Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Tuesday June 2, 2015
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Factory 2.5L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.5L Turbo)

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-30-2008, 01:29 AM   #1
cobbler
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 70947
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Default Want ecutek gone! need help

I know this is kinda in the wrong area but there's not enough traffic in the EM threads

So i'm trying to get opensource tuned and my tuner is licensed to take off the locked ecutek map which i think is rediculous. i have to drive 4 hours to my original tuner just to have him take it off?

i dunno what i wanna do because i have mods that needs to be tuned but y stock ecu is stuck on the ecutek.

if anyone has any opinions on what i can do to get my ecu to stock wouldbe a lifesaver.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
cobbler is offline  
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 04-30-2008, 03:21 AM   #2
McBain_TP
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 43986
Join Date: Sep 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Arlington, MA
Vehicle:
2002 WRX wagon RIP
2003 330ci black/tan

Default

Do what I did: buy a used ECU and sell the one with the Ecutek license.
McBain_TP is offline  
Old 04-30-2008, 03:42 AM   #3
asianhulk
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 77529
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Anchorage, AK
Vehicle:
05 Beat up Jeep
Alaska Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cobbler View Post
I know this is kinda in the wrong area but there's not enough traffic in the EM threads

So i'm trying to get opensource tuned and my tuner is licensed to take off the locked ecutek map which i think is rediculous. i have to drive 4 hours to my original tuner just to have him take it off?

i dunno what i wanna do because i have mods that needs to be tuned but y stock ecu is stuck on the ecutek.

if anyone has any opinions on what i can do to get my ecu to stock wouldbe a lifesaver.
could you mail it to him?
asianhulk is offline  
Old 04-30-2008, 06:42 AM   #4
MattPersman
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 139385
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Indiana
Default

the only person I could find to do it for me at the time was Tim Bailey. I also got tuned by him about 2 days afterwards though. story was I got tuned by DynoFlash on Ecutek basic stage 2 flash no problems with it car ran fine. anyways move down the road a few months and putting new turbo and supporting mods on the car and I can't do anything with my ECU. being in Indiana there are no professional tuners and none anywhere remotely close that do anything with Ecutek. so I removed my Ecutek locked ECM out of the car and Fedex'd it to Tim and he made it stock again and gave me a "limp" in map to drive to Buschur for him to tune my car on the mighty COBB AP2.

not sure if Tim does any Texas tuning. Clark might be the guy to talk to. hard to find Ecutek tuners with the capability to unlock your ECM back to stock via mail in

tons of thanks to Tim www.surgelinetuning.com
MattPersman is offline  
Old 04-30-2008, 11:42 AM   #5
benw
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103320
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Oklahoma City
Vehicle:
2005 wingless
aspen white

Default

an unadvertised feature of the accessport version 2... it can remove the hardcore locked EcuTek licenses. Get a friend to unmarry his APv2, marry it to your car. It will detect the EcuTek flash and warn you that it is about to erase it. Afterwards, unmarry the APv2 and your ECU will be clean and ready for open source.
benw is offline  
Old 04-30-2008, 11:48 AM   #6
wrx_driver_2002
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 25952
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Under your hood :-)
Vehicle:
1995 Impreza Coupe
w/ "Extras" :-)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by benw View Post
an unadvertised feature of the accessport version 2... it can remove the hardcore locked EcuTek licenses. Get a friend to unmarry his APv2, marry it to your car. It will detect the EcuTek flash and warn you that it is about to erase it. Afterwards, unmarry the APv2 and your ECU will be clean and ready for open source.
That Method won't work. When an AP installs onto a vehicle, it saves the base rom file from the ECU, after which it writes its own base rom with the AP identifier into the ECU (Probably the same piece of information that tells Ecutek that there's an "Ecutek License" was put into the ecu. Anyways. When you unmarry the AP, it copies the original rom file back to the car (Could be an open source or an ecutek tune already there).
wrx_driver_2002 is online now  
Old 04-30-2008, 01:05 PM   #7
McBain_TP
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 43986
Join Date: Sep 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Arlington, MA
Vehicle:
2002 WRX wagon RIP
2003 330ci black/tan

Default

All these methods involve throwing money away. I sold my Ecutek ecu for $300, and paid $75 for a used one.
McBain_TP is offline  
Old 04-30-2008, 01:45 PM   #8
cobbler
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 70947
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Default

i just talked to cobb you can use a v2 AP marry, unmarry and you will have basically a stock map from one cobb's generic stock tune left on your car

thanks benw
cobbler is offline  
Old 04-30-2008, 04:00 PM   #9
Unabomber
Big Ron
Moderator
 
Member#: 18062
Join Date: Apr 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: I can save you a ton of cash
Vehicle:
on car parts so PM
me b4 j00 buy

Default

This forum is NOT your ashtray.
Unabomber is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Turbo going or gone, need help! argh6 Baja Forum 14 03-15-2010 02:28 AM
i want ecutek gone! need help cobbler Commercial ECU Reflashes 2 04-30-2008 11:46 AM
My AIM buddy list is gone!!! Need help please!!!! propertytaxguru Off-Topic 9 11-24-2003 02:13 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2015 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2015, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.