Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday August 1, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Subaru Conversions

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-03-2008, 07:34 PM   #1
SchultzE
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 89541
Join Date: Jun 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Huntington Station
Vehicle:
2005 STi
Aspen White

Default Need help locating a Gruppe-s EJ25 cam sensor adaptor.

Gruppe-s is out of EJ25 Cam Sensor Adapter and i need one so i can finally get my subie back on the road. The Cosworth adaptor doesn't work so i'm in a pickle right now. Any knowledge of locating one will be highly appreciated.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
SchultzE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2008, 07:58 PM   #2
rooobaru
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 144965
Join Date: Mar 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Southbury,CT
Vehicle:
04 WRX STi
wrb

Default

i just drilled and tapped a hole on my swap...easy peezey....
rooobaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2008, 08:36 PM   #3
SchultzE
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 89541
Join Date: Jun 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Huntington Station
Vehicle:
2005 STi
Aspen White

Default

What do you mean by drilled and tapped? What kinda swap did you do? I have a 04 WRX Wagon with the 07 STi Longblock.
SchultzE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2008, 10:19 PM   #4
frdawg
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 24129
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: annapolis Md
Vehicle:
2002 wrx,EVO3 big16g
WRB 4.444fd Enginuity,E85

Default

frdawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2008, 10:51 PM   #5
SchultzE
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 89541
Join Date: Jun 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Huntington Station
Vehicle:
2005 STi
Aspen White

Default

Awsome website. So all i have to do is just remove the black plastic cover so i can see everything, find that bracket that looks like a cam sensor should be there, and drill a hole, tap it, and move on with my life?
SchultzE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2008, 09:35 AM   #6
rooobaru
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 144965
Join Date: Mar 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Southbury,CT
Vehicle:
04 WRX STi
wrb

Default

if you have a right angle "terry" drill, life will be easier,otherwise you will have to remove the intake cam sprocket on the drivers side to drill straight in...
rooobaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 04:27 PM   #7
SchultzE
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 89541
Join Date: Jun 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Huntington Station
Vehicle:
2005 STi
Aspen White

Default

will this actually work for 07 sti motors? Because a buddy of mine who installed the engine said he looked into that solution and found it wont work for 07's.
SchultzE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 06:38 PM   #8
porkchop
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12288
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Under a car @ GST Motorsports
Vehicle:
02 WRX
Silver

Default

if you don't have the casting on your head for drilling you can use this...

http://cosworthusa.com/store/pc/view...2&idproduct=40
porkchop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2008, 11:06 AM   #9
SchultzE
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 89541
Join Date: Jun 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Huntington Station
Vehicle:
2005 STi
Aspen White

Default

I used the cosworth bracket and it didn't work. The sensor is positioned to far back to the sensor reads intermittently. Thats why im in such a pickle. Gruppe-s is out till the end of july and the cosworth didn't work.
SchultzE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2008, 11:21 AM   #10
rooobaru
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 144965
Join Date: Mar 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Southbury,CT
Vehicle:
04 WRX STi
wrb

Default

the cosworth/gruppe-s bracket is designed (one would think)for heads without the provision casted in...if you double up on the brackets the sensor will obviously be too far back to get an accurate reading...

so,if you have the provision without a threaded hole for the sensor bolt,you drill and tap one in...

i've heard of numerous people that have problems with these adapters,and you really cant get any better than copying the stock mounting technique...
rooobaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2008, 10:32 AM   #11
SchultzE
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 89541
Join Date: Jun 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Huntington Station
Vehicle:
2005 STi
Aspen White

Default

Rooobaru, just so you know, the 07 STi engines dont have the provision casted in. Thats 06 and down. So the 07's need a bracket to hold the sensor in place. Im starting to wish i got an 06 engine. Im going on 3 months of no car and its getting old.
SchultzE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2008, 10:55 AM   #12
rooobaru
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 144965
Join Date: Mar 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Southbury,CT
Vehicle:
04 WRX STi
wrb

Default

thanks for the fyi...

eh get a hydra...
rooobaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2008, 04:38 PM   #13
WhiteKnight
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 56133
Join Date: Feb 2004
Vehicle:
2004 Euro spec Sti
Black - Rotated gt3037s

Default

just insert a washer on to adjust the distance between cam sensor and pulley.

Cosworth bracket works that way.

Cheers
Emre
WhiteKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2008, 06:56 PM   #14
tpendergraft85
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 83198
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Wichita, KS
Vehicle:
2002 Bugeye Wagons
2006 Speed Triple

Default

i have the cosworth bracket and im getting a p0340 cel, is that because its positioned too close or too far away, or is it another problem? this is on an 06 wrx motor (the casting is not there) in my 02 wrx wagon.
tpendergraft85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2008, 07:06 PM   #15
WhiteKnight
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 56133
Join Date: Feb 2004
Vehicle:
2004 Euro spec Sti
Black - Rotated gt3037s

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tpendergraft85 View Post
i have the cosworth bracket and im getting a p0340 cel, is that because its positioned too close or too far away, or is it another problem? this is on an 06 wrx motor (the casting is not there) in my 02 wrx wagon.
I already replied your question in my last post

It is placed too close.

You need to add washers to make the sensor far away.
WhiteKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2008, 11:23 PM   #16
tpendergraft85
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 83198
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Wichita, KS
Vehicle:
2002 Bugeye Wagons
2006 Speed Triple

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteKnight View Post
I already replied your question in my last post

It is placed too close.

You need to add washers to make the sensor far away.
thanks! i had a response on another thread that said it was placed too far away and the bracket had to be milled down... glad i didnt do that. the washers worked! i wish somebody would tell cosworth that, they told me their brackets worked flawlessly
tpendergraft85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help locating hose for boost sensor heagan Electrical & Lighting 2 10-03-2008 02:13 PM
I need help finding a Gruppe-s EJ25 Cam Sensor Adaptor SchultzE Private 'Wanted' Classifieds 4 06-20-2008 10:28 AM
Need help finding a Gruppe-s EJ25 Cam Sensor Adaptor SchultzE Private 'Wanted' Classifieds 6 06-20-2008 10:24 AM
WTB: Gruppe-s EJ25 Cam Sensor Adaptor for a EJ25 SchultzE Private 'Wanted' Classifieds 2 06-19-2008 05:05 PM
Does anyone know how to obtain a Gruppe-s Cam Sensor Adaptor SchultzE Built Motor Discussion 2 06-03-2008 08:54 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.