Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday April 18, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Electrical & Lighting

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-13-2008, 02:40 PM   #1
SBPhilly
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 134454
Join Date: Dec 2006
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Norristown
Vehicle:
2004 Impreza WRX STI
Silver/Silver

Default How do I setup an Accessory fuse box?

I am trying to wire the led rings on the headlights of my 98 accord(my other car is an 04 STI) and I want to run them seperate from the other lights, I have a switch for them I want to mount on my dash.

So to setup an accessory fuse box do I just tap right onto the battery terminal or do I run the power from somewhere else??

Thanks in advance
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
SBPhilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2008, 04:16 PM   #2
Cougar4
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 53443
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Anchorage, AK
Vehicle:
2001 LL Bean Outback
Winestone

Default

If the new circuit doesn't require very much current you could just tie into one of the exsisting fuse circuits by using a fuse tap. This replaces an exsisting fuse with a fuse holder. You then place the regular fuse in one slot and then another slot is filled with a fuse to run to the new circuit. A good parts store will have these.
Cougar4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2008, 02:09 PM   #3
SBPhilly
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 134454
Join Date: Dec 2006
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Norristown
Vehicle:
2004 Impreza WRX STI
Silver/Silver

Default

Ok I found a fuse tap but it is for the larger sized fuse's do you know if they make a mini fuse tap??
SBPhilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2008, 10:48 PM   #4
Cougar4
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 53443
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Anchorage, AK
Vehicle:
2001 LL Bean Outback
Winestone

Default

They do have them available for the smaller fuses also.
Cougar4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 12:16 AM   #5
jonney_boy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 28747
Join Date: Nov 2002
Chapter/Region: VIC
Vehicle:
06 WRX

Default

In my pickup where there is lots of space I have one of these installed
http://bluesea.com/category/5/21/productline/126

it gives me 12 circuts to play with...... I power it with a fused 4 guage from the battery.... way overkill but works GREAT

I have a much smaller version of this for the wrx..... (soon to be installed)
jonney_boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 03:09 PM   #6
SBPhilly
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 134454
Join Date: Dec 2006
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Norristown
Vehicle:
2004 Impreza WRX STI
Silver/Silver

Default

Jonney_boy so you just run power to the bottem terminal??
and ground the top terminal and then the rest of the terminals are to run the power to the corresponding accesory?

WHere can I get one of these??
SBPhilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 11:38 PM   #7
jonney_boy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 28747
Join Date: Nov 2002
Chapter/Region: VIC
Vehicle:
06 WRX

Default

yes.. you have to run a FUSED power line to the bottom terminal.. and the top terminal is for ground (if you want to use it... else purchase one without the ground.. they are much smaller and easier to fit under the hood).

Each accessory can have one circuit....... fused for the wire size you deside to run.

Again, these are "way" overkill for your use.. but they do work very well.... I picked mine up from
http://www.northeastmarineelectronic...OD&ProdID=5604

ps.. the total thing is good for 100 amps... but each circuit is only good for 30 amps...... so you can't power anything really power hungary with it (larger stereo amps or good sized inverters).
jonney_boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I change the accessory belts in 03 wrx? Lordhowe Service & Maintenance 12 06-04-2009 03:43 PM
How do I know what size fuse to.... jdiddy Car Audio, Video & Security 31 03-12-2007 07:40 PM
How do I install an 02 WRX stereo in an 04 STi? adrive43 Car Audio, Video & Security 6 08-23-2005 11:47 PM
How do I actually tap a fuse for gauge install? phyzical Electrical & Lighting 14 02-15-2005 05:07 PM
***? car won't start? how do u take out a fuse scobaru Mid West Subaru Owners Club Forum -- MWSOC 4 02-14-2005 01:27 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.