Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday April 18, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Electrical & Lighting

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-29-2008, 01:31 AM   #1
puls8n91
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 134696
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Vehicle:
2002 Stage 2 Bug eye
White on White

Default Moving security light to console

So I looked up how to do this a long time ago because I wanted my flashing light to be by my shfter where it is more noticable.
Anyway I was putting in a stereo this weekend and saw that it doesnt flash anymore. The LED that I had put in about a year ago I think is dead.
I taped into a red wire and it worked great but I think has now burned out.
I need to go buy a new one but Im thinking the voltage or resistance wasnt correct.
Does anyone know what I need to go buy? I can get the same as last time cause I think it lasted 8 months or so but if I can make it last forever that would be much better.
Thanks
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
puls8n91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2008, 05:45 PM   #2
skingfreak
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 152591
Join Date: Jun 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Wisconsin
Vehicle:
2010 Jetta TDI Cup
Jet Black

Default

Are you asking which LED you should buy? It depends on the brighteness you want, than the resistor value depends on the LED Charictoristics. Just goto radio shack
skingfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2008, 01:12 AM   #3
ProdriveDreams
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 146819
Join Date: Apr 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Boston / Ipswich, MA
Vehicle:
'02 WRB VF-39'd WRX
W/06 STi Drivetrain swap

Default

Im pretty sure the stock one has a built in resistor so you will need to add a resistor depending on what LED you choose. check this by measuring the voltage on your wires.

heres a calculator to help figure out what resistor you need:
http://led.linear1.org/1led.wiz
ProdriveDreams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2008, 11:10 AM   #4
puls8n91
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 134696
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Vehicle:
2002 Stage 2 Bug eye
White on White

Default

I went and bought one last night without a resistor and it didnt work.
I'll go tonight and get one with.
The guys at Radio Shack are just freakin cell phone dealers anymore. They dont know crap. Im an idiot when it comes to this stuff but these people know nothing at all.
Im thinkin somethings screwed up though.
puls8n91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 12:36 PM   #5
puls8n91
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 134696
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Vehicle:
2002 Stage 2 Bug eye
White on White

Default

So I bought a new LED with a resistor thinking the load was too much and over time burned the old one out, but it still doesnt work.
Is it possible that the brain to the security system got screwed up and it killed the flashing light?
I may have to hook up a flashing LED to a switch for a dummy alarm look.
Maybe I should just replace the bulb on the cluster and go back to the stock look
I fried it when I first started messin with this a year ago. I think I grounded it if I remember right. The one I put in the console worked great ......... till now.
puls8n91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
security light doesnt light up. alarm and keyless dont work? jbark1018 Car Audio, Video & Security 15 03-14-2010 08:52 PM
How to add LED light to factory security system OR when car is off? virjose Interior & Exterior Modification 11 05-20-2008 10:33 AM
security light with upgraded security system? bluesubie81 Interior & Exterior Modification 3 08-07-2005 12:32 PM
how to connect dash security light w/ aftermarket alarm edro Car Audio, Video & Security 7 07-02-2004 11:29 AM
To move or not to move... RussB Off-Topic 18 02-12-2004 08:38 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.