Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday August 20, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Newbies & FAQs

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-28-2008, 12:04 AM   #1
jimbui
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 175715
Join Date: Mar 2008
Default Link Error when trying to pull codes

I bought this Actron CP9135 scanner to try and pull codes associated with CEL in my 2000 Subaru Impreza.

Boots up fine upon connection, then trying to read the codes, nothing but Linking Error. Tried the Mil function and still Link Error.
Key crank to On...Link Error
No Key in Ignition... Link Error

I used the Scanner on my 95 Ford Windstar and pulled the codes no problem.

So something is up with my Impreza.

Car is regularly maintain, with recent changes to timing belt, brakes, oil, differentials, stocks and struts. Still running strong at 230,000 KM. But the CEL is annoying and worries me. Earlier in the Year, No CEL, then few weeks after, constant CEL turning on and off whenever it feels moody. Now CEL is always on.

Can't pull codes with only link error.. Can anyone help me out??

Anyone know what the problem is and can assist me to a solution??

Much Appreciated,

Jim
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
jimbui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2008, 12:44 PM   #2
romanlynch
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 126684
Join Date: Sep 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Lima, OH
Vehicle:
02 wrx
PLATINUM silver baby

Default

not sure why it wont communicate, but you could always go to autozone and they pull the codes for free, or so i hear. another thing is call actron or go to their website (www.actron.com)

i went to the website and the 9145 has an optional kit so you can read OBD I, with you being able to scan your 95 (OBD I) it might be setup for that system instead of OBD II
romanlynch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2008, 10:21 PM   #3
subaru0276
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 172940
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: a sunny place in pa
Vehicle:
02 wrxstg2alicious
ifudontknowicanthelpu

Default

Check and make sure all the pins in the plug are making good contact. Have the same prob with my cousins 01 Rs. All i did was give the plug a good wiggle till it linked. Also make sure you dont have any corrision build up in the obd2 port. Yes AutoZone pulls codes i should know i work there. It will work Dont give up!!!!
subaru0276 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2008, 11:24 PM   #4
jimbui
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 175715
Join Date: Mar 2008
Default

I have checked all the fuses, all are still good! both inside the car and in the engine bay.

I also tried to read my brother 2003 Neon, of course it didn't have the CEL, but it read and pass all test.

I'm starting to have the feeling I have to replace the computer inside the car??

I will try the wiggle technique.

As for corrision build-up, you mean for the scanner or the car port??
And if there is corrision...how am i'm susposed to clean it if its a female plug??

Thanks,

Jim
jimbui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2008, 11:38 PM   #5
jimbui
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 175715
Join Date: Mar 2008
Default

So I tried the CP9135 actron scanner again on my cousins 02 WRX with no CEL. Still reads up link error. Starting to believe the scanner isn't compatiable with J1942 protocal?? or Just subaru's in general.

The Wiggle technique does not work either..

I think its time for me to start shopping again.
jimbui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2008, 11:44 PM   #6
Arctic Penguin
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 119532
Join Date: Jul 2006
Vehicle:
2006 WRX

Default

i have had that same actron cp9135 scanner for years

it has read every car i have ever plugged it into---and that is literally hundreds of cars including all manner if obdII subarus including both my 02 and 06 wrx

you have a bad unit or bad plugs or some other issue
Arctic Penguin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2008, 12:14 AM   #7
jimbui
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 175715
Join Date: Mar 2008
Default

So what are my options then??

Bad unit? if it works with domestic cars I doubt it could be faulty..

Bad plugs?? possibly in my impreza 2000 with CEL, but my cousins 02 WRX with no CEL I don't know..

Some other issues?? Maybe is faulty unit?? Autozone, theres only 1 location in Calgary AB where i reside.

I'm definitely jealous that your unit works at full capacity.
jimbui is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I've tried to pull codes from TCM but it doesnt work!!! possible bad tcm unit? MR2fanatic Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline 0 08-12-2009 01:19 PM
The following error has occurred when trying to submit this message Asinine Off-Topic 1 06-07-2007 11:10 AM
Error while trying to install map on PP6 Honkey3k Normally Aspirated Powertrain 7 05-28-2007 09:18 PM
Fedora Core 4 error while trying to use 'make' StuBeck Off-Topic 11 08-30-2005 08:01 PM
Still getting an error message when trying to post AudiGuy General Forum Archive 10 10-16-2000 10:46 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.