Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday September 4, 2015
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Miscellaneous > Off-Topic

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-08-2008, 11:59 AM   #1
-=C=-
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 7719
Join Date: Jun 2001
Vehicle:
99 F-150 crew cab
with illegals in bed

Default Can I run 208/240v in one room of my house easily?

I have a computer room that also has a LCD TV and surround sound system. Everything plugged into a wall outlet can operate on 240v.

Would it be expensive for an electrician to setup a single 208 or 240v circuit just for that room?

I'm thinking I could end up with less power usage overall and longer equipment life.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
-=C=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 04-08-2008, 12:08 PM   #2
Wires
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 36677
Join Date: May 2003
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: North Georgia
Vehicle:
2003 WRX Wagon
Sedona Red

Default

Uh, your device will use the same amount of power, regardless of the supply voltage.

No, it wouldn't be very expensive for an electrician to run one 240 circuit to your room, but, you really don't need one.
Wires is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2008, 12:10 PM   #3
Akirasoft
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 2973
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Wonder Lake, IL
Vehicle:
2015 X3 35i M-Sport
Black

Default

would be less amperage, but wattage would be the same. no point.
Akirasoft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2008, 12:25 PM   #4
vapore0n
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 21356
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: MA
Vehicle:
2010 BMW 335i
Blue

Default

unless your amp requires 240V, it is unnecessary

Oh and running a line like that costed me 500$
Install new breaker, run line, make connections
vapore0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2008, 12:28 PM   #5
beethoven
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 6654
Join Date: May 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Wis-Con-sin
Vehicle:
2006 Odyssey
2006 Prius

Default

About the only reason to do that is if your equipment is going to pull > 15A at 110, otherwise there isn't much benefit.
beethoven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2010, 08:37 AM   #6
WRteXan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 223894
Join Date: Sep 2009
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Sugaru Land
Default

I'm glad people seem to have some common sense here. High voltage is more efficient over long runs (transmission lines), or in cases where the current draw to cable size ratio is high (A/C, heater, air compressor). In the second case, it is typically not cost effective to go with any larger wire than already in use.

The efficiency increase you would see in this situation wouldn't pay for the install over the life of a home... heck, it might not even pay for the breaker.

Sources: BSEE 2001, specialized in power generation and transmission since.
WRteXan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2010, 08:56 AM   #7
chapstien
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 68284
Join Date: Aug 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: State of disapoint
Vehicle:
1988 Corolla SR5
invisible to females

Default

You bumped a 2 year old thread for that?
chapstien is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2010, 08:59 AM   #8
nhluhr
John Wayne Toilet Paper
Moderator
 
Member#: 7327
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
2008 Mazdaspeed3
2006 Wrangler Sport

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chapstien View Post
You bumped a 2 year old thread for that?
Well, nobody gave a correct answer other than WRteXan. <shrug>. The main problem is the OP didn't know what he's talking about. 208v is 3-phase derived from 3 120v phases whereas 240v is a single phase standard (120v is a half-tap of a 240 transformer so a 240v supply would need to be provided unless he already has it). No consumer electronics give you the option of using single-phase or 3-phase.

Last edited by nhluhr; 06-03-2010 at 09:04 AM.
nhluhr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2010, 08:59 AM   #9
CrashTestRacer
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 66394
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Rochester, NY
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Wagon

Default

You're trying to confuse us with your "208" volts, aren't you? 208V is a 3 phase voltage in the US. I'm going to doubt you have 3 phase power to your house.

ahh crap, it is 2 years old
CrashTestRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2010, 09:26 AM   #10
Kiel
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 133439
Join Date: Nov 2006
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: An actual house! With rooms!
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
Sonic Yellow - Stage Taxi

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chapstien View Post
You bumped a 2 year old thread for that?
To be fair, he complimented us.
Kiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Comcast can GTFO of my house RallyGuy2k Texas Impreza Club Forum -- TXIC 81 07-04-2010 03:43 PM
Did you see a sign in the front of my house that said dead ****** storage? hitman912 Off-Topic 65 12-26-2006 12:13 AM
Sighting: WRB WRX w/spoiler parked practically in front of my house... thebusiness999 Southern California Impreza Club Forum -- SCIC 0 07-05-2002 02:47 PM
Sighting in front of my house :] Mazoku Mid West Subaru Owners Club Forum -- MWSOC 3 10-05-2001 01:43 AM
Spotted: Right In Front of My House!!! North Ursalia New England Impreza Club Forum -- NESIC 5 10-16-2000 03:29 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2015 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2015, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.