Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Sunday April 20, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-23-2008, 09:24 PM   #1
MConte05
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 158579
Join Date: Sep 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: St. Louis
Vehicle:
2005 Lotus Elise SC
94 Legacy Rally Car

Default ScanGauge II XGauge Commands that work with Subarus

Anyone have any luck knowing what XGauge commands work reliably with Subaru's? So far I have the Horsepower working, but when at full load it thinks my 173HP of N/A Fury is a 1000HP beast.

Any others like Tranny Temp, Coolant temp or any other interesting ones work?

Or does anyone know where I would be able to find out how to determine what codes refer to what on the Subaru ECU's?

Here is a PDF of the various XGauge possibilities with other cars, I have only just started experimenting with what works and what doesn't.

http://scangauge.com/support/pdfs/XGAUGE.pdf
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
MConte05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2008, 08:54 AM   #2
bguthro
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 185817
Join Date: Jul 2008
Default XGuage?

I just got my SG2 on my 05 WRX -& I thought I'd bump this thread up...
I was just wondering if you ever got any other XGauge commands working?
bguthro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2008, 01:15 AM   #3
jbleee
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 72366
Join Date: Oct 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Lake Oswego, Oregon
Vehicle:
2004 Forester X - MT
Gold

Default

bump too... i just have hp entered in as well
jbleee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2008, 03:36 PM   #4
rkramer
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 118209
Join Date: Jun 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: North Dakota
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Sedan

Default

nobody else? HP works on my wrx, I've seen 240 hp momentarily. it is somewhat sporadic though for peak HP because it samples and averages, even on the highest rate setting. Interesting to watch the dip in HP at idle from the AC though, mine usually goes from around 8hp at idle to 6.8 or so with it turned on.
rkramer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2008, 11:32 AM   #5
20BlueWRX02
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 156673
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Midland, MI
Vehicle:
2006 WRX Limited
WRB

Default

I just got one of these and I'm going to be playing around with it as well... I don't think it's a big hit with the subaru community which is why nobody really talks about it. But I'll be playing around with it to see what other gauges I get working.
20BlueWRX02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 09:21 AM   #6
H-Dtech
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 139430
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: WV->AK
Vehicle:
08 FSXT 5mt
WRB 1 of 300

Default

bump to find out how to get MPG to work. I just installed mine and went for a quick drive, and all it would tell me for MPG was 0.0 and then 999999999.
H-Dtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 11:01 AM   #7
DrSaabaru
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 183225
Join Date: Jun 2008
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego, CA
Vehicle:
2005 Saab 9-2x Aero

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by H-Dtech View Post
bump to find out how to get MPG to work. I just installed mine and went for a quick drive, and all it would tell me for MPG was 0.0 and then 999999999.
I didn't have to do anything special to get MPG to work. It wasn't very accurate until I calibrated it over a few fill ups, but I got readings right away.

Do you ever get anything but 0.0 and 9999? Mine reads 0.0 when I'm not moving, naturually. And it reads 9999 when I'm coasting in gear -- the injectors shut down, so I'm getting effectively infinite mileage.
DrSaabaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 11:50 AM   #8
wrxdrvr
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 79222
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Canada BC
Vehicle:
'09 STi 297.5 WHP
Blue

Default

Don't you need to enter the number of cylinders, tank size, Type of fuel...
wrxdrvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 12:33 PM   #9
H-Dtech
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 139430
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: WV->AK
Vehicle:
08 FSXT 5mt
WRB 1 of 300

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrSaabaru View Post
I didn't have to do anything special to get MPG to work. It wasn't very accurate until I calibrated it over a few fill ups, but I got readings right away.

Do you ever get anything but 0.0 and 9999? Mine reads 0.0 when I'm not moving, naturually. And it reads 9999 when I'm coasting in gear -- the injectors shut down, so I'm getting effectively infinite mileage.
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrxdrvr View Post
Don't you need to enter the number of cylinders, tank size, Type of fuel...
I entered my engine size, tank size, and type of fuel, but have gotten nothing but 0.0 and 999..., I did some other work to the car and took it for another drive and It wouldn't read my ign timing, engine load, or MAP this time, where it was earlier. I'm wondering if I have the sampling rate up too high, because I know from what I have read that the MPG calculates every 2 sec. and right now I have it set to refresh as fast as possible.
H-Dtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 01:17 PM   #10
wrxdrvr
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 79222
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Canada BC
Vehicle:
'09 STi 297.5 WHP
Blue

Default

I would unplug it and let it go through it's set up again using the default to its factory setting and use medium or slow scan rate.
wrxdrvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 03:59 PM   #11
H-Dtech
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 139430
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: WV->AK
Vehicle:
08 FSXT 5mt
WRB 1 of 300

Default

well I lowered the sample rate as low as it would go, and went for a longer drive and everything was giving me a reading including mpg. so on the way back I stopped and raised the sample rate to normal and everything was still working for the rest of the trip, so I guess It just took alittle while for it to get enough info for it to give me a reading.
H-Dtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 08:09 AM   #12
20BlueWRX02
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 156673
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Midland, MI
Vehicle:
2006 WRX Limited
WRB

Default

Does anyone else have a problem with their scangaugeII reseting itself after heavy acceleration and max boost?

It seems like when I get on it, everything resets to zero and I get some crazy good gas mileage. Like it shows over 5000 miles until my tank is empty??
20BlueWRX02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 10:30 AM   #13
wrxdrvr
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 79222
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Canada BC
Vehicle:
'09 STi 297.5 WHP
Blue

Default

Mine shuts off sometimes when I keep it on the fast sample rate, but works well on the slow sample rate,
wrxdrvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2008, 09:25 AM   #14
20BlueWRX02
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 156673
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Midland, MI
Vehicle:
2006 WRX Limited
WRB

Default

Thanks for that advice... I'll try it today. It's really frustrating!
20BlueWRX02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 05:18 PM   #15
maglite
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 194477
Join Date: Nov 2008
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Cambridge, MA
Vehicle:
2005 Outback Sport
Grey

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by H-Dtech View Post
I entered my engine size, tank size, and type of fuel, but have gotten nothing but 0.0 and 999..., I did some other work to the car and took it for another drive and It wouldn't read my ign timing, engine load, or MAP this time, where it was earlier. I'm wondering if I have the sampling rate up too high, because I know from what I have read that the MPG calculates every 2 sec. and right now I have it set to refresh as fast as possible.
There's instant MPG, which I believe is the default one and the one you've been looking at... but there's also various X-Gauge MPG values that can be created for averages of MPG, speed, etc, for "current", "day", "tank", etc...

Read the manual, it takes a bit of brain work to figure it out at first, but once you get it you'll realize it's pretty simple

I leave mine in my Chevy so I can also view stuff like the ATF temp... the MPG averaged for the "tank" is fairly accurate vs. calculating based on mileage and gallons at next fill-up using your gas slip ...

SLIP -|- SCAN GAUGE
-------------------
19.1 -|- 17.8
20.1
-|- 20.5
18.0
-|- 18.4
19.5
-|- 19.3
18.5
-|- 15.6
20.0
-|- 21.3
19.7
-|- 20.6
19.3
-|- 17.7
19.5
-|- 20.3
23.7
-|- 22.1
22.3
-|- 23.9
21.0
-|- 21.0
20.2
-|- 18.6
18.5
-|- 18.5
18.7
-|- 18.7
17.1
-|- 17.5
19.3
-|- 19.2

(there might be a couple of odd-balls in there if I had the scan-gauge disconnected for a period on that particular tank...)
maglite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 08:58 AM   #16
jonklein611
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 117776
Join Date: Jun 2006
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Moon Twp, PA
Vehicle:
2011 WRX Limited 5dr
WR Blue Pearl

Default

Sorry for bumping such an old posting, but I found something neat. If your scangauge supports the X Gauge feature, you can have a boost gauge:

There's no longer any need to "do the math" in using MAP readings to determine boost as someone has come up with an XGauge to do it:

* To start, from the HOME screen use MORE>MORE>MORE>XGAUGE
* Then in the top right select the number of the XGauge memory you want to use (0 to 24)
* Next press <EDIT which takes you to the TXD screen
* Using the buttons next to + and - to select characters and the -> in the top right to move to the next character:
o Enter 686AF1010B on the TXD screen and press OK>
o Enter 0441850B0000 on the RXF screen and press OK>
o Enter 2808 on the RXD screen and press OK>
o Enter 00910064#### on the MTH screen and press OK>

#### PSI
---- ----
FF8A 11.8
FF89 11.9
FF88 12.0
FF87 12.1
FF86 12.2
FF85 12.3
FF84 12.4
FF83 12.5
FF82 12.6
FF81 12.7
FF80 12.8
FF7F 12.9
FF7E 13.0
FF7D 13.1
FF7C 13.2
FF7B 13.3
FF7A 13.4
FF79 13.5
FF78 13.6
FF77 13.7
FF76 13.8
FF75 13.9
FF74 14.0
FF73 14.1
FF72 14.2
FF71 14.3
FF70 14.4
FF6F 14.5
FF6E 14.6
FF6D 14.7
FF6C 14.8
FF6B 14.9
FF6A 15.0

NOTE: Atmospheric Pressure: 6,000 ft above to 500 ft below sea level
jonklein611 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 12:44 AM   #17
Bimmer
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 4116
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Humboldt County, CA
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza TS
White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maglite View Post
I leave mine in my Chevy so I can also view stuff like the ATF temp...
Can ANYbody point me to the codes to access ATF temp in our Subarus?
Bimmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 07:13 AM   #18
jonklein611
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 117776
Join Date: Jun 2006
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Moon Twp, PA
Vehicle:
2011 WRX Limited 5dr
WR Blue Pearl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bimmer View Post
Can ANYbody point me to the codes to access ATF temp in our Subarus?
We don't have the codes, email the manufacturer and see what they say, they were extremely helpful for my questions.
jonklein611 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 02:03 PM   #19
Built Industries
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 33839
Join Date: Mar 2003
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Sanford Fl
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Black

Default

I will have to check and verify, but i have the codes for the scangauge X that tell you fuel trims.. Come in nice while tuning your maf
Built Industries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 04:43 PM   #20
Nickcrsx
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 196071
Join Date: Dec 2008
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slowboy View Post
I will have to check and verify, but i have the codes for the scangauge X that tell you fuel trims.. Come in nice while tuning your maf
Bump for more info
Nickcrsx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 03:47 PM   #21
evan_impreza
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 115276
Join Date: May 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Joplin, MO
Vehicle:
04 PSM WRX -sold:(
98 rs- swap in progress

Default

^^ Yes you can do any of the fuel trim banks. Long term and short term. I have also successfully done horsepower (far from accurate) and MPG (also not accurate). I have tried fuel level but it doesnt work.
evan_impreza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 03:59 PM   #22
jonklein611
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 117776
Join Date: Jun 2006
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Moon Twp, PA
Vehicle:
2011 WRX Limited 5dr
WR Blue Pearl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by evan_impreza View Post
^^ Yes you can do any of the fuel trim banks. Long term and short term. I have also successfully done horsepower (far from accurate) and MPG (also not accurate). I have tried fuel level but it doesnt work.
MPG works well, assuming you do full fillups and calibrate it every fuel up.
jonklein611 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 08:32 AM   #23
NotJayKay
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 265729
Join Date: Dec 2010
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: NoVA
Vehicle:
2005 Saab 9-2x Aero
Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonklein611 View Post
o Enter 00910064#### on the MTH screen and press OK>

#### PSI
---- ----

What is supposed to be entered in the #### section, I'm assuming the characters to the left of the PSI?
NotJayKay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 08:06 PM   #24
Bimmer
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 4116
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Humboldt County, CA
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza TS
White

Default

I don't understand the info in posts #15 and 16, but this worked for me for boost:

Boost in PSI - 686AF1010B - 0441850B0000 - 2808 - 00910064FF71
Boost in BAR - 686AF1010B - 0441850B0000 - 2808 - 000A0064FFF6

This is from the Forester forum. I'm using the PSI gauge, I have to have MAP displayed to make it work, but it matches the readings on my Greddy gauge just about perfectly.

Bimmer
Bimmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 07:19 PM   #25
krinkle
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 264311
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SoCal
Vehicle:
2011 Impreza WRX STi
white

Default

I just pulled the ScanGauge II out of my 98 Civic EX and put it in my 2011 STi (1 day old!)

Boost in PSI - 686AF1010B - 0441850B0000 - 2808 - 00910064FF71

That worked but I too have to have MAP displayed for it work. I'm going to e-mail Linear Logic and see if there is a way to get boost with out having MAP displayed. I'd also like to see the AF Ratio, but I tried this:

Air To Fuel Ratio 1 - C233F10124 - 04410524 - 2808 - 05B900800000 – AF1 - Ratio

With no luck.

Here is the list I got off the Forester board:

SCANGAUGE ii - XGAUGE codes for Subaru Vehicles
====GAUGE============TXD=======RXF=====RXD======MA TH====NAME===UNITS=====
1. HorsePower - 00 - 400080000000 - 0000 – 000A00170000 - HPR - HP
2. TurboBoost in PSI - 686AF1010B - 0441850B0000 - 2808 - 00910064FF71 – BST - psi
3. TurboBoost in BAR - 686AF1010B - 0441850B0000 - 2808 - 000A0064FFF6 – BAR - bar
4. Manifold Air Flow g/s - 686AF10110 - 044145100000 - 2810 – 000100010000 – MAF - g/s
5. Open/Closed Loop - 686AF10103 - 044105038000 - 2808 - 000100010000 – OCL – hex*
*1:= Open, not yet warm 2:= Closed, normal 4:= Open, due to high load 8:= Open, system failure 10:= Closed, but something's wrong
6. Short Term Fuel Trim - C233F10106 - 04410506 - 2808 - 00C80100FF9C - SF1 - +/-0-99
7. Long Term Fuel Trim - C233F10107 - 04410507 - 2808 - 00C80100FF9C - LF1 - +/-0-99
8. 02 Sensor values - C233F10115 - 04410515 - 2808 - 000100020000 - O21 - 0to99
9. Air To Fuel Ratio 1 - C233F10124 - 04410524 - 2808 - 05B900800000 – AF1 - Ratio
10. Air To Fuel Ratio 2 - C233F10134 - 04410534 - 2808 - 05B900800000 – AF2 - Ratio
11. Lamda 1 - C233F10124 - 04410524 - 2808 - 006400800000 – LA1 – 0.8 – 1.2
12. Lamda 2 - C233F10134 - 04410534 - 2808 - 006400800000 – LA2 – 0.8 –1.2
13. Coolant Temp - 686AF10105 - 03104410505 - 2808 – 00090005FFD8 – FWT – oF
krinkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any BBKs that work with 17x9 Work CR-Kai? akdmx Brakes, Steering & Suspension 1 03-27-2010 12:50 AM
O2 XDA Mini II PDA phone. GSM, works with AT&T, Cingular, and mattjk SCIC Private Classifieds 6 12-17-2008 01:01 PM
Is there a Bolt-in rollcage that works with the sunroof? N/A01RS Motorsports 3 08-12-2002 01:35 PM
DIY MY02 fog light cover bracket that work with fog lights installed Darren_2.5RS Mid West Subaru Owners Club Forum -- MWSOC 0 03-05-2002 03:28 PM
Looking For Performanc Shops That Work On Subarus In The Mid Uthinkso Normally Aspirated with bolt-on Forced Induction Powertrain 1 11-15-2001 01:02 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.