didn't come with the 'gauge' harness. One of the 02 RS plugs does fit in with the new 07 harness but the other side is too small. Is my only option to get the new gauge cluster and 'gauge harness'? or can I merge them?
Tiller35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 08:42 PM   #842
25rsti
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 166324
Join Date: Dec 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Haverhill, MA
Vehicle:
3 turbos &n NA
@DBlockSTi

Default

It's not your only option but if I were you I would search for an 07 wrx gauge harness. Don't cheap out now, seems like you did right as to swap out the entire car.
25rsti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 10:28 AM   #843
DUST 3000
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 298544
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Michigan
Vehicle:
2006 WRX
Gray

Default 2007 STi to a 2006 WRX Cluster swap

Does anyone have any info on how to do a STi cluster swap to a 2006 WRX? is it the same as the 2007 STi to a 2007 WRX?
Any help is appreciated, Thanks in advance!
DUST 3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 01:03 AM   #844
spokenlastchance
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 310930
Join Date: Feb 2012
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
WRB

Default

I've been having trouble with my water temp needle. It will do an entire full sweep, but it will not read anything after that is just goes all the way back down. After moving the needle around it looks like it's not fully on there from what I can tell. I haven't really found any information on how to pull them off the only person that I have known to have done that was Interior Flair any he is no longer doing this stuff. Anyone got any advise?
spokenlastchance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 03:58 AM   #845
keegancdr
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 226355
Join Date: Oct 2009
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: WSU / Mt Vernon Wa
Vehicle:
2002 Bugeye
wrb

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CoolRex View Post
^^^^^^Don't need to


Oh here's the diagram guys.

This works for my 2004 WRX using a 2004 USDM STi. Use at your own risk.....I'm not responsible if you damage something.

ok after a bunch of searching of this thread i found this picture. now i just bought a 2004 USDM STI gauge cluster and my car is a 2002 USDM wrx, my question, is will this work for me ?
keegancdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 02:04 PM   #846
keegancdr
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 226355
Join Date: Oct 2009
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: WSU / Mt Vernon Wa
Vehicle:
2002 Bugeye
wrb

Default

bump for my question^^
keegancdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 03:43 PM   #847
spokenlastchance
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 310930
Join Date: Feb 2012
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
WRB

Default

Yes it should that is a geneal mock up most people have had success with it.
spokenlastchance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013, 04:02 AM   #848
keegancdr
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 226355
Join Date: Oct 2009
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: WSU / Mt Vernon Wa
Vehicle:
2002 Bugeye
wrb

Default

does anyone have pictures of this?
keegancdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 02:30 AM   #849
bigcale
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 55959
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Roseville, CA
Vehicle:
05 WRX Wagon
Silver

Default

OK I have an 05 wrx, what is the easiest (least amount of wires to mess with since I have color blindness issues) STI cluster to swap in?
bigcale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 03:57 AM   #850
keegancdr
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 226355
Join Date: Oct 2009
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: WSU / Mt Vernon Wa
Vehicle:
2002 Bugeye
wrb

Default

i got in there today, you shouldnt have too much trouble with the color blindness because the connector sais in really small print on the connector itself what the pin numbers are. As for easiness i would say go with an 04 STI gauge cluster. thats what i picked up and i had huge success with mine. but then again i have an 02 bugeye. i would say that it should work out the same for you tho. use the thread search button in this thread because there is a bunch of info in here.
keegancdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
can we get some mods to start deleting duplicate threads? [27] Political Playground 2 11-05-2008 02:01 AM
STi hare emblem? where can i get one... evoeater8 Interior & Exterior Modification 13 07-12-2006 08:53 PM
can we get something started in RDU???(nc) imprezivSTi04 Mid Atlantic Impreza Club -- MAIC 3 04-04-2006 06:47 PM
02 sti hood scoop?? where can i get one? slaterdrew Private 'Wanted' Classifieds 2 02-06-2004 11:37 AM
lighted keyhole ring, can we get one? makanouchi Interior & Exterior Modification 12 11-22-2002 08:38 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.