Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday July 4, 2015
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Subaru Models > 'Old School' Subaru Forum

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-16-2008, 09:29 PM   #1
turboboxer80
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 172286
Join Date: Feb 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: portland
Vehicle:
04 wrx
87 rx coupe

Default oil pressure problem please help me.

ok so i just got done putting in jdm ea82t. my oil pressure gauge is pegged at max. i think it says like 85 psi. but when i start the motor you can here that the lifters are not pumped up and sounds like a diesel. am i missing something? is there two oil pressure sensors. on this car? i havent seen two. when i unplug the wire next to the filter the gauge stays that way at max? im frustrated. i just want to drive it .
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
turboboxer80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 06-17-2008, 12:48 AM   #2
Keiji22
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 175854
Join Date: Mar 2008
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Pyramid Lake, NV
Vehicle:
98.5 Volvo V70 XC
Bleached Sphincter

Default

There are two oil pressure switches. A small one, and a large one.

The large one is the one you want your wire connected to.

If it is still pegged, check for any leaks.

If you're hearing your engine do the "bang bang bang" like a diesel... I hate to say this but you probably snapped a rod. >.<...

It happens when you have absolutely no oil pressure and all of your bearings are burnt out.

Worst case scenario, go buy a mechanical oil pressure gauge. unscrew the small switch and install the mechanical oil pressure gauge into it. It comes with brass fittings and whatnot. If you are getting the correct amount of oil pressure, then I suggest installing that in your car instead of the stock oil pressure gauge.

I know, I just had this happen to me as well. Turned out to be a broken gauge in the dash.

If you are getting the correct oil pressure, you probably haven't thrown a rod. Maybe an issue with your cams?
Keiji22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 11:11 PM   #3
Caboobaroo
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 72335
Join Date: Oct 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Oregon City, OR
Vehicle:
89's RX/XT6
Blacksssssss

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Keiji22 View Post
There are two oil pressure switches. A small one, and a large one.

The large one is the one you want your wire connected to.

If it is still pegged, check for any leaks.

If you're hearing your engine do the "bang bang bang" like a diesel... I hate to say this but you probably snapped a rod. >.<...

It happens when you have absolutely no oil pressure and all of your bearings are burnt out.

Worst case scenario, go buy a mechanical oil pressure gauge. unscrew the small switch and install the mechanical oil pressure gauge into it. It comes with brass fittings and whatnot. If you are getting the correct amount of oil pressure, then I suggest installing that in your car instead of the stock oil pressure gauge.

I know, I just had this happen to me as well. Turned out to be a broken gauge in the dash.

If you are getting the correct oil pressure, you probably haven't thrown a rod. Maybe an issue with your cams?

^^^Ok you need to go read up on the EA82T a bit my friend

Turboboxer80 - First off, you need to make sure the sending unit you have is for the gauge, not an idiot light. It sounds like you have the one for the idiot light then the gauge in there currently which is making the gauge go WTF? The gauge sending unit is much larger compared the idiot light sending unit since the idiot sending unit is just a switch where the gauge has a rheostat potentiometer (its very similar to an old thermostat in a house that has a rheostat in it).

Second, I've only seen an EA series engine snap rods on a couple cars and that was due to a blown headgasket, then being run like that until it basically hydrolocked, snapped the rod, sent it through the block AND then started back up and kept going. I'm willing to bet it needs to run for awhile before it gets all the air out of the lifters. Very common problem with an engine thats been sitting for more then a month. My new XT6 sat for a month and had a valve tick, it went away after a couple miles of driving it too.
Caboobaroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2008, 11:21 PM   #4
turboboxer80
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 172286
Join Date: Feb 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: portland
Vehicle:
04 wrx
87 rx coupe

Default

caboobaroo
how can i tell wich oil sending unit i have. when i started it the oil pressure gauge went to max. and after a few minutes the lifters were sounding bad so i didnt want to messing any thing up. so i just turned it off. there is a oil leak from the crank seal that i have to replace, and the oil pan has a large dent in it i assume from shipping. so you are saying that i should let it run for a little while and see if that lifter noise goes away.
turboboxer80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2008, 12:21 AM   #5
TurboneX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 21676
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Pacific Northwet
Vehicle:
RX 02Foz,05OB
Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by turboboxer80 View Post
caboobaroo
how can i tell wich oil sending unit i have. when i started it the oil pressure gauge went to max. and after a few minutes the lifters were sounding bad so i didnt want to messing any thing up. so i just turned it off. there is a oil leak from the crank seal that i have to replace, and the oil pan has a large dent in it i assume from shipping. so you are saying that i should let it run for a little while and see if that lifter noise goes away.
Wheres the dent? It could be blocking the pickup tube, and could be why its sounding the way it is.
When I got my new engine and installed it, it sounded like that for about 10min before the lifters pumped up.
TurboneX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2008, 01:17 AM   #6
Caboobaroo
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 72335
Join Date: Oct 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Oregon City, OR
Vehicle:
89's RX/XT6
Blacksssssss

Default

the one for a light will be about the size of a quarter, the other one, the one for the gauge, is a cylinder shape bigger around then a half dollar and about an inch in length. It'll also have a screw on the end of it which a wire is connected, This wire will get connected to the main wire that goes into the engine harness. The idiot light switch has the wire directly connect to it.
Caboobaroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2008, 01:08 PM   #7
turboboxer80
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 172286
Join Date: Feb 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: portland
Vehicle:
04 wrx
87 rx coupe

Default

jdm motor didnt have the screw in wire type oil sensor but the original motor did. can you change that whole piece where the filter connects to?
turboboxer80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2008, 03:13 PM   #8
subari87
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 167422
Join Date: Dec 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Vehicle:
1987 3 main

Default

.....

Last edited by Flowmastered87GL; 06-21-2008 at 09:22 PM.
subari87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2008, 06:43 PM   #9
TurboneX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 21676
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Pacific Northwet
Vehicle:
RX 02Foz,05OB
Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by turboboxer80 View Post
jdm motor didnt have the screw in wire type oil sensor but the original motor did. can you change that whole piece where the filter connects to?
You can replace the complete pump, but its possible to replace the sender. And much easier. If you swap out the pumps, make sure you replace the rubber gaskets and the seal.

Last edited by Flowmastered87GL; 06-21-2008 at 09:22 PM. Reason: Removing Subari nonsense
TurboneX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2008, 12:41 AM   #10
Caboobaroo
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 72335
Join Date: Oct 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Oregon City, OR
Vehicle:
89's RX/XT6
Blacksssssss

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by turboboxer80 View Post
jdm motor didnt have the screw in wire type oil sensor but the original motor did. can you change that whole piece where the filter connects to?

When I got a new oil pum p for my old RX, it had both sending units in it, the light sending unit was up at the top of the pump and the other one was down on the lower front of the pump
Caboobaroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2008, 09:16 PM   #11
Flowmastered87GL
WCSS Drunk
Moderator
 
Member#: 8914
Join Date: Aug 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Portland Oregon
Vehicle:
2005 Baja Sport
Regal Blue Pearl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Caboobaroo View Post
When I got a new oil pum p for my old RX, it had both sending units in it, the light sending unit was up at the top of the pump and the other one was down on the lower front of the pump
To elaborate a bit more..... the light one at the top screws in from the front, and the lower one for the guage kinda hangs down diagonally at a 45% angle if I recall.
Flowmastered87GL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Oil leak problem, Please help! roloc31 Factory 2.5L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.5L Turbo) 4 10-19-2008 12:49 AM
Oil leak problem, Please help! roloc31 Newbies & FAQs 4 10-17-2008 09:50 PM
Oil leak problem, Please help! roloc31 Newbies & FAQs 3 10-09-2008 08:34 AM
('93-'01) Gauge light problems please help me Texas25RS Impreza Forum 1 04-25-2001 08:44 AM
CE light problem please help me! ac_gohan Bay Area Impreza Club Forum -- BAIC 15 02-10-2001 10:56 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2015 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2015, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.